Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 02-10-2013, 05:42 AM   #1
Kayde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
HELP with guitar cab !

I bought a new marshall 1960a lead cab approximatly 6 months ago. I was stupidly told by the music shop to have the cab in stereo and connect both the amp outputs to the cab inputs, Connecting my solid state marshall mosfet lead 100. This ment 4 ohms from the head was going into 8ohms with one jack which is fine however it ment 16 OHMS WAS GOING INTO 8OHMS WITH THE OTHER JACK!!!!??? Using this the cab has been playing at high volumes with both tube amps and my solid state however i am unsure the ohms on the tube amps.
Should i get the cab checked, thanks
Kayde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 05:47 AM   #2
DeathByDestroyr
not autistic
 
DeathByDestroyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minnesota
A stereo cab should have two completely different circuits, both 8 ohms? Normally you can (I think this is how it goes) have your cab pulling more ohms than the head, which is fine, but not optimal.

Are they wired in series or parallel? 8 ohm speakers?

If your not sure bring it in.
DeathByDestroyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 05:55 AM   #3
Kayde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
parallel
Kayde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 05:56 AM   #4
Kayde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
And 8ohm when in stereo
Kayde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 05:58 AM   #5
DeathByDestroyr
not autistic
 
DeathByDestroyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minnesota
Oh, you where thinking that this meant the output transformer would be putting out different ohms? No, it won't. Your fine.
DeathByDestroyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:00 AM   #6
Kayde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
I ment the out puts on the head where 8 and 16 so one would connect 8 and 8 which is fine but the other was 16 ohm from head going into 8 ohms in cab
Kayde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:01 AM   #7
Kayde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
when in mono you get a choice on the cab of 4 ohms or 16 but i had in stereo which gave 8 and 8 ohm
Kayde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:06 AM   #8
DeathByDestroyr
not autistic
 
DeathByDestroyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minnesota
Ok, I'm rusty on this so bear with me.

Two 8-ohm speakers wired in parallel will result in 4 ohms, while in series will result in 16 ohms. Right?

So you have 16 ohm speakers?

Also, don't run 16 ohms into 8 ohms. Just use the one jack.
DeathByDestroyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:15 AM   #9
Kayde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
ok sorry im a begginer yes they are 16ohm so should i get it checked or is it fine.
thanks
Kayde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:19 AM   #10
DeathByDestroyr
not autistic
 
DeathByDestroyr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minnesota
It should be fine just DO NOT run 16 ohms into 8 ohms-you'll fry your output transformer.
DeathByDestroyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:52 AM   #11
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
use The 16ohm output on your amp into the 16ohm mono input on your cab.
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 10:41 AM   #12
Kayde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Also if it has damaged the output transformer how would i know, aswell Would the damage from miss matching the ohm values effect the sound or damage the speakers, if so how would i tell
Thanks Kayde
Kayde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 12:58 PM   #13
Kayde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
anyone?
Kayde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:21 PM   #14
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
there is a bunch of confusion in this thread, let's try to sort it all out.

Marshall 1960a Lead Cab:
-uses 16 ohm speakers
-has a mono 16 ohm input (wired in series-parallel)
-has a mono 4 ohm input (wired in parallel)
-has stereo 8 ohm inputs (two speakers wired in parallel)

Marshall Mosfet Lead 100:
Quote:
Originally Posted by internet
3210 Lead 100 MOSFET, 100W head

The 3210 head was introduced in 1984 and discontinued in 1991. It is capable of delivering 100W in a 4Ω load. It was meant for use with the 1965A & 1965B 4x10" cabinets or the 1966A & 1966B 2x12" cabinets. It was the head version of the 5215 combo.

-solid state, has no output transformer, must meet minimum impedance (4 ohms)
-100W @ 4 ohms, 80W @ 8 ohms, 50W at 16 ohm (from manual)
-both outputs on the head are connected in parallel

so, we'd need to know exactly what the cabinet was set to in order to let you know how you really had it set up. the cab can only provide 4, 8 or 16 ohms, it cannot provide a mix of impedances (like it can't provide 8 ohm and 16 ohm, or 4 ohm and 16 ohm loads at the same time.

taking this into consideration: no matter how you were hooking it up, i couldn't imagine you really damaging it. providing no load to a SS amp is no big deal, providing excess impedance beyond the min impedance just decreases the output of the amp, and you didn't have a combination of speaker that could provide a load below the min required... so i'd say there was no real way for you to damage your equipment.

now, for hooking up the cabinet:
use a speaker cable (speaker cable is different from instrument cable you use for guitar) to hook one of the speaker outputs of the Mosfet 100 to the 4 ohm mono input of the cabinet. this will provide 100 watts. if you want less output, switch the cabinet over to 16 ohm mode and you'll just get 50 watts of output.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae

Last edited by gumbilicious : 02-12-2013 at 02:22 PM.
gumbilicious is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:34 PM   #15
Kayde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thank you makes sense!!
I dont no how you would say the cab was set up i just had both amp outputs running into both cab inputs with the cab set on stereo.
Kayde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:38 PM   #16
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayde
Thank you makes sense!!
I dont no how you would say the cab was set up i just had both amp outputs running into both cab inputs with the cab set on stereo.


then the cabinet would have been providing 4 ohms total. that is just a more convoluted way of setting the cab to 4 ohm mono, running into the cabinet on stereo mode requires an extra cable too. save yourself the necessity of running two cables and just use one cable with the cabinet on mono-4 ohm mode.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:41 PM   #17
Kayde
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Should of mentioned i had both the cables in when using in stereo before, so fair to say the cab will be fine?
Kayde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:45 PM   #18
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayde
Should of mentioned i had both the cables in when using in stereo before, so fair to say the cab will be fine?


yeah, that is really no issue at all.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 02:49 PM   #19
667
The Neighbor of the Beast
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kayde
Also if it has damaged the output transformer how would i know, aswell Would the damage from miss matching the ohm values effect the sound or damage the speakers, if so how would i tell
Thanks Kayde



You don't have to worry about damage to the speakers - just the amp.
667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.