Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 05-31-2013, 02:37 PM   #41
T00DEEPBLUE
Ronald Weasley...
 
T00DEEPBLUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Dungeons
It's far less risky to get a used amp than it is to get a used guitar. The only thing you really need to worry about is if someone was an idiot and didn't put a load on the amp before taking it off standby, as that will damage the transformers.

The other thing are making sure is that the caps are still in good condition, but those take YEARS to wear out so unless it's a very old amp, then you have nothing to worry about.

If the amp has a tube that needs replacing, big woop. Tubes are a consumable item with tube amps.
__________________
Whoever reads this in Snape's voice gives 10 points to Slytherin.

(・ω・`)
T00DEEPBLUE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 02:47 PM   #42
AngryIndianDude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom 1.0
I dont think you know how tube amps work when you use them for metal... The JCA is good stuff though.

Happy hunting

Youre right, I dont know how they work I just play!
AngryIndianDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 03:00 PM   #43
T00DEEPBLUE
Ronald Weasley...
 
T00DEEPBLUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Dungeons
It's worth learning how tube amps differ from Solid State amps before you actually get one.
__________________
Whoever reads this in Snape's voice gives 10 points to Slytherin.

(・ω・`)
T00DEEPBLUE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 03:47 PM   #44
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by T00DEEPBLUE
It's far less risky to get a used amp than it is to get a used guitar. The only thing you really need to worry about is if someone was an idiot and didn't put a load on the amp before taking it off standby, as that will damage the transformers.

The other thing are making sure is that the caps are still in good condition, but those take YEARS to wear out so unless it's a very old amp, then you have nothing to worry about.

If the amp has a tube that needs replacing, big woop. Tubes are a consumable item with tube amps.


i dunno. worst case scenario, a guitar shouldn't electrocute you. granted that's unlikely, but still.

as you said, running without a load can do damage to it. i'm not sure there's anything similar with guitar which can cause so catastrophic a failure (truss rod, maybe).

tubes... if it's an adjustable fixed bias amp, you'd ideally need to bias it, which'll cost more money if you can't do it yourself (and if you don't know what you're doing it's safer to get someone else to do it as you can die). also you'd ideally need to get a matched set, so you probably wouldn't just be buying one tube (which means, again, more expense).

now, that's not to say things will definitely go wrong with a used purchase, because everything may well be fine. And I'd be the first to admit that I prefer to go new and am biased in that respect, but the flip is also true- most people who suggest you should definitely go used are equally biased in the opposite way (maybe more so- I see far more "you're stupid if you buy new!" posts than "you're stupid if you buy used!" posts to the extent that I don't remember ever seeing a "you're stupid if you buy used" type of post, and I've seen plenty of the other one), and very rarely point out the possible pitfalls of going used.

Just because you've bought used and it went like clockwork doesn't mean that all purchases go like that- anecdotal evidence is the worst type of evidence.

Of course, things can and do go wrong with new purchases- but at least you normally have some form of comeback with new purchases.

It's the purchaser's call, in other words. And there's not really any correct answer, you pays your money and takes your choice.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
Rob Chappers would tell you he couldn't tell a cat from a dog if it would get him more hits on youtube.



Last edited by Dave_Mc : 05-31-2013 at 03:50 PM.
Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 04:00 PM   #45
T00DEEPBLUE
Ronald Weasley...
 
T00DEEPBLUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Dungeons
I guess in my position, getting a used amp is an option under most circumstances. Because even if there is something internally wrong with the amp, my father is an electrical engineer who used to design operational amplifiers as a living, so he understands fairly well how tube and SS amps work. He's been very helpful in doing mods to my gear. So I guess I'm a bit of an exception.

The thing with guitars is that common problems that arise from used guitars (such as fret wear) require special tools to resolve, that nobody who isn't a guitar builder would ever have. It's also something that takes lutherie experience to pull off. Whereas with amps, it's more a matter of general electrical knowledge and a steady hand with a soldering iron.
__________________
Whoever reads this in Snape's voice gives 10 points to Slytherin.

(・ω・`)

Last edited by T00DEEPBLUE : 05-31-2013 at 04:03 PM.
T00DEEPBLUE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 04:07 PM   #46
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by T00DEEPBLUE
I guess in my position, getting a used amp is an option under most circumstances. Because even if there is something internally wrong with the amp, (a) my father is an electrical engineer who used to design operational amplifiers as a living, so he understands fairly well how tube and SS amps work. He's been very helpful in doing mods to my gear. So I guess I'm a bit of an exception.

(b) The thing with guitars is that common problems that arise from used guitars (such as fret wear) require special tools to resolve, that nobody who isn't a guitar builder would ever have. It's also something that takes lutherie experience to pull off. *c) Whereas with amps, it's more a matter of general electrical knowledge and a steady hand with a soldering iron.


