Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-17-2012, 02:23 PM   #1
FenrirFangs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Rack/Technology n00bz help! (POD Content)

Okay, so I decided that I'm going to off the Jet City. I was going to send it to Titan amps to be modified, but I think what I'm trying to do is take an amp that I like okay, and try and make it into something I like a lot, and after thinking it over, I don't wanna do that.

So, I decided I'm just going to use my POD HD500 for live stuff, as it gets the tones I need, and I'm not a huge tone-freak, as long as it sounds good, I'm going to be the only one that can tell the difference.

What do I need to run it live? I know I need a power amp, but can I run it through the cab. I honestly could probably find it in the manual, but I always struggle with the wording. I was hoping someone could explain everything to me like I'm a 3rd grader.

I was also hoping for some direction as to a good preamp for old school metal. Looking Maiden stuff along with more Ratt stuff.

Thanks guys,

Nova

Last edited by FenrirFangs : 11-17-2012 at 02:27 PM.
FenrirFangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:47 PM   #2
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
use your jet city and go in the FX loop return (if it is not the JCA 20h)
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:07 PM   #3
Viban
UG's resident bum
 
Viban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
You could sell the amp and cab and get a couple powered monitors, you might be happier with the outcome of that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by R45VT
Bastards.
Viban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:40 PM   #4
FenrirFangs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I am most definitely getting rid of my Jet City and a Marshall cab. I need the money regardless. So, can I run a power amp and my Line 6 through my Mesa 2x12?

I'm also gonna steer clear of monitors right now. I am pretty set on the POD/Power amp combo.
FenrirFangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:53 PM   #5
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by FenrirFangs
I am most definitely getting rid of my Jet City and a Marshall cab. I need the money regardless. So, can I run a power amp and my Line 6 through my Mesa 2x12?

I'm also gonna steer clear of monitors right now. I am pretty set on the POD/Power amp combo.


yeah, it depends on how you wanna go with it.

if you wanna run the Line 6 into a power amp, then you need to decide what kinda power amp to go with. some people would prefer to get a tube power amp, but i see that as a little unnecessary since the HD500 would have the amp emulation anyway. i use a crown power amp myself, they are quality and fairly light. you could also go used and pick up a good power amp for pretty cheap (like 200 to 300 bucks).

i'd try to match the power amp to the mesa cab's rated power handling (which might not be more than 150 watts).

if you want to use the mesa cab, then you'd also wanna disable any cabinet modeling in the HD500 (not sure if it even has any).
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 10:51 PM   #6
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Just buy a decent powered wedge and you're set to go. You'll want one with a 12" speaker and at least 100W, smaller ones normally sound like crap. I'm sure there are some exceptions to that but I'm yet to see a small wedge that holds a candle to a good 100W to 200W 12" wedge.
You say you want to stay clear of monitors - why? It's the correct answer. Or were you meaning studio type monitors rather than stage monitors? A proper stage monitor (wedge) is what you need.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification

Last edited by Cathbard : 11-17-2012 at 10:54 PM.
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:29 AM   #7
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Look at some older Peavey 30/30 or 50/50 power amps you can normally find them for <$250 and they are tube power amps which will get you the most out of your L6 POD HD.
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 12:20 PM   #8
FenrirFangs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Just buy a decent powered wedge and you're set to go. You'll want one with a 12" speaker and at least 100W, smaller ones normally sound like crap. I'm sure there are some exceptions to that but I'm yet to see a small wedge that holds a candle to a good 100W to 200W 12" wedge.
You say you want to stay clear of monitors - why? It's the correct answer. Or were you meaning studio type monitors rather than stage monitors? A proper stage monitor (wedge) is what you need.



Would I be able to use these monitors as studio monitors as well? I know nothing about stuff like is.
FenrirFangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 12:23 PM   #9
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
You can but they aren't really designed to be used that way. They aren't accurate like studio monitors. They are designed to be loud on stage, not used in a studio. If you want studio monitors buy studio monitors, if you want stage monitors buy stage monitors.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 12:24 PM   #10
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by FenrirFangs
Would I be able to use these monitors as studio monitors as well? I know nothing about stuff like is.

Powered monitors work just fine, but since you have a 2x12 cab already, I highly sugest that you look in to the Peavey 50/50 power amps. this setup will sound better than just a powered monitor (which will sound fine also).
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:50 PM   #11
FenrirFangs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbgnarly
Powered monitors work just fine, but since you have a 2x12 cab already, I highly sugest that you look in to the Peavey 50/50 power amps. this setup will sound better than just a powered monitor (which will sound fine also).


That's why I was confused when Cathbard said I should get studio monitors. I already have a Mesa 2x12, why pay for stuff I don't need? Thanks a lot for the Peavey suggestion. That seems to be the general consensus everywhere!
FenrirFangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 08:28 PM   #12
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by FenrirFangs
That's why I was confused when Cathbard said I should get studio monitors. I already have a Mesa 2x12, why pay for stuff I don't need? Thanks a lot for the Peavey suggestion. That seems to be the general consensus everywhere!


when you use a full modeling system it will simulate the pedals, amp (preamp and power amp), cabinet, speakers and even the mic placement. if that is the case, then the system you want to use to amplify would ideally be a 'flat response' system (with minimal coloration and more exact signal reproduction) and studio monitors are very much designed to be a flat response system.

no stage monitors are more geared toward volume, while they may be full range they are not exactly a flat response (some frequencies may be cut and some others may be enhanced). unfortunately a studio monitoring system usually has a much low sensitivity.

i am guessing that when cath recommended a studio monitor setup, he was stressing flat response over volume.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:01 PM   #13
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Correct. You don't need gigging volumes in a studio, you want accuracy. You don't need studio accuracy on stage, you want volume.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:24 AM   #14
FenrirFangs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Thanks a lot for the help guys!
FenrirFangs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:26 AM   #15
tubetime86
I don't even play guitar.
 
tubetime86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
If you found a used Crate Powerblock that would be the cheapest solution.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raijouta
Unless its electronic drums.

BURN THE WITCH!!!!!
tubetime86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:21 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.