Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > UG Community > The Pit
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-06-2012, 04:18 PM   #12681
GazzaCee
Tyrion is da bomb.
 
GazzaCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Newcastle, UK
Hey, computer thread.

This is the laptop I'm thinking of saving for - http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/hp-pa...893788-pdt.html

I need to know if this will be suitable for recording guitar using an interface, which is the main thing I need a laptop/computer for. I'd prefer a laptop as my bedroom is too small for a desktop, but I could maybe squeeze one in.

Anyway, opinions?
__________________
Your flesh means more than you.

No profit...
For once no profit...


Quote:
Originally Posted by She
That's what.

CHECK IT OUT NOW
FUNK SOUL BROTHER
GazzaCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:44 AM   #12682
muffinduck01
UG's BBW Lover
 
muffinduck01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by GazzaCee
Hey, computer thread.

This is the laptop I'm thinking of saving for - http://www.pcworld.co.uk/gbuk/hp-pa...893788-pdt.html

I need to know if this will be suitable for recording guitar using an interface, which is the main thing I need a laptop/computer for. I'd prefer a laptop as my bedroom is too small for a desktop, but I could maybe squeeze one in.

Anyway, opinions?

It's more than powerful enough to record with, but HPs break more often than eggshells. Look for something similar from ASUS or Toshiba, which are tanks compared to HPs.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakinLattes
I'd kill you and wear your skin.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siv During Livh
To attempt to have intercourse with a hornet's nest is a very bad idea,

Voted UG's worst cross dresser.
Also voted #95 on UG's Top 100 2013. Like it means anything....
muffinduck01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 03:20 PM   #12683
eGraham
Logjammin'
 
eGraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cutting off your Johnson
Quote:
Originally Posted by muffinduck01
It's more than powerful enough to record with, but HPs break more often than eggshells. Look for something similar from ASUS or Toshiba, which are tanks compared to HPs.

I agree with this. I've never personally had a problem with my HP computers, but I've heard a lot of terrible stories. I've also had to work on a few.

Though, I should add that my customer service experience with ASUS was way sub-par. They really pissed me off with how they handled my dysfunctional motherboard.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trowzaa
I wish I was American.




I am an equal opportunity banner
eGraham is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 03:23 PM   #12684
jazz_rock_feel
Micropolyphoner
 
jazz_rock_feel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
HP are apparently very good at customer service. I guess practice makes perfect.
__________________
I don't know what music theory is.


Soundcloud. Look at it. Or don't.
jazz_rock_feel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 03:47 PM   #12685
RRRone
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Have an HP laptop at home on which the power button had just stopped working for no apparent reason. It got fixed though. Still works alright.
RRRone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:06 PM   #12686
muffinduck01
UG's BBW Lover
 
muffinduck01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minkaro
Please.

If I can find somebody nearby to help with building one, then it's an option, but doing it myself isn't.





So, I put this together for you. If you can find a shop that's willing to build it for you, this will be a pretty awesome system. If you can't find a shop to build it for you, post back and i'll try and help you find a good pre-built system.

If anyone else sees a problem or has a suggestion with those parts, don't be afraid to yell at me for it. >_>
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakinLattes
I'd kill you and wear your skin.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siv During Livh
To attempt to have intercourse with a hornet's nest is a very bad idea,

Voted UG's worst cross dresser.
Also voted #95 on UG's Top 100 2013. Like it means anything....
muffinduck01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:16 PM   #12687
jazz_rock_feel
Micropolyphoner
 
jazz_rock_feel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Swap out the Antec 300 for an Antec 300 2, and that's about as good as it gets.

Altough is a 620W PSU enough? I mean, I can see you have the PSU calculator open in another tab but still that seems somewhat low for that rig.
__________________
I don't know what music theory is.


Soundcloud. Look at it. Or don't.
jazz_rock_feel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 08:51 PM   #12688
muffinduck01
UG's BBW Lover
 
muffinduck01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
I was thinking the same thing. Everything added up to 457 watts IIRC. Not sure what's up with that.

I would have put in the 300 2, but it was 20 GBP more than the 300 on that site. Just not worth it IMO, although I do love mine.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakinLattes
I'd kill you and wear your skin.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siv During Livh
To attempt to have intercourse with a hornet's nest is a very bad idea,

Voted UG's worst cross dresser.
Also voted #95 on UG's Top 100 2013. Like it means anything....
muffinduck01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 09:07 PM   #12689
jazz_rock_feel
Micropolyphoner
 
jazz_rock_feel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
The Asus calculator is giving me 700 watts, so I'd probably get at least that to be safe. That's an awful lot of kit for a 600W psu.
__________________
I don't know what music theory is.