(a) that's something you should probably mention, lol

(b) agreed. buying a used guitar that needs a refret will likely erode most of the savings made from going used, lol.

(c) again, i think that's your own personal situation taking over- while I'd agree that you don't need as many specialist tools, you do need some, plus you generally don't risk death doing a refret (unless I've been profoundly misinformed about what a refret entails )

for the average person on the street (and i include myself in that, fwiw) the problems inherent in going used massively outweigh the gains- at least if something serious goes wrong. Granted, it won't always, or even often. But it can do.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
Rob Chappers would tell you he couldn't tell a cat from a dog if it would get him more hits on youtube.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 04:23 PM   #47
T00DEEPBLUE
Ronald Weasley...
 
T00DEEPBLUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Dungeons
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Mc
(a) that's something you should probably mention, lol

Yea... I kinda forgot about that privilege.
Quote:
(b) agreed. buying a used guitar that needs a refret will likely erode most of the savings made from going used, lol.

This is what makes me reluctant to buy a used guitar unless I've can inspect the guitar myself.
Quote:
(c) again, i think that's your own personal situation taking over- while I'd agree that you don't need as many specialist tools, you do need some, plus you generally don't risk death doing a refret (unless I've been profoundly misinformed about what a refret entails )

A soldering iron isn't a particularly special tool, not nearly as special as something like a fret crowning file or a radius beam. But I know what you mean. Living with an electrical engineer for over 20 years makes a soldering iron seem like an everyday item to me.
Quote:
or the average person on the street (and i include myself in that, fwiw) the problems inherent in going used massively outweigh the gains- at least if something serious goes wrong. Granted, it won't always, or even often. But it can do.

It's certainly worth the risk if you can inspect whatever you're buying beforehand or at least if the seller takes photographs of any imperfections. It's a sign that the seller is not selling something that's advertised as something it isn't.
__________________
Whoever reads this in Snape's voice gives 10 points to Slytherin.

(・ω・`)
T00DEEPBLUE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2013, 06:45 PM   #48
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
first 3 points: agreed.

last point- again, it depends. that's assuming someone isn't trying to blatantly rip you off. if they are, all bets are off. again, trying first might help... but if they're unpleasant enough to rip you, they might be unpleasant enough to cosh you over the head and just take your money, lol. I'd rather have impersonal online contact with a criminal than face-to-face contact, even if it does mean getting ripped off

sometimes it pays off, sometimes it doesn't- even if you're careful. Admittedly, being careful minimises your chances of getting ripped, but it doesn't completely eliminate them. It's a bit like driving- you can drive as carefully as possible, but if the other guy does something stupid/dangerous enough, it won't matter. Substitute "does something stupid/dangerous" for "is willing to rip you off".
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
Rob Chappers would tell you he couldn't tell a cat from a dog if it would get him more hits on youtube.



Last edited by Dave_Mc : 05-31-2013 at 06:46 PM.
Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 04:59 AM   #49
AngryIndianDude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by T00DEEPBLUE
It's worth learning how tube amps differ from Solid State amps before you actually get one.

I know that difference but i dont understand the technology behind it, then again i shouldnt need to really. trust me, i wouldnt be looking for a tube amp if i didnt know what it was!!
AngryIndianDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 05:02 AM   #50
AngryIndianDude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by T00DEEPBLUE
I guess in my position, getting a used amp is an option under most circumstances. Because even if there is something internally wrong with the amp, my father is an electrical engineer who used to design operational amplifiers as a living, so he understands fairly well how tube and SS amps work. He's been very helpful in doing mods to my gear. So I guess I'm a bit of an exception.

The thing with guitars is that common problems that arise from used guitars (such as fret wear) require special tools to resolve, that nobody who isn't a guitar builder would ever have. It's also something that takes lutherie experience to pull off. Whereas with amps, it's more a matter of general electrical knowledge and a steady hand with a soldering iron.

tbh id rather pay the price than pay the price of used. its obvious i still dont know so much about amplifiers, im happy to pay the 50-200 more or whatever it is. The JCA100HDM is no glorious baby, had it been some pro amp that was a lot of cash id be willing to look for used, but cheers for the advice
AngryIndianDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 07:59 AM   #51
MaaZeus
Registered User
 
MaaZeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Finland
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryIndianDude
tbh id rather pay the price than pay the price of used. its obvious i still dont know so much about amplifiers


Oh you will be fine. Only thing you should remember is that never EVER turn it on without load (meaning cab) attached. Majority of SS amps are fine but output transformers of Tube amps go boom. And dont be in a rush, let it warm up in standby mode atleast a minute before you start jam and crank the bejeezus out of it.
__________________

ESP LTD F-50 + Tonezone
Cort EVL-Z4 + X2N
Cort EVL-K47B

Marshall Valvestate 8100
Randall RG1503
Peavey Valveking 100 MESA MOD
Peavey Rockmaster preamp

