Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > UG Community > The Pit
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-19-2014, 11:32 AM   #17261
captaincrunk
See, I Got News for You.
 
captaincrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by digman50
I was configuring the laptop on PC Specialist, cause I don't really have the knowledge of how to put it all together myself, the only quad-cores available are i7s

The graphics card is the only option for that laptop spec, although I could probably look at other base models to start from

the card is probably based on size constraints.

on the whole this pc will still be better than most laptops out there made by dell and hp and all that. but I wouldn't pay more than like $699 for it. the screen is ****ing nice though, that's an amazing resolution and might be worth a couple hundred on its own. what was the price they were quoting you? price matters a lot.

let's compare it to a popular dell model

http://www.amazon.com/Dell-Inspiron...s/dp/B00K4PAV78

i've seen it as low as $515 recently

what you've built would have better graphics and better resolution, less HDD space but a better drive overall. but how much cash is that worth to you?
__________________
#15 in the 2012 top 100
#23 in the 2010 top 100

NEW UG ALBUM! GET UG ELECTRONIC ALBUM: DISC THREE TODAY!

Quote:
Originally Posted by element4433
I respect crunk.
captaincrunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 11:36 AM   #17262
So-Cal
5evr
 
So-Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
what do you intend to do with it? at the moment it's a pretty good all rounder.
So-Cal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 12:00 PM   #17263
digman50
Just Juice It
 
digman50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edinburgh/Birmingham
Quote:
Originally Posted by So-Cal
what do you intend to do with it? at the moment it's a pretty good all rounder.


Not really much gaming, I've got a PS4 for that which I'm perfectly happy with.

I want something to do my uni work, potentially do music recording stuff on (nothing too complicated, I don't need 32gb of RAM ) and play Football Manager.

It's £709 as is (with labour, warranty etc.)

Would it be worth upgrading to the quad-core i7 (i7-4720MQ 2.5GHz) and going from an SSD to 1GB SSHD for £739?

Laptops seem to be generally more expensive over here in the UK.

That laptop quoted only has a 3 year old integrated graphics card and a less powerful processor, which leaves me a bit convinced.

The screen's a big draw, it's higher res than the current retina display on the Macbook Pro, which is basically what I set the specs on this from.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndTheRapture51
I am fairly cliterate with my hands and mouth.


Relegation 2K15 Motherf**kers



digman50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 12:27 PM   #17264
So-Cal
5evr
 
So-Cal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Ram is generally easy to swap out and so are hard drives, the processor you're stuck with. So I'd say go for the better processor and if at a later date you need more memory you can always upgrade it.
So-Cal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 12:45 PM   #17265
captaincrunk
See, I Got News for You.
 
captaincrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by digman50
Not really much gaming, I've got a PS4 for that which I'm perfectly happy with.

I want something to do my uni work, potentially do music recording stuff on (nothing too complicated, I don't need 32gb of RAM ) and play Football Manager.

It's £709 as is (with labour, warranty etc.)

Would it be worth upgrading to the quad-core i7 (i7-4720MQ 2.5GHz) and going from an SSD to 1GB SSHD for £739?

Laptops seem to be generally more expensive over here in the UK.

That laptop quoted only has a 3 year old integrated graphics card and a less powerful processor, which leaves me a bit convinced.

The screen's a big draw, it's higher res than the current retina display on the Macbook Pro, which is basically what I set the specs on this from.

the laptop i quoted has a pretty similar processor, both kinda suck to be honest. neither is a quad core

EDIT: i just learned now that for the past year i5 in mobile processor always meant duo core. why? that's stupid. maybe it's to set the i7 apart but these i5 processors aren't as good as the old ones...

http://ark.intel.com/products/famil...cessors#@Mobile
__________________
#15 in the 2012 top 100
#23 in the 2010 top 100

NEW UG ALBUM! GET UG ELECTRONIC ALBUM: DISC THREE TODAY!

Quote:
Originally Posted by element4433
I respect crunk.

Last edited by captaincrunk : 10-19-2014 at 12:52 PM.
captaincrunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 03:06 PM   #17266
digman50
Just Juice It
 
digman50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Edinburgh/Birmingham
Just wondering, but what difference does quad-core make if the programs you're using aren't written to utilise it?

I know Football Manager (as an example) doesn't use all four cores as it's not written to

Tbh I'll probably go with the quad-core because it makes sense going forward, but I'm interested to learn.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndTheRapture51
I am fairly cliterate with my hands and mouth.


Relegation 2K15 Motherf**kers



digman50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 03:08 PM   #17267
eGraham
Green and Submarine
 
eGraham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Indiana
It has to do with threading, and I can't really answer any more than that

While dual-core processors certainly aren't "obsolete," I would still recommend getting quad-or-higher-core just because of the potential heightened performance at a relatively small price increase.

You might consider giving this a read:

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2406293,00.asp
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trowzaa
I wish I was American.




October 23, 2014

Last edited by eGraham : 10-19-2014 at 03:11 PM.
eGraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 03:22 PM   #17268
DamienEx1021
PC Police
 
DamienEx1021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by digman50
Just wondering, but what difference does quad-core make if the programs you're using aren't written to utilise it?

I know Football Manager (as an example) doesn't use all four cores as it's not written to

Tbh I'll probably go with the quad-core because it makes sense going forward, but I'm interested to learn.


Consider this. Rarely will your computer only be running your game or application. There is all sorts of stuff going on in the background and if you are multitasking you have more than one process running anyway. Sure most games don't utilize more than 2 cores, but what about a game, media player, internet browser, screen recording software, or whatever combination of stuff that you have running. Majority of people think to linearly when it comes to that kind of stuff.

Random example to illustrate a point. Lets say you have a dual core CPU and Windows requires 25% of one of those cores to run fully (just making up numbers here.) Now you have a CPU heavy game that can use two cores and will tax the system heavily. All the sudden your CPU is trying to run the game and windows and doesn't have enough juice under load. Lets say you hate the games sound track and are jamming to your media player, which doesn't take up much CPU, but we will call it 5%. While you are playing your game, your virus scan kicks in at 30% CPU because you forgot to change the setting. Now your game is lagged to hell.

Now lets say you have 4 cores to work with. All the sudden all this stuff can spread out. Your game can use 2 cores while the other 2 cores take care of everything else, spreading the load.

Now this is an over simplified version of how it works, but you get the idea.
__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.” ― Neil deGrasse Tyson

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolmnt
PC police strike again
DamienEx1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 03:33 PM   #17269
DamienEx1021
PC Police
 
DamienEx1021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Virginia
Unrelated double post.

So my buddy who I am in a band with is sick of his recording computer taking forever to do what he needs. He went for cheep and easy and got a pre-built PC from Bestbuy. It is an AMD APU machine and works well for every day stuff, but for working on songs and crap, the thing takes forever and a day to encode stuff.

So as luck would have it, since I am upgrading to Intel DDR4 system here in a few months, I will need some place to donate my AMD FX-9370 and ASUS FX990 Sabertooth R2.0 Mobo. On top of that since I am going to upgrade my GPU as well, so I can give him my Radeon HD 7950 and sell him a lightly used 750w PSU to run the getup. I offered all that to him for $550 and he said we can do it. That will essentially cover half of the Intel build I have in mind which is more than enough for me to be comfortable with. He will just need to buy some good RAM on the side but i figure 16gb of 1866mhz RAM will do the trick. Now I will still be out about $1000 when this is all said and done but that is better than being out $1500.

I am thinking by tax return time everything will have stabilized with DDR4 pricing and crap so I can commit to the system then.
__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.” ― Neil deGrasse Tyson

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolmnt
PC police strike again
DamienEx1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 03:52 PM   #17270
captaincrunk
See, I Got News for You.
 
captaincrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by digman50
Just wondering, but what difference does quad-core make if the programs you're using aren't written to utilise it?

I know Football Manager (as an example) doesn't use all four cores as it's not written to

Tbh I'll probably go with the quad-core because it makes sense going forward, but I'm interested to learn.

you use more than one application at a time, so football manager alone might only use one or two cores but you're also running your internet browser, a music application, and whatever else

and in your recording software you've got multiple plugins even if those individual plugins don't use all 4 cores

EDIT: oh didn't see damien's first post, yeah that is way more thorough

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienEx1021
Unrelated double post.

So my buddy who I am in a band with is sick of his recording computer taking forever to do what he needs. He went for cheep and easy and got a pre-built PC from Bestbuy. It is an AMD APU machine and works well for every day stuff, but for working on songs and crap, the thing takes forever and a day to encode stuff.

So as luck would have it, since I am upgrading to Intel DDR4 system here in a few months, I will need some place to donate my AMD FX-9370 and ASUS FX990 Sabertooth R2.0 Mobo. On top of that since I am going to upgrade my GPU as well, so I can give him my Radeon HD 7950 and sell him a lightly used 750w PSU to run the getup. I offered all that to him for $550 and he said we can do it. That will essentially cover half of the Intel build I have in mind which is more than enough for me to be comfortable with. He will just need to buy some good RAM on the side but i figure 16gb of 1866mhz RAM will do the trick. Now I will still be out about $1000 when this is all said and done but that is better than being out $1500.

I am thinking by tax return time everything will have stabilized with DDR4 pricing and crap so I can commit to the system then.

why not give him the RAM too and increase your cost by 100 if you're just getting new ddr4 RAM? i'm trying to figure out where your ram went
__________________
#15 in the 2012 top 100
#23 in the 2010 top 100

NEW UG ALBUM! GET UG ELECTRONIC ALBUM: DISC THREE TODAY!

Quote:
Originally Posted by element4433
I respect crunk.

Last edited by captaincrunk : 10-19-2014 at 03:57 PM.
captaincrunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 04:30 PM   #17271
DamienEx1021
PC Police
 
DamienEx1021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by captaincrunk
you use more than one application at a time, so football manager alone might only use one or two cores but you're also running your internet browser, a music application, and whatever else

and in your recording software you've got multiple plugins even if those individual plugins don't use all 4 cores

EDIT: oh didn't see damien's first post, yeah that is way more thorough


why not give him the RAM too and increase your cost by 100 if you're just getting new ddr4 RAM? i'm trying to figure out where your ram went


The ram I currently have is only 8gb DDR3 1600mhz. I still have an old AM3 board that I am running a Phenom II 965 out of. It has 2x2gb 1600mhz RAM. I am slightly upgrading that so I use it as a dummy computer. Mostly recovering old hard drivers and the sort.

I plan on using 3 or 4 hard drives on there with different OS running. Win95 and Win XP for old games that aren't supported by modern technology. Mostly it is going to be my "lets dick around with stuff PC." I have been dying to play Mechwarrior 2 for years now. So many good memories but it wont work on a PC that doesn't have Win95 and I don't know enough about setting up DOS Box and running Win95 as a VM.

I am even going to hunt down an old 5.25" Floppy and throw that in there. I have the correct ribbon and everything.

Anyway, long story short, he needs better and more ram for recording.
__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.” ― Neil deGrasse Tyson

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolmnt
PC police strike again
DamienEx1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 09:21 PM   #17272
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cal-eye-forn-ia
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienEx1021
Unrelated double post.

So my buddy who I am in a band with is sick of his recording computer taking forever to do what he needs. He went for cheep and easy and got a pre-built PC from Bestbuy. It is an AMD APU machine and works well for every day stuff, but for working on songs and crap, the thing takes forever and a day to encode stuff.

This is why I never buy prebuilt, except for workhorse laptops.
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld
crazysam23_Atax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 10:07 PM   #17273
iHurricaneGTR
Big Gumbo Jones
 
iHurricaneGTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Huddled away, hiding from THEM.
what do you guys use for cpu benchmarking? i got me an i7-5820K last week and wanna push it
__________________
You dirty piece of shit, you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FireFromTheVoid
I smoked weed with my mom once.
It was the weirdest moment of my life, and I`ve been caught with my dick in my hand, by my brother, with a giant close up of a dudes face on the tv.

iHurricaneGTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2014, 08:51 AM   #17274
DamienEx1021
PC Police
 
DamienEx1021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by iHurricaneGTR
what do you guys use for cpu benchmarking? i got me an i7-5820K last week and wanna push it


https://www.cpubenchmark.net/

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazysam23_Atax
This is why I never buy prebuilt, except for workhorse laptops.


Yeah well it is too bad he didn't ask me about this kind of thing prior to getting it. Anyway his next CPU will be just fine, considering it is what I am currently running.


Unrelated note, I think I might have given up on AMD GPU's too quickly after the release of the GTX 980 and 970. I am going back over all the benchmarks and I realized something, with the price slash that just happened, the R9 290X is still the winner (price per performance) in most cases, especially when it comes to 4k resolutions. The only thing that makes this true is the fact that the R9 290X is now $350.

How could I have been so naive? Now I will really have to wait for AMD and Nvidia to release the next step before making a GPU decision.

That being said I am still upgrading to an Intel CPU
__________________
“The good thing about science is that it's true whether or not you believe in it.” ― Neil deGrasse Tyson

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolmnt
PC police strike again
DamienEx1021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 07:06 PM   #17275
muffinduck01
UG's BBW Lover
 
muffinduck01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
So, I see that the R9 290 has fallen to about $285....

Really, really tempted to pick one up.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MakinLattes
I'd kill you and wear your skin.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Siv During Livh
To attempt to have intercourse with a hornet's nest is a very bad idea,

Voted UG's worst cross dresser.
Also voted #95 on UG's Top 100 2013. Like it means anything....
muffinduck01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:52 AM   #17276
captaincrunk
See, I Got News for You.
 
captaincrunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by muffinduck01
So, I see that the R9 290 has fallen to about $285....

Really, really tempted to pick one up.

interesting price... if it reaches 250 i might even put one on my credit card lol
__________________
#15 in the 2012 top 100
#23 in the 2010 top 100

NEW UG ALBUM! GET UG ELECTRONIC ALBUM: DISC THREE TODAY!

Quote:
Originally Posted by element4433
I respect crunk.
captaincrunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 05:11 AM   #17277
Fisheth24
UG's only Dean user
 
Fisheth24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Under the bridge of Khazad-dûm
Was attempting to render a video, then it reaches 80% then my machine turns itself off. Everytime I try to render it and then upload to Youtube.

Thought it was an overheating issue, but temps seem fine.

Thoughts?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MapOfYourHead
Sounds like she want's you to rub your beard on her


Fisheth24 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:40 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.