Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-17-2012, 01:33 PM   #1
User_Name336
I have e coli (see below)
 
User_Name336's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: At home I believe... Wait... THIS ISN'T HOME! AHHHHHH!
8 ohm head, 16 ohm cab. help?

i picked up a cab a few weeks ago (krank revolution 412 with the eminence legend v12) because i personally feel these speakers are better sounding than v30s (but lets not get into that arguement here). i knew the cab was only 16 ohm and that was fine until i sold my head. now i'm looking at getting two different amp heads, but both are vintage, and both are 8ohm. i dont want to mod the heads.

is there anything i can do that i can use these heads with this cab?
__________________


My Youtube channel for covers: http://www.youtube.com/user/ThroughFallenEyes
User_Name336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 02:39 PM   #2
Perverockstar69
Registered User
 
Perverockstar69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
You'll be alright man , connect it! My amps out is at 8ohm and I have a 16ohm cab too, it's working awesome.
__________________

Mesa Royal Atlantic
Laney LC15R
Orange PPC212OB
Gibson SG Standard
LTD Viper-500
Catalinbread Ottava Magus
Jim Dunlop CFH
MXR Carbon Copy
EHX Epitome
EHX Superego
Fuzzhugger Algal Bloom
Ibanez TS9DX (mods)
Perverockstar69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:04 PM   #3
forsaknazrael
..kupo?
 
forsaknazrael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
It's not a great idea, an impedance mismatch is extra stress on the head.

What kind of heads don't have multiple impedance outs?


There's this, but since a 1:2 mismatch like yours is technically safe, it's not really necessary.
https://taweber.powweb.com/store/zmatch.htm
forsaknazrael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:06 PM   #4
Perverockstar69
Registered User
 
Perverockstar69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Well, my Mesa can handle that mismatch with no trouble at all...
__________________

Mesa Royal Atlantic
Laney LC15R
Orange PPC212OB
Gibson SG Standard
LTD Viper-500
Catalinbread Ottava Magus
Jim Dunlop CFH
MXR Carbon Copy
EHX Epitome
EHX Superego
Fuzzhugger Algal Bloom
Ibanez TS9DX (mods)
Perverockstar69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:09 PM   #5
forsaknazrael
..kupo?
 
forsaknazrael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
I'm not saying it can't handle it, I'm saying it's not a good idea. It's technically a safe mismatch, but I personally would never do that to my amp if I didn't have to.
forsaknazrael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:16 PM   #6
User_Name336
I have e coli (see below)
 
User_Name336's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: At home I believe... Wait... THIS ISN'T HOME! AHHHHHH!
Quote:
Originally Posted by forsaknazrael
It's not a great idea, an impedance mismatch is extra stress on the head.

What kind of heads don't have multiple impedance outs?


There's this, but since a 1:2 mismatch like yours is technically safe, it's not really necessary.
https://taweber.powweb.com/store/zmatch.htm

like i mentioned in the original post, its vintage gear. ones from the early 60s, ones from the late 70s/early 80s. the newer of the two can go 4 or 8 ohm, the other is strictly 8 ohm. my cab is only rated at 16 ohm. thats why i was asking
__________________


My Youtube channel for covers: http://www.youtube.com/user/ThroughFallenEyes
User_Name336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:41 PM   #7
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perverockstar69
Well, my Mesa can handle that mismatch with no trouble at all...

Yes and some amps handle it just fine, others will blow the OT. Its best to find out what amp he is looking at before you assume things.........
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
197? Sanox Sound Creator LP clone (GFS Fat Pat)
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:44 PM   #8
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
TS you can rewire the cab to be 4ohm though and then you won't have the worries of missmatching.

I have a rev 4x12 I bought 3 1/2 yrs ago and I absolutely love it.
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
197? Sanox Sound Creator LP clone (GFS Fat Pat)
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:50 PM   #9
User_Name336
I have e coli (see below)
 
User_Name336's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: At home I believe... Wait... THIS ISN'T HOME! AHHHHHH!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbgnarly
Yes and some amps handle it just fine, others will blow the OT. Its best to find out what amp he is looking at before you assume things.........

i would rather not risk it. i want to know what i could do about the cab. i trade a lot of gear and i came into these two amps, and i'm considering keeping one.

that being said, i looked into the weber z matcher by a previous poster and it looks great. i'm just wondering if theres another way around it. i dont have too much cash to get one shipped to me (i'm in canada). is there a way to rewire my cab so i could have multiple different inputs? say one of them is 4 ohm in, one is 16 ohm in? or 8 ohm in?
__________________


My Youtube channel for covers: http://www.youtube.com/user/ThroughFallenEyes
User_Name336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 03:52 PM   #10
User_Name336
I have e coli (see below)
 
User_Name336's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: At home I believe... Wait... THIS ISN'T HOME! AHHHHHH!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbgnarly
TS you can rewire the cab to be 4ohm though and then you won't have the worries of missmatching.

I have a rev 4x12 I bought 3 1/2 yrs ago and I absolutely love it.

you posted while i was typing! haha! would you mind just telling me how i could rewire it? a personal message (or here) is fine
__________________


My Youtube channel for covers: http://www.youtube.com/user/ThroughFallenEyes
User_Name336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 04:12 PM   #11
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by User_Name336
you posted while i was typing! haha! would you mind just telling me how i could rewire it? a personal message (or here) is fine


well, if you want a bunch of options

http://www.colomar.com/Shavano/4x12wiring.html

i'd recommend some kinda series, parallel, mono/stereo option. that way you could have a mono 16 and 4 ohm option with a stereo 8 ohm option.

http://www.mojotone.com/amp-parts/J...-4#.UKfvZ4WkD-k
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 05:09 PM   #12
forsaknazrