Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 06-26-2013, 04:10 PM   #1
francesco18
galloping E|-0-0-0-0
 
francesco18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: House of Low Culture
Is there a way to change settings in real time on a vst effect pedal ??

Like i'm playing with, let's say, a delay vst on and I want to change settings on the fly while i'm playing...how can I do it without using automation which only lets you have the desired changes in a fixed timeline. I want to be able to turn the knobs on my vst pedals whenever I want like I do with my real pedals.
__________________
yo dawg, I heard you like masterpieces : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyX7vc0k5_k


Michael Gira in a nutshell
francesco18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 04:23 PM   #2
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
 
Sid McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Connect via MIDI? I'm not sure what kind of VST pedals you're talking about, could you detail your rig and what kind of applications (gigging, recording) this is for?
__________________
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Sid McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 05:45 PM   #3
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
You can get midi control pedals, but they're quite expensive. Or if you have a midi keyboard you can use the dials and switches on that to control them. Any midi input device will work. You could even use an xbox360 controller as I think there are midi drivers for them.
__________________
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 07:47 PM   #4
DisarmGoliath
Disarms Goliaths
 
DisarmGoliath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Birmingham, UK
Depending on your DAW, you can map parameters to pretty much any device connected to your computer. Should be easy enough to find in the user manual/online guide if you search for it (maybe start with 'mapping MIDI device controls in _______' or something).
__________________

Music Stuff

Facebook - Website - YouTube

DisarmGoliath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 08:28 PM   #5
francesco18
galloping E|-0-0-0-0
 
francesco18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: House of Low Culture
My DAW is Reaper, and of course I have a Midi Controller...but I have no idea how to map/bind, let's say, the ''feedback'' knob/parameter of the vst delay pedal to my C4 or D3 key on my midi keyboard. Anyway I'm gonna try ''Mapping MIDI device in Reaper'' on google, thanks.
__________________
yo dawg, I heard you like masterpieces : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyX7vc0k5_k


Michael Gira in a nutshell

Last edited by francesco18 : 06-26-2013 at 08:30 PM.
francesco18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 03:51 AM   #6
xxdarrenxx
UG Fanatic
 
xxdarrenxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Just take the time too learn the mappings in Reaper.

If you are lazy/don't wanna put in the time, you could always switch to Ableton live.

Cmd + M key on mac ---> click parameter in live --> press/twist button on physical device --> Linked.

EDIT Just opened Reaper to check for you, because..:

- In reaper open the action tab.
- Search for the parameter in Reaper.
- Click it and press add... (lower left corner).
- Then just twist the knob on your Midi keyboard.


3rd EDIT
with VST pedal you mean the plugin interface right? didn't read correctly.

Then above info should work.

If it does..

..you can use keys, but think about the logic. If you assign it to a rotary knob (like every knob on a pedal ever), then pressing the Controller key will increase it probably with just 1 increment per press (or does nothing at all), which is an impossible workflow if "easy and fast" is what you're going for.

Best have rotary knobs on your midi controller for that.

You could also make entire presets, and link those to your keys, which is probably best.

__________________

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[FONT=Palatino Linotype
[COLOR=DarkRed]Who's Andy Timmons??
[/SIZE][/B]

Last edited by xxdarrenxx : 06-27-2013 at 04:26 AM.
xxdarrenxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 12:08 PM   #7
francesco18
galloping E|-0-0-0-0
 
francesco18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: House of Low Culture
thanks man, i'm going to try that.
__________________
yo dawg, I heard you like masterpieces : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyX7vc0k5_k


Michael Gira in a nutshell
francesco18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:56 PM   #8
jof1029
GO HOKIES!
 
jof1029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Atl, GA
I don't have a midi controller, but if you open up an envelope, you should be able to map that. so click the env button on the track with the effect, find the parameter and click learn. based on the description in the window that pops up, I assume that does what you want.
__________________
I hope you meet someone your height
So you can see eye-to-eye
With someone as small as you

I have donated 3920 grains of rice!
jof1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:55 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.