Line6 Pod X3
MaaZeus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 10:05 AM   #52
AngryIndianDude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaaZeus
Oh you will be fine. Only thing you should remember is that never EVER turn it on without load (meaning cab) attached. Majority of SS amps are fine but output transformers of Tube amps go boom. And dont be in a rush, let it warm up in standby mode atleast a minute before you start jam and crank the bejeezus out of it.

so, i plug into cab, turn on, then activate standby, then wait a minute? Ill check the manual for it now online to clarify
omg this is so cool, thats going to be like powering a rocketship on when i first try it DDDDDD
AngryIndianDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 10:10 AM   #53
MaaZeus
Registered User
 
MaaZeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Finland
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryIndianDude
so, i plug into cab, turn on, then activate standby, then wait a minute? Ill check the manual for it now online to clarify
omg this is so cool, thats going to be like powering a rocketship on when i first try it DDDDDD




Basically yes. You'll see when you get it, its pretty self explanatory.
__________________

ESP LTD F-50 + Tonezone
Cort EVL-Z4 + X2N
Cort EVL-K47B

Marshall Valvestate 8100
Randall RG1503
Peavey Valveking 100 MESA MOD
Peavey Rockmaster preamp

Line6 Pod X3
MaaZeus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 12:23 PM   #54
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
yeah. don't go near the power or standby switch before you have speakers/cabinet attached. and use a speaker cable to attach the cabinet/speakers.

and yeah i mean those jet cities are such good value on thomann that it's debatable if there's even any point in going used.

you have to treat each case on its own merits...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
Rob Chappers would tell you he couldn't tell a cat from a dog if it would get him more hits on youtube.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 02:53 PM   #55
AngryIndianDude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Mc
yeah. don't go near the power or standby switch before you have speakers/cabinet attached. and use a speaker cable to attach the cabinet/speakers.

and yeah i mean those jet cities are such good value on thomann that it's debatable if there's even any point in going used.

you have to treat each case on its own merits...

so standby on means it is ready to receive guitar input, standby off (when you first turn it on) is a mute?
AngryIndianDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 03:12 PM   #56
MaaZeus
Registered User
 
MaaZeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Finland
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngryIndianDude
so standby on means it is ready to receive guitar input, standby off (when you first turn it on) is a mute?


Dont scratch your head too much around this. You'll see when you get the amp. There are two switches you need to flip. If only power is on the tube heaters get power but no signal goes through, flick the other switch and the amp is fully on.
__________________

ESP LTD F-50 + Tonezone
Cort EVL-Z4 + X2N
Cort EVL-K47B

Marshall Valvestate 8100
Randall RG1503
Peavey Valveking 100 MESA MOD
Peavey Rockmaster preamp

Line6 Pod X3
MaaZeus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 03:26 PM   #57
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
yeah as MaaZeus says, it can get confusing.

on the jet city 50H, you have two switches. one says "power" above it and "off" below it, and the other says "standby" below it and "on" above it.

to turn the amp on, you make sure the standby switch is set to "standby" first, and then you flip the power switch to "power". then after ~1 minute or so, you flip the standby switch from "standby" to "on" and you're ready to start playing.

as maazeus says, in practice it's not as complicated as that sounds, as both switches go the same way for "off" and "on". when both switches are in the down position the amp is totally off, and when both are in the up position the amp is totally on (i.e. if you play you'll get sound).



EDIT: ah i dunno if you can make that out i'd go to the jet city website but they have newer style power switches... same principle, but they look slightly different.

http://www.thomann.de/gb/media_bdbv...93.html?image=0 bigger image
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
Rob Chappers would tell you he couldn't tell a cat from a dog if it would get him more hits on youtube.



Last edited by Dave_Mc : 06-01-2013 at 03:29 PM.
Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 04:09 PM   #58
AngryIndianDude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Mc
yeah as MaaZeus says, it can get confusing.

on the jet city 50H, you have two switches. one says "power" above it and "off" below it, and the other says "standby" below it and "on" above it.

to turn the amp on, you make sure the standby switch is set to "standby" first, and then you flip the power switch to "power". then after ~1 minute or so, you flip the standby switch from "standby" to "on" and you're ready to start playing.

as maazeus says, in practice it's not as complicated as that sounds, as both switches go the same way for "off" and "on". when both switches are in the down position the amp is totally off, and when both are in the up position the amp is totally on (i.e. if you play you'll get sound).



EDIT: ah i dunno if you can make that out i'd go to the jet city website but they have newer style power switches... same principle, but they look slightly different.

http://www.thomann.de/gb/media_bdbv...93.html?image=0 bigger image

Oh man to a kid like me this sounds like some mission control s### im so excited ;D
Now all I have to do is wait until 20th June!!!
AngryIndianDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 04:31 PM   #59
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
Rob Chappers would tell you he couldn't tell a cat from a dog if it would get him more hits on youtube.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:33 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.