Soundcloud. Look at it. Or don't.
jazz_rock_feel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:21 PM   #12690
eGraham
Logjammin'
 
eGraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cutting off your Johnson
Computer Thread!

I showed my game to my java instructor, and she said some parts are not correctly structured. I use "continue;" and "break;" often in my code.

I have fixed the "break;", so there are no more of those.

Now, the reason I have the "continue;" is because of wrong options and the like. For example, if the user types in an invalid option, it says "That is not a correct option!" continue;.

She recommended to me that I create a new method that handles the user input, and loops until it gets a correct one, and not even touch the main game until it did. Problem is, I don't know much about methods, and am not sure how I would implement it. Creating the method would be easy enough, and I know how to call them, it's just... I can't wrap my head around it for some reason.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trowzaa
I wish I was American.




I am an equal opportunity banner
eGraham is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:25 PM   #12691
Diamond Dave
1984
 
Diamond Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
add some context to what you want to do and I'll help you out.
__________________
$100AUD Super Strat Build

Kasabian - Fire fan video/uni work. Watch it!

Jackson Dinky with TB-11 + SH-1 Pickups & Gotoh Floyd Rose
Washburn D10S
Dunlop 535Q Crybaby
Fulltone OCD
MXR 6 Band EQ
Laney VC15
Hayden 2x12
Diamond Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:29 PM   #12692
jazz_rock_feel
Micropolyphoner
 
jazz_rock_feel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Well, without seeing the source I can't really give you specifics, but in general you'd have your method header and then inside have a loop that asks for user input until it gets correct input.

So for instance
Code:
public static String getInput() { while(input isn't right) { input = JOptionPane.showInputDialog(null, "Put shit here: "); } return input; }


You could also add a parameter to the method that indicates what kind of input is expected or bounds of some kind like:

Code:
public static String getInput(int lowerBound, int upperBound)


You'd replace anywhere in your main method you ask for input with a method call.
__________________
I don't know what music theory is.


Soundcloud. Look at it. Or don't.
jazz_rock_feel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:33 PM   #12693
eGraham
Logjammin'
 
eGraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cutting off your Johnson
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamond Dave
add some context to what you want to do and I'll help you out.

That's the problem lol, methods are new to me (other than main), so I really don't know how to define the context.

Right now I have a bunch of if-statements that are like
if(userinput is A)
else if(userinput is B)
....
....
else
"That's not a correct option"

I know that's not the most efficient way to go about it, but that's all I knew at the time I wrote it. Now that I know how to manipulate methods, I may as well just re-write the entire thing.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trowzaa
I wish I was American.




I am an equal opportunity banner

Last edited by eGraham : 10-09-2012 at 02:35 PM.
eGraham is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:41 PM   #12694
Diamond Dave
1984
 
Diamond Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by eGraham
That's the problem lol, methods are new to me (other than main), so I really don't know how to define the context.

what do you want it to do? how are you currently getting input? how does your program currently react to input?

so maybe
Code:
...program... ... //need input int choice = processInput(); if(choice == x) blah; ... ... private static int processInput() { //however you've been getting input //handle bad input //however you've been working out their pick int userChoice = whatever they picked; return userChoice; }


something like that, but that's obviously a mess lol
__________________
$100AUD Super Strat Build

Kasabian - Fire fan video/uni work. Watch it!

Jackson Dinky with TB-11 + SH-1 Pickups & Gotoh Floyd Rose
Washburn D10S
Dunlop 535Q Crybaby
Fulltone OCD
MXR 6 Band EQ
Laney VC15
Hayden 2x12
Diamond Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:44 PM   #12695
eGraham
Logjammin'
 
eGraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cutting off your Johnson
I get input through JOptionPane, so like:

Code:
if (userInput0.equalsIgnoreCase(a1) && compShieldInt > 0) { if (compShieldInt >= 15) { JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(null, "You fire a basic attack.\n\n15 damage dealt to enemy shields!"); compShieldInt = compShieldInt - 15; } else if (compShieldInt < 15) { JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(null, "You fire a basic attack.\n\nEnemy shields destroyed! " + ((15 - compShieldInt) * 0.75) + " damage dealt to enemy hull."); compHullInt = compHullInt - ((15 - compShieldInt)) * 0.75; compShieldInt = 0; }


At that point I did know about the += thing, but forgot about it for some reason. That's kind of embarassing lol.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trowzaa
I wish I was American.




