Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 08-20-2013, 04:58 AM   #1
guitarpro2play
Registered User
 
guitarpro2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Some trouble with Digitech RP155

I have the RP155 digitech multi-effect pedal. Nice pedal, I'm satisfied. The only problem is that when I record in audacity (via USB), with a nice heavy metal preset I've created, the recorded sound sounds very bad, more like static noise. I have a beta firmware on the pedal, because with the latest update, I can't record..
guitarpro2play is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 05:29 AM   #2
GaryBillington
Grumpier than normal.
 
GaryBillington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Trow Vegas
What amp sim are you using?

Heavy effects will sound pretty bad if you don't have an amp added in the mix.
__________________
.
Gibson LP Studio x2, SG Special Plus, Midtown Custom
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30 210 + GS112VE cab
Jet City JCA22H
GaryBillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 06:14 AM   #3
guitarpro2play
Registered User
 
guitarpro2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryBillington
What amp sim are you using?

Heavy effects will sound pretty bad if you don't have an amp added in the mix.

I am not using any amp sim, because it sounds well without any. What shall I use?
guitarpro2play is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 06:39 AM   #4
GaryBillington
Grumpier than normal.
 
GaryBillington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Trow Vegas
So it sounds OK without an amp sim, but when you record it doesn't? Are you comparing the sound of your RP played through your amp to how it sounds recorded?

If I'm reading things wrong, I could be barking up the wrong tree. However, if what I just described is the case, an amp sim is definitely required - I'm not an expert on sims, but I believe Amplitude is free & regularly recommended, but there's a sticky dedicated to VSTs etc that you should probably read.

EDIT: Just noticed this is in GB&C, the VST sticky is in the recordings forum
__________________
.
Gibson LP Studio x2, SG Special Plus, Midtown Custom
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30 210 + GS112VE cab
Jet City JCA22H

Last edited by GaryBillington : 08-20-2013 at 07:06 AM.
GaryBillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 12:49 PM   #5
Invader Jim
Registered User
 
Invader Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
You could be overdriving your soundcard causing nasty clipping. Also you HAVE to have an amp or cab simulator for direct recording. Otherwise all you'll get is crap. If you're the do-it-yourself type then you can build one for alot less than you could buy one. Runoffgroove.com has a couple that are supposedly very good, though I haven't built them because I have no need for one.
__________________
The Wiring Thread
Invader Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.