Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 06-26-2014, 12:24 AM   #1
nathan.denson1
Registered User
 
nathan.denson1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Drum Samples

Hey Guys,

I'm a cubase user and I recently decided to try drum samples in wav format rather than using slate drums or superior drummer. I purchased a pack of samples and I'd like to know what a good vst plugin would be to load them on.

I'm looking for something that will allow my kicks to be on one midi note, all my snare hits, rolls, flams, rim shots each on a seperate midi note, etc etc.

Each instrument in the pack comes with 5 velocity levels and 5 samples per velocity so it won't sound as robotic. (All samples include corresponding overhead and room mic samples for layering)

I need something that will layer the overhead and room mic with the direct sample and also randomize the sample used when at a certain velocity. Basically what a plugin like Superior Drummer would do for you.

Sorry if this is unclear. I don't know that much about samples, but any help would be appreciated.
nathan.denson1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 12:30 AM   #2
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
So why did you decide to make your life more complicated?
__________________
ABSENT SKIES
FFO Counter Parts, Misery Signals


The Site I Write For / My Soundcloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangMan311
Proving yet again that you consistently have the worst taste on this forum.
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 04:52 AM   #3
xxdarrenxx
UG Fanatic
 
xxdarrenxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChemicalFire
So why did you decide to make your life more complicated?


This.

In the end you want "this" and to let it do "that", and you will end up with the same thing.

Ableton live has a built in drum rack, which can go very advanced and do all this, but ye.. Cubase, so it would not work.

Just use the drum software man.
__________________

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[FONT=Palatino Linotype
[COLOR=DarkRed]Who's Andy Timmons??
[/SIZE][/B]
xxdarrenxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 08:29 AM   #4
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
You know you can load custom samples into Steven Slate too if you really want to?
__________________
ABSENT SKIES
FFO Counter Parts, Misery Signals


The Site I Write For / My Soundcloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangMan311
Proving yet again that you consistently have the worst taste on this forum.
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 05:31 AM   #5
Victorgeiger
Registered User
 
Victorgeiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Since you went and got samples why don't you do it the old fashioned way and scrap midi all together. In cubase set your bmp and snapping, load the samples into the file browser and build the drum track right there in the timeline.

At least this will give you complete freedom in the mixing and effects department.

Last edited by Victorgeiger : 06-27-2014 at 05:32 AM.
Victorgeiger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:58 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.