Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Gear Building & Customizing
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 03-13-2013, 07:48 AM   #1
cha33 armstrong
has 2 UG medals
 
cha33 armstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: southampton
tremolo arm problems

i own a squier strat (affinity not bullet) and it has 2 problems with the tremolo arm

1st when i use the tremolo arm the strings go out of tune (up and down notes) i have changed the strings to regular slinkys but i had the same problem with the strings it came with so it cant be gauge (can it?)

2nd theres a small gap between the body and the end of the tremolo system
[IMG]http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?q=GAP+BETWEEN+BODY+AND+TREMOLO&um=1&hl=en&safe=active&biw=1280&bih=827&tbm=isch&tbnid=8naMGRc2ZhUOTM:&imgrefurl=http://justinguitarcommunity.com/index.php%3Ftopic%3D16412.105&docid=liFNWMEYoQi6aM&imgurl=http://www.strat-talk.com/forum/attachments/tech-talk/21730d1305920470-bridge-height-image-2655183698.jpg&w=799&h=599&ei=KmdAUbGeOorG0QXd0oD4Bg&zoom=1&iact=rc&dur=265&page=1&tbnh=145&tbnw=215&start=0&ndsp=32&ved=1t:429,r:6,s:0,i:94&tx=144&ty=60[IMG] this is not mine but it is the same situation

how do i fix these problems
__________________
show
cha33 armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:49 AM   #2
zakarai
The Mathchitect
 
zakarai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Scotland
It will go out of tune when you use the tremolo on it because of it being a standard bridge.
They should only really be used for very light tremolo.

If you had a locking tremolo on the other hand, you could do the craziest of dive bombs and it would stay in tune (provided it is a decent locking trem)

There is also a nifty bridge called the Evertune which is like a locking tremolo but without all the locking nonsense. It was also designed to stay in tune in terms of temperature changes as well as massive bending of strings.


To your other question, the bridge hasn't been setup properly. the strings are currently pulling the bridge forward. If you open up the back and tighten the bridge it will come back level. I can't remember the design in the back but there should be a spring system. You essentially have to pull them back (or re position the springs) in order to level out the bridge.

Last edited by zakarai : 03-13-2013 at 09:52 AM.
zakarai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:55 AM   #3
zakarai
The Mathchitect
 
zakarai's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Scotland
http://www.strat-talk.com/forum/att...ensupxd-003.jpg

Here is a diagram. The two screws you see on the left, you have the screw them in more to pull back the bridge and to raise the bridge, vise versa.

There is also other allocated points to put the springs on to strengthen tuning reliability.
zakarai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 10:34 AM   #4
von Layzonfon
UG's Grammar Stickler
 
von Layzonfon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 22 Acacia Avenue
Also, watch this.

__________________

Paddy von Layzonfon! Founder of The Spell it RELICKED Club
von Layzonfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 11:51 AM   #5
cha33 armstrong
has 2 UG medals
 
cha33 armstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: southampton
Tightening the screws did the trick for me thanks
__________________
show
cha33 armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 01:04 AM   #6
DESTROYER5000
Banned
 
DESTROYER5000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I use a regular strat trem and I'm able to do Eddie van halen esque divebombs with no tuning changes, granted I graphite the nut every time I play it.

tip of strat trem stuff: you must balance spring tension with string tension
DESTROYER5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 05:06 AM   #7
cha33 armstrong
has 2 UG medals
 
cha33 armstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: southampton
Ahh got ya
__________________
show
cha33 armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2013, 06:18 AM   #8
cha33 armstrong
has 2 UG medals
 
cha33 armstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: southampton
I never tend to divebomb I was just using it to do the vibrato on muse's knights of cydonia
__________________
show
cha33 armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.