Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 05-10-2013, 01:51 PM   #1
amatas83
VA shred head
 
amatas83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Monitors

question: could I mix monitor brands and still be ok for mixing?

Here's the deal, I had recently picked up some used Mackie 5" monitors found one doesn't work, I'm entertaining having it looked at if it's cost effective.

in my daily Craigslist browse I come across what appears to be a single KRK 5" monitor fro $60

could I run the working Mackie and this KRK and be ok? Specs are very close. The KRK low end is 53hz vice the Mackie 50Hz both max at 20kHz and are 75W

I am well aware this maybe the kind of question that desrves a smack across the face for such nonsense but won't know till I ask and it's such a steal for that monitor to temp fix my problem.
__________________
Live Rig:
Peavey VK (power amp)
R&R Amps SL/LD (preamp)
EB Volume
Zoom G3
Morpheus Dive bomber
Dunlop 95Q
Guitar-any in my stable
5150 Cab (V30/Sheffield X-pat)
amatas83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 02:04 PM   #2
Highelf04
UG's ONLY Batgirl
 
Highelf04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fighting the many Villains of Gotham
Tbh I'd personally pick it up anyway, for that price that's a steal imo

Also OT:- No, I personally don't think it'd be a good idea to run them stereo
You could try running them mono surely?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerOfGlove
i punched a shark once

in the balls

LEICESTER CITY


Like us on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/ClockHouseBand

Clockhouse is a thing
Find us
Listen to us
Love us
Highelf04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 02:25 PM   #3
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
 
Sid McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
That's not a good plan. You should try opening up the Mackie and see if there are any loose wires that need to be soldered, you could get lucky and find that it's a 5 minute fix that would otherwise be fairly costly.

Where did you get the Mackies? You should be able to return them unless it was Craigslist, in which case you should email/call the person and ask for your money back.

PS you can buy single monitors from most stores, so it shouldn't be difficult to get a new single Mackie by itself.
__________________
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Sid McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 03:44 PM   #4
amatas83
VA shred head
 
amatas83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
thanks Sid. I got them from a pawn shop so no beuno on returns. I'll open them and look and see maybe it is a loose wire which I can handle. I am also considering getting a single replacement if I need. Since it's all hobby work or for demos with my band it's not a huge need I still have my Senheiser HD280 cans.
__________________
Live Rig:
Peavey VK (power amp)
R&R Amps SL/LD (preamp)
EB Volume
Zoom G3
Morpheus Dive bomber
Dunlop 95Q
Guitar-any in my stable
5150 Cab (V30/Sheffield X-pat)
amatas83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:22 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.