UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com

UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/index.php)
-   Guitar Gear & Accessories (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Recording with the Egnater vengeance record out feature?????? (http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1590397)

Bladed-Vaults 02-28-2013 01:13 AM

Recording with the Egnater vengeance record out feature??????
 
Ok so Im very used to using a mic'd cab into my audio interface and recording stuff.

but now that im on a graveyard schedule I cant be playing and waking up the world :shrug:

My vengeance has a record line out that uses a mic cable so i can hook straight into my ProFire interface but when i try this it sounds like sin. very very low volume and tone from the 1920's

ive read you need to run cab impulses to get anywhere from a set up like this?
What the balls are cab impulses (noob question im sure)

is this correct?

are there better ways to do this?

btw my recording software is PreSonus studio one.

cdr_salamander 02-28-2013 01:19 AM

You are still running the amp with a cab or load box right? If not, you will damage it. The Vengeance does not have a record-out-only feature like the Rebel series.

Also, as far as the volume issues, make sure you are running your interface input as instrument-level and not line-level.

Bladed-Vaults 02-28-2013 01:30 AM

what do you mean the vengeance doesnt have a record out only feature..... im staring right at it

cdr_salamander 02-28-2013 01:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bladed-Vaults
what do you mean the vengeance doesnt have a record out only feature..... im staring right at it

You are looking at the record line out. What I meant was a "silent record out" where you can play through the amp without having cab. It does not support that. You will destroy your amp if you don't have it running through a cab or a load box.

Bladed-Vaults 02-28-2013 01:37 AM

ok that makes more sense.

so essentially. im still screwed. for the whole bedroom volume idea i was going for.

trashedlostfdup 02-28-2013 01:49 AM

not 100% on topic, but...

every 'line out' 'record out' 'silent output' (not modelers) i have heard clips of sound FAR inferior to that same amp properly mic'd.

i am sure that there are some that are exceptions, but most don't do as well.

Bladed-Vaults 02-28-2013 01:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by trashedlostfdup
not 100% on topic, but...

every 'line out' 'record out' 'silent output' (not modelers) i have heard clips of sound FAR inferior to that same amp properly mic'd.

i am sure that there are some that are exceptions, but most don't do as well.



yeah I wasnt expecting HQ sh** but at least something to fool around with and send rough tracks to the bandmates with.
like I said im on a graveyard shift so real recording isnt possible. the girlfriend would murder me. and then my neighbors would come burn my chopped up peices

but If i need to have this thing plugged into my cab to keep it safe it defeats the purpose im trying to get to.

and axe fx just isnt in my pocket book right now so dont anyone tempt me haha

cdr_salamander 02-28-2013 01:58 AM

Guitar straight into the interface with some free VSTs and cab impulses will deliver great results.

Bladed-Vaults 02-28-2013 02:02 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdr_salamander
Guitar straight into the interface with some free VSTs and cab impulses will deliver great results.


ok so now we get into territory Im not used too. I have all my recording equip for basic stuff. my bassist does all the fine tuning and such so treat me as a serious recording noob

what are vst's and cab impulses

cdr_salamander 02-28-2013 02:03 AM

Check out the recording forum on this site and they should have a sticky with all of that information in it.

Bladed-Vaults 02-28-2013 02:08 AM

headed there now... in the mean time what is a load box? I assume its a way to simulate having a cab plugged in so your not killing your amp?

Deadpool_25 02-28-2013 02:16 AM

I think you should probably just get an Axe-Fx. Definitely the best solution to your problem.






:devil:

Bladed-Vaults 02-28-2013 02:22 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deadpool_25
I think you should probably just get an Axe-Fx. Definitely the best solution to your problem.






:devil:


your not a nice man hahaha

I have almost sold my nitrox to buy axe fx soo many times its not even funny :/

Deadpool_25 02-28-2013 02:24 AM

Dude....you KNOW you want it....

trashedlostfdup 02-28-2013 02:24 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdr_salamander
Guitar straight into the interface with some free VSTs and cab impulses will deliver great results.


still not anywhere near as well as proper mic'ing. rough tracks yea, but i doubt i would record a single for a band with a an out going into impulses.

i play all night typically i usually 1am-4am, my dual terror on 7 watt mode at the right volume my wife has never complained, and she sleeps through the night.

cdr_salamander 02-28-2013 02:30 AM

I have heard VST/impulse setups destroy poorly and well-mic'd setups.

Bladed-Vaults 02-28-2013 02:40 AM

theres a dude on youtube Drewsif stalin
who records with a revalver and impules and all of his stuff sounds epic.
but im so confused on all that nonsense. (yes I am reading the recording pages as we speak so ill slowly figure it out i suppose)

I never saw the need to learn about all the simulation stuff when I have 4 perfectly good high end amps and 2 cabs to get whatever tones I want.

If i got axe fx it would just be a bedroom toy no need for me to drop 1200+ on it for that
I know the pd hd is a cheaper alternitive but im one of those go big or go home types :/ so its not an option for my ego

cdr_salamander 02-28-2013 02:41 AM


trashedlostfdup 02-28-2013 02:42 AM

ninja;d


Quote:
Originally Posted by cdr_salamander
I have heard VST/impulse setups destroy poorly and well-mic'd setups.


just curious, what ratio would you say?

i am sure you are more knowledgeable than i with vst's without question.

i am just saying from what i have heard on the vast majority a decently/good mic setup sound better than a vst. i heard lots of shitty vst's, but again maybe i wasn't looking in the right place. i have seen a few decent ones, but still never anything i would put on a demo from my experience.

if you have a good demo, of both mic and vst in a similar situation i would like to hear it. :)

trashedlostfdup 02-28-2013 02:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdr_salamander
[url]http://



that was very impressive. by far one of the best i have heard. how long did it take you to set everything up and dial anything in?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.