Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-20-2012, 09:05 AM   #1
Volcz
The Vox Dude
 
Volcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
AC30 Problem

*AC30C2! Not the tube rectifier AC30CC2

Just came home today (after jamming with a sweet as orange rockerverb half-stack!) and fired up my AC30. But as soon as I started playing it was creating this crackling, fizzy noise. I was on the top boost channel maxxed out pre-amp volume. it also seems to have become a lot noisier (when not playing anything).

I tried changing guitars and cables and nothing seemed to fix it. I've tried turning it on and off as well.

I'm guessing this would be a tube problem? Pretty disappointing since this is a new AC30 I bought from Cranbourne Music about a week ago as a backup for my gigs and as a secondary amp for rehearsals.

I'll try post a video tomorrow morning.

Any ideas?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by greeny23
i shake the walls of my bedroom. with mah dick.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eppicurt
Quote:
Originally Posted by NakedInTheRain
hey, be nice to the hipster.
I hear they use false bypass switches.

It's, like, so ironic.

Last edited by Volcz : 10-20-2012 at 09:07 AM.
Volcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 02:58 PM   #2
jaybals
guitarchitect
 
jaybals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: A little town called london
I know Vox AC30's are renowned for chewing up tubes like warm toast, and Korg are notorious for selling them with bad stock tubes, so it's no surprise if they go bad. I had JJ's in my AC30's power amp, and tung sols anf RFT's in the pre
__________________
Fender Jazzmaster | Hutchins Regal
Cornell Romany Plus


Dr. Octafuzz
Fulltone Wah
Ibanez TS7
Carl Martin Chorus
Malekko 616
HoF Reverb

http://www.facebook.com/SpecialBruise
https://soundcloud.com/special-bruise
jaybals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 04:33 PM   #3
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volcz
Just came home today (after jamming with a sweet as orange rockerverb half-stack!) and fired up my AC30. But as soon as I started playing it was creating this crackling, fizzy noise. I was on the top boost channel maxxed out pre-amp volume. it also seems to have become a lot noisier (when not playing anything).


well, if it is only on the top boost channel than it is most likely not the power tubes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Volcz
I tried changing guitars and cables and nothing seemed to fix it. I've tried turning it on and off as well.

I'm guessing this would be a tube problem?


it could be, but since it's a preamp tube it'd be pretty easy to troubleshoot the problem. you should probably have an couple extra preamp tubes anyway just for random problems. replace the preamp tubes one at a time and see which one is broke. you don't need to replace every preamp tube, just do this:
-pull V1 tube
-replace with the new tube
-check to see if problem persists
-if problem persists, then pull the new tube
-replace V1 with old tube
-repeat with the next tube

there is also plenty of chance that this is not a tube problem, this could also be a bad capacitor or resistor. if you don't wanna go for awhile without the amp, then troubleshoot the preamp tube, and if there is still a problem then send it into the seller to fix.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:29 PM   #4
Volcz
The Vox Dude
 
Volcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Woke up this morning and it seems okay. The strangest thing I've realized is that theres volume coming out of the amp when you play, when the master volume is right off.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by greeny23
i shake the walls of my bedroom. with mah dick.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eppicurt
Quote:
Originally Posted by NakedInTheRain
hey, be nice to the hipster.
I hear they use false bypass switches.

It's, like, so ironic.
Volcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:30 PM   #5
Alphaform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
does speakers breaking in make the amp louder??? just curious
Alphaform is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 08:51 PM   #6
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Make sure a tube didn't just come loose. Happens in transport.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:02 PM   #7
CodeMonk
UG's Old Fart
 
CodeMonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Masturbating in your armpit
Stock, the AC30 tubes suck. IMO anyway.
I think mine had EH tubes.
Swapped them out for JJs and haven't had any problems since.
Not that I had any problems with the EH tubes. Just saying.

And what R45VT said, check for loose tubes.
__________________
Programming is an art form that fights back.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dementiacaptain
I'm sorry that we won't validate your decision, we give advice here, not good feelings.

My friends call me Rob.
CodeMonk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:26 PM   #8
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volcz
Woke up this morning and it seems okay. The strangest thing I've realized is that theres volume coming out of the amp when you play, when the master volume is right off.


i don't believe the pot on the master knob doesn't provide an infinite resistance and that is why you may still get volume

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alphaform
does speakers breaking in make the amp louder??? just curious


maybe a little louder, as the parts will loosen, but i bet even the most experienced guitarists would be able to tell the difference in volume.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:46 PM   #9
Alphaform
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Hmm okay

Last edited by Alphaform : 10-20-2012 at 11:48 PM.
Alphaform is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 01:37 AM   #10
Volcz
The Vox Dude
 
Volcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
I'm sending it back to the store as it's still covered by 14-day refund and warranty. Never had a problem with my other AC30.

Also I didn't bother to check the tubes if they were in tight because when I looked at the back panel, two screws were half-screwed in and I tried tightening them but they're stuck. 90% of the screws also have marks that make it look like someone has been tampering with the amp before I purchased it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by greeny23
i shake the walls of my bedroom. with mah dick.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eppicurt
Quote:
Originally Posted by NakedInTheRain
hey, be nice to the hipster.
I hear they use false bypass switches.

It's, like, so ironic.
Volcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 01:54 AM   #11
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Good call. **** that turd. Hopefully they can get you one new out of the box.


I had a similar thing with my MKV when I bought it. Found a preamp tube shield in the bottom. Never fun when you spend that much dough.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 04:44 AM   #12
Volcz
The Vox Dude
 
Volcz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by R45VT
Good call. **** that turd. Hopefully they can get you one new out of the box.


I had a similar thing with my MKV when I bought it. Found a preamp tube shield in the bottom. Never fun when you spend that much dough.


Yeah, 1.5k

Oh wow, from a Mesa? That'd be quite disappointing! I mean the Vox is built in China, so I guess I kind of am not entirely surprised - but for that much cash you know.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by greeny23
i shake the walls of my bedroom. with mah dick.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eppicurt
Quote:
Originally Posted by NakedInTheRain
hey, be nice to the hipster.
I hear they use false bypass switches.

It's, like, so ironic.
Volcz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 01:06 PM   #13
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
I bought it from GC. Once I found the preamp shield laying in the bottom I started looking And found a bunch more stuff.

I spent 2400.

Price shouldn't matter though. You would hope your brand new gear would be perfect. I expect some sort of QC either at the factory and/or point of sale.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:00 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.