Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 12-07-2012, 07:56 PM   #1
Wrst_Plyr_Evr
UG's resident ska kid
 
Wrst_Plyr_Evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Visalia
Phase 90 isn't working the way it probably should

So I was toying around with my Phase 90 today and noticed that I couldn't get the effect to take until I maxed out the knob. In which case it sounded like it should sound with the knob maxed out. So that means I need a new pot, right?
Wrst_Plyr_Evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:12 PM   #2
Carl21221
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Firstly make sure you put it in the effects loop first. Usually modulation effects are more defined when run after the amps distortion and EQ.
__________________
Guitars: Ibanez GRG170DX & Schecter Demon-7 & Schecter C-1 Elite
Pedals: Korg Pitchblack > Joyo Vintage OD > Tc Electronic Flashback > Boss NS-2
Peavey 6505+ 112
Roland Cube 30X
Carl21221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:17 PM   #3
Wrst_Plyr_Evr
UG's resident ska kid
 
Wrst_Plyr_Evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Visalia
It would probably help if I had a loop. Unless a Hot Rod DeVille has one that I don't know about. Shit.
Wrst_Plyr_Evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 08:37 PM   #4
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
loop shouldn't matter. i run my phase 90 clone (joyo... far as i'm aware, it's a clone, anyway) in front of my amps to do the van halen thing and it still sounds like a phaser.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
Rob Chappers would tell you he couldn't tell a cat from a dog if it would get him more hits on youtube.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:22 AM   #5
Charvel1995
Ronda Rousey Fanboy
 
Charvel1995's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London, ON
I don't run mine in the loop either.. Maybe try a different battery in the pedal, a new pot may be in order as well.
__________________
Main Rig:

Epiphone MKH Les Paul Custom 7 - Ronda
Ibanez RG8 "Scarlet" - AKA The Rambanez
Fender Strat "Danielle"/"Dani"
Line 6 POD HD Pro
Randall XL 4x12

Come join us... [/SIZE]

Purchase list: Jim Root Tele, Jim Root Jazzmaster, MTM20
Charvel1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:27 AM   #6
Telecaster7
Call me Leon
 
Telecaster7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
I'm pretty sure DeVilles do have an effects loop. Pre-amp out is send and power-amp in is return.
Telecaster7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:48 PM   #7
dj1991
Registered User
 
dj1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Still, Phasers are one of those modulation effects that most people seem to agree sounds better before any dirt. Remember that pedal placement is all subjective and is only limited to what sounds good to the player.

Anyway back on topic, check the battery if you're using one. If its a fresh battery or you're using a power supply then I would bet on the pot, which is cheap enough to justify replacing to see if thats the problem. If replacing the pot does not work and its not a vintage unit than any further repairs wouldn't be worth the cost. At that point just replace it.
dj1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:14 PM   #8
Wrst_Plyr_Evr
UG's resident ska kid
 
Wrst_Plyr_Evr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Visalia
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj1991
Still, Phasers are one of those modulation effects that most people seem to agree sounds better before any dirt. Remember that pedal placement is all subjective and is only limited to what sounds good to the player.

Anyway back on topic, check the battery if you're using one. If its a fresh battery or you're using a power supply then I would bet on the pot, which is cheap enough to justify replacing to see if thats the problem. If replacing the pot does not work and its not a vintage unit than any further repairs wouldn't be worth the cost. At that point just replace it.


I'm completely new to soldering and modding pedals. Is switching out the pot something that I can do myself or is it something that I should just get a tech to do?

Wrst_EDIT_Evr:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telecaster7
I'm pretty sure DeVilles do have an effects loop. Pre-amp out is send and power-amp in is return.


That's what I thought. But I have a bad habit of second guessing myself.
Wrst_Plyr_Evr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:09 AM   #9
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
if you can't solder at all it'd probably be safer to get someone to do it. I'm not sure pedals (and especially a pedal that you probably don't want to banjax up) are the place to start for learning soldering.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
Rob Chappers would tell you he couldn't tell a cat from a dog if it would get him more hits on youtube.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:07 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.