Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-06-2013, 08:55 PM   #1
tsg31t
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Whats your recording rig set up?

What's you're rig set-up when your trying to come up with a new riff/lick etc...How are you doing it? Are you playing out from your amp, or playing in to an am modeler? Etc. Just trying to get a feel for what the most popular, and easiest way is.

Thanks.
tsg31t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 09:06 PM   #2
Cavalcade
Days, I feel it...
 
Cavalcade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Jamming:
Guitar -> Pod HD -> Audacity via USB out.

Serious recording:
Guitar -> Pod HD -> FL Studio via USB out.

Beyond that, it's just a matter of finding a preset you like, and tweaking it until it sounds good with a minimum of post EQ.
__________________
If you're reading this, it means UG still has this, but not a :sam: smiley.
Cavalcade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 09:16 PM   #3
tsg31t
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavalcade
Jamming:
Guitar -> Pod HD -> Audacity via USB out.

Serious recording:
Guitar -> Pod HD -> FL Studio via USB out.

Beyond that, it's just a matter of finding a preset you like, and tweaking it until it sounds good with a minimum of post EQ.



Thanks Bud! Anyone else able to share?
tsg31t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 09:27 PM   #4
MatrixClaw
UG God
 
MatrixClaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Climbin In Yo Window, Snatchin Yo People Up
Guitar > DI > Seventh Circle Audio A12b > SSL Alpha Link AX > RME HDSP 9652 > Computer running amp sim.

Then once I'm done, I send it back out via SPDIF to my Kemper or out through my reamp box and into one of my amps, throw a Mic on it and hit record.

Bass goes through the DI input of my Focusrite ISA 428 MKI pres, or into my Peavey VMP-2, then I process in the DAW. If I'm not feeling lazy, I'll reamp a dirty track through my Sansamp RBI .
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.





www.SanctityStudios.com
MatrixClaw is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 11:15 PM   #5
axemanchris
Awwww.... NOW what?!
 
axemanchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Playing in room > voice record app on iPhone. If the purpose is just to not forget your ideas, I want the quickest, most idiot-proof way of doing it. When I want high quality, I'll record it properly.

CT
__________________
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawk
Chris is the king of relating music things to other objects in real life.
axemanchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 11:17 PM   #6
thusuntotyrants
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Line 6 UX1-> Pod Farm 2-> Laptop running Ableton live 8
thusuntotyrants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 11:53 PM   #7
mjones1992
Guest
 
mjones1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Langhorne, PA.
Marshall AVT50 w/ Pedal board ---> SM58 ---> Allen&Heath ZED-10 ---> Laptop (Ableton Live 8)

Sometimes I skip the SM58 and go direct into the ZED-10.

Last edited by mjones1992 : 10-06-2013 at 11:55 PM.
mjones1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 01:27 AM   #8
Mainer
UG's Cosmic Revolutionary
 
Mainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Topsfield, Maine
My recording set up is...I take my Samick SGA-30 amp. Plug my Epiphone Les Paul Special II into that. Turn the amp up a bit. Use the microphone on my laptop through Audacity... -_- I suck.
__________________
"I will do nothing lightly. When I walk, I will walk heavily. When I fight, I will fight with conviction. When I feel, I will feel everything. When I love, I will love with everything."
R.I.P Evan Tanner
Mainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 01:33 AM   #9
rollertoaster
Registered User
 
rollertoaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Guitar> POD XT > Logic 9>Monitor out of some KRK Rokit 5s. A lot of guitar based stuff I write will go into guitar pro 5 at some point too
rollertoaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 01:50 AM   #10
INSULIN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
I just write it down in reg sheet music .I like chords writing songs not riffs
INSULIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 03:51 AM   #11
GaryBillington
Grumpier than normal.
 
GaryBillington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Trow Vegas
I use my standard guitar setup (see sig), mic my amp usually with my SM58 and use a Tascam 2488 MkII as my DAW.
__________________
.
Gibson LP Studio x2, SG Special Plus
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30 210 + GS112VE cab
Jet City JCA22H
GaryBillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 05:35 AM   #12
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
When I'm coming up with an idea I'm usually just messing about and then write it down in tab and/or standard notation. As far as my recording setup goes it's a Digitech BP355 on a clean setting and into an amp sim, and a Behringer C1-u for microphone needs.
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 05:36 AM   #13
mulefish
UG Addict
 
mulefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
I use a di box to split my signal. Recording my guitar direct to an interface on one side, whilst going through my pedal board into my amp (which is quite often mic'ed up with an sm57) with the other.

This gives me the option of using vst effects and amp sims, or reamping through any of my effects and amps, or a combination of the two.

I usually record with the aim of not needing to reamp or anything, but I like having the option.
__________________
RIP Gooze
cats
mulefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 05:47 AM   #14
maidenmyguide
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Guitar > PodHD500 > Edirol UA101 > Sonar X1 > KRK RP6
maidenmyguide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 10:53 AM   #15
tsg31t
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I really appreciate everyone posting their rigs. This is going to help me out a ton!
tsg31t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 12:20 AM   #16
T4D
20 guitars and counting..
 
T4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aussie in the UAE
guitar-> eleven rack \ line 6 x3 in FXloop/ -> protools 10 or 11 recording with 1 direct dry guitar for reamping ( if need ) and 2 stereo wet from eleven & X3 -> yamaha HS50 & ikey 100 monitors
__________________
Newest Tune
Last Album Album here too
I'm a 3D Artist still making tunes Joy4D Video Joy4D Site

I got Protools, Eleven Rack & lots of other stuff.

Last edited by T4D : 10-09-2013 at 12:26 AM.
T4D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 02:00 PM   #17
kenetrator
Registered User
 
kenetrator's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
When recording my ideas I use my PC, Reason 7, my Line 6 UX2 with Pod Farm 2.5 and an Ibanez Iceman guitar.

I also have a Marshall AVT 150 and a POD HD500 but I don't use them much due to my bedroom being too full of clutter :S
kenetrator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 10:13 PM   #18
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
 
Sid McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Jamming: Ditto Looper
Writing: Line in to Duet 2 with amp sim, scratch out a few loops to a click and build an arrangement
Recording: Fender Princeton, very wet -> SM57 or MD421 (or the tube condenser if I'm feeling saucy) -> GAP73 Preamp -> Duet 2 -> Ableton
__________________
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Sid McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:30 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.