Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-18-2012, 10:46 PM   #1
CannaBisquits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Amp Problem. Please help!!

Not sure if this is the right place to post but im in need of some help. My Valveking head started acting strange at practice tonight. When i first cut it on i played about 10 mins and it sounded fine. Tried to play the next song and started to notice that my gain and tone was getting weaker. All of a sudden the output dropped my clean channel was non existent unless i cranked the channel to 10, my gain channel lost all distortion and sounded clean but was still loud, and it eventually dropped in volume similar to my clean.
Now i changed the pre amp tubes a few weeks ago because my clean channel was distorted and my gain channel was way too noisy. The tube change solved those issues. With this new issue i have no idea whats going on. The power tubes all glow as well as the preamp tubes, tried plugging into another cab, tried a different guitar, tried different preamp tubes, plugged directly into the amp and none of this alleviated the issue. If anyone has any suggestions to try or have any idea what the issue could be please help me out.
CannaBisquits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:12 PM   #2
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Did you try new power tubes?

Just to be sure you changed all the preamp tubes including the PI?

Did you try a new speaker cable? (Head)

New instrument cable ? Wiggle at the input jack?

Do you try another guitar?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:30 PM   #3
CannaBisquits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
When I changed the preamp tubes I changed all of them. I tried a different speaker cable and guitar. Can I use any preamp tube for the pi? Don't have any spare power tubes to try. But all the power tubes glow and the fuse wasn't blown
CannaBisquits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 01:11 AM   #4
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by CannaBisquits
When I changed the preamp tubes I changed all of them. I tried a different speaker cable and guitar. Can I use any preamp tube for the pi? Don't have any spare power tubes to try. But all the power tubes glow and the fuse wasn't blown


Did you put the old tubes back in?

Yes you can use a preamp tube for the PI.

Also post your question in the valve king thread. More people might read it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.

Last edited by R45VT : 11-19-2012 at 01:13 AM.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:04 AM   #5
BruceWillisman
Your My Die Hard 3
 
BruceWillisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Jersey
what you really need is a new amp
__________________
They don't sleep anymore on the beach..
BruceWillisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 02:07 AM   #6
tukk04
UG's Neil Young
 
tukk04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
^save it for the "line 6 vs mg" types please, ts has a legit question.

Check yer fuses

It could be a blown power filtering cap also, causing some or all of your tubes to lose voltage and only work at partial power.
__________________
Reverbnation
Facebook

Soundcloud

Last edited by tukk04 : 11-19-2012 at 02:12 AM.
tukk04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 10:47 AM   #7
CannaBisquits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Valvekings are descent if you know how to push them. Od and a graphic eq works wonders. But I've never changed the output tubes and they are the stock rubys. Preamp tubes are groove gold series r's. Is there more than 1 fuse? If so where?
CannaBisquits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:32 PM   #8
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by CannaBisquits
Valvekings are descent if you know how to push them. Od and a graphic eq works wonders. But I've never changed the output tubes and they are the stock rubys. Preamp tubes are groove gold series r's. Is there more than 1 fuse? If so where?


I don't think a fuse is blown. Short of pulling your amp apart I would get new power tubes. At a minimum you should always have a set for testing.

As the guy above said you could have bad filter caps as well.

Are you sure its not your input jack? Have you tried wiggling it?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 12:40 PM   #9
CannaBisquits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Yeah tried wiggling both inputs. Hope its is the tubes. Just wondering, could a power tube fail and still light up?
CannaBisquits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 01:13 PM   #10
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by CannaBisquits
Yeah tried wiggling both inputs. Hope its is the tubes. Just wondering, could a power tube fail and still light up?


Yes. The heaters are the part you see light up.

Find the valve king thread and post in there. More people might help.
http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/foru...52#post30626052
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.

Last edited by R45VT : 11-19-2012 at 01:26 PM.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 01:36 PM   #11
311ZOSOVHJH
G G & A - B A B Y
 
311ZOSOVHJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Offline
I'm guessing it needs new power tubes anyway. Get some JJs
__________________
311ZOSOVHJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 01:44 PM   #12
tubetime86
I don't even play guitar.
 
tubetime86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Biscuits is spelled with a 'C,' you got biscuits confused with Bisquick. That is all.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raijouta
Unless its electronic drums.

BURN THE WITCH!!!!!
tubetime86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:54 AM   #13
CannaBisquits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Well tried some new tubes it powered up and played very quietly. But now my tubes don't light up anymore preamp or power
CannaBisquits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:54 AM   #14
CannaBisquits
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Well tried some new tubes it powered up and played very quietly. But now my tubes don't light up anymore preamp or power
CannaBisquits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:09 PM   #15
311ZOSOVHJH
G G & A - B A B Y
 
311ZOSOVHJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Offline
you put new power tubes in?

were they matched? where did you get them?

you may have a dead fuse now or something.

power plugged in?
__________________
311ZOSOVHJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:36 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.