Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-13-2013, 06:17 AM   #1
brothertupelo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
shorted out my amp

plugged in my amp with one of the tubes missing, not knowing the switch was on. hear a second of static then it went dead.
anyone with knowledge of amps, can you tell me which part i messed up, how to fix it, and about how much i'd expect a shop to charge me to fix it. it's a peavey classic 30.
brothertupelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:02 AM   #2
N_J_B_B
Nicko.
 
N_J_B_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Australia
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlackerBabbath
My ideal woman would be a grossly overweight woman who would happy go jogging, come home all sweaty and let me put my dick under her armpit while she shuffles a pack of cards.

Stay classy, pit.
N_J_B_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:26 AM   #3
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
check the fuses inside the amp and on the outside of the chassis first.
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
197? Sanox Sound Creator LP clone (GFS Fat Pat)
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 07:41 AM   #4
brothertupelo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
thanks for the update njbb. you're not a total douche.
brothertupelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 10:02 AM   #5
KG6_Steven
Serving Knowledge
 
KG6_Steven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Neither here nor there.
If it's not the fuse, then your best bet is to take it somewhere to have it fixed. Amp repair isn't something that we can talk you through. You do realize that a tube amp stores high voltages, even after you turn it off and unplug it. That's why I won't talk you through a repair job on it.

Reinstall the tube, or replace it and check the fuse. Still doesn't work? Take it somewhere and spend the cash. Curious... which tube did you have pulled? Power?
KG6_Steven is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2013, 04:29 PM   #6
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
It shouldn't blow a fuse for a missing tube.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.