Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-18-2013, 11:17 AM   #1
Metander
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Question Putting guitar through Guitar Rig

I hope this is the right subforum. Thing is, I want to play my guitar through my computer. To use Guitar Rig as my amp and get the sound through the computer speakers. Ive googled but coulnt find clear instructions. My problem is , is that i dont think i have a good enough computer/sound card , so i'd like to know how good my hardware has to be to play through the computer with no lag. Ive heard of external soundcards and hardware, but do they require a good computer to run them or do they process the sound themselve? (Like [forbidden link])

I once tried to test my computers latency with some program and it said i have pretty much no lag(which i very very much doubt), but when I put my guitar into the mic slot, no sound came out (I had the free guitar rig running)

My specs are:

Processor - Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7300 @ 2.66GHz 2.67GHz
RAM - 4 GB, 3,12 usable
CPU - Intel Pentium III Xeon , 2666Mz
Metander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 05:15 AM   #2
Metander
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Bump
Metander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 05:56 AM   #3
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
I wonder if there's a sticky thread where all this and more is explained?

Also, you're specs are messed up royally. Processor and CPU are the same thing, and I highly doubt you're running a Xeon if you don't know that (That's a server chip, not consumer model stuff).
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 05:59 AM   #4
Spambot_2
Name's Luca
 
Spambot_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Italy
You probably just need to route the audio the right way.

Do you have ASIO drivers installed?
You probably should.
Have you had a look at the ASIO drivers' settings?
They are opened by double clicking on the green icon in the icons bar or however the bar at the right of the applications bar is called.

If you figure out how to go there and you choose your computer input jack as audio input, you should be fine.

If it still doesn't work have a look at guitar rig's settings too, in which you should find some kind of audio settings regarding the drivers to use.
Choose ASIO and you should be able to play with sound.
__________________
worthwhile quotes, because quote tags occupy too much space

Last edited by Spambot_2 : 10-20-2013 at 06:04 AM.
Spambot_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2013, 02:34 PM   #5
jaspervdv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Do you already own guitar rig? 'cause it can work with a jack to usb cable. It worked by a friend of mine. But when I tried it it started to f*ck around. An easy solution Is a interface. But it can be expensive. So try it first with an USB cable (maybe the trail version of guitar rig?) and when it doesn't work, start looking for an interface. Of it does work, buy guitar rig.

Last edited by jaspervdv : 10-21-2013 at 11:52 AM.
jaspervdv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 03:17 AM   #6
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaspervdv
Do you already own guitar rig? 'cause it can work with a jack to usb cable. It worked by a friend of mine. But when I tried it it started to f*ck around. An easy solution Is a interface. But it can be expensive. So try it first with an USB cable (DON'T RECOMMEND PIRATED SOFTWARE ) and when it doesn't work, start looking for an interface. Of it does work, buy guitar rig.

Fixed
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 10:08 AM   #7
jaspervdv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chatterbox272
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaspervdv
Do you already own guitar rig? 'cause it can work with a jack to usb cable. It worked by a friend of mine. But when I tried it it started to f*ck around. An easy solution Is a interface. But it can be expensive. So try it first with an USB cable (DON'T RECOMMEND PIRATED SOFTWARE ) and when it doesn't work, start looking for an interface. Of it does work, buy guitar rig.

Fixed


hahaha, i wasn't really recommending the full time use of it. just to try it. i mean, it is really annoying when you only have a limited amount of money, so only for guitar rig or an interface, and you buy guitar rig to find out it doesn't work with an normal cable. off course he has to buy it when it works, it is the way to support the program. but all right, sorry. I made a mistake, please forgive me
jaspervdv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 10:35 AM   #8
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Try or full use, it's still just as illegal and still a ban-worthy offence IIRC
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 10:52 AM   #9
jaspervdv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Oke, True. Ill watch my language.
jaspervdv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 08:35 PM   #10
paulrodga
Registered User
 
paulrodga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
hehe good advice, thanks. It happened to me too
paulrodga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 09:25 PM   #11
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Woah, why did my link (which IIRC was just to the interfaces sticky) go forbidden
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:45 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.