I am an equal opportunity banner

Last edited by eGraham : 10-09-2012 at 02:45 PM.
eGraham is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:45 PM   #12696
NeutralFan
UG's Grey Square
 
NeutralFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The Moral High Ground, Scotland
Hey ladies. I'm an unashamed computer geek, so I thought I'd post in here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazz_rock_feel
Swap out the Antec 300 for an Antec 300 2, and that's about as good as it gets.

Altough is a 620W PSU enough? I mean, I can see you have the PSU calculator open in another tab but still that seems somewhat low for that rig.

Personally I'd recommend the Bitfenix Shinobi - a better all round case at that price point, and looks sexy to boot. Especially if the buyer is buying through Overclockers, since they seem to have some sort of deal with Bitfenix - you can often find special offers on their stuff.

Also, the 7850 is better value for money IMO unless you absolutely must have the best. It's 4/5 of the product for 1/2 the price.

Just my 2 cents.



Don't really know why I'm addressing this to you anyway, but y'know.

Edit: actually, if you're going for maximum value, then you can find a better offer on most items in the list. You can get a better modular PSU for less, and IMO the Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 is a better option than Asus. If whoever is building this thing wants list of my ideal build, just ask.
__________________
LOOK


Call me Neutral.
Quote:
Originally Posted by da_
I wonder if you get more out put if you wire a battery to your penis.
HIBERNIAN FC
SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 13/14

Last edited by NeutralFan : 10-09-2012 at 02:49 PM.
NeutralFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:50 PM   #12697
Diamond Dave
1984
 
Diamond Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by eGraham
I get input through JOptionPane, so like:

Code:
if (userInput0.equalsIgnoreCase(a1) && compShieldInt > 0) { if (compShieldInt >= 15) { JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(null, "You fire a basic attack.\n\n15 damage dealt to enemy shields!"); compShieldInt = compShieldInt - 15; } else if (compShieldInt < 15) { JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(null, "You fire a basic attack.\n\nEnemy shields destroyed! " + ((15 - compShieldInt) * 0.75) + " damage dealt to enemy hull."); compHullInt = compHullInt - ((15 - compShieldInt)) * 0.75; compShieldInt = 0; }


At that point I did know about the += thing, but forgot about it for some reason. That's kind of embarassing lol.

its just a shorthand, what you've got reads better anyway.

you might have to rethink everything to be honest. The whole point of making a method to take input would be to separate the input processing from the game logic and output (and also make separate methods for those respectively too).
__________________
$100AUD Super Strat Build

Kasabian - Fire fan video/uni work. Watch it!

Jackson Dinky with TB-11 + SH-1 Pickups & Gotoh Floyd Rose
Washburn D10S
Dunlop 535Q Crybaby
Fulltone OCD
MXR 6 Band EQ
Laney VC15
Hayden 2x12
Diamond Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:53 PM   #12698
eGraham
Logjammin'
 
eGraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cutting off your Johnson
Right, that's why I'm kind of putting it off at the moment. It would be better to restructure it entirely using methods, but I'm just not ready for that work yet lol.

The code's sitting at just under 400 lines now. I know that's not a lot by any standard, but it's the biggest I've made and I don't feel like going through it again just yet.

I am taking recommendations, though, so your input is appreciated and welcome.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trowzaa
I wish I was American.




I am an equal opportunity banner
eGraham is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:57 PM   #12699
Diamond Dave
1984
 
Diamond Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
yeah, also on the to-do list should be a player ship class. would be a useful exercise in OOP
__________________
$100AUD Super Strat Build

Kasabian - Fire fan video/uni work. Watch it!

Jackson Dinky with TB-11 + SH-1 Pickups & Gotoh Floyd Rose
Washburn D10S
Dunlop 535Q Crybaby
Fulltone OCD
MXR 6 Band EQ
Laney VC15
Hayden 2x12
Diamond Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 03:00 PM   #12700
jazz_rock_feel
Micropolyphoner
 
jazz_rock_feel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
It's not like you have to completely restart, you'll be able to reuse a lot of the logic obviously, it'll just be a matter of encapsulating code into methods. There's a couple of general guidelines that I've been taught:
1) If you use the same code more than once (or very similar code) then put it in a method.
2) If you can think of a name for a block of code or the function of that block, like getInput or processInput or something, put it in a method, even if it only happens once.

Generally every piece of significant logic should be in a static method and your main method should be primarily variable declaration/object instantiation (only of variables and objects you need for the entire program) and method calls.
__________________
I don't know what music theory is.


Soundcloud. Look at it. Or don't.
jazz_rock_feel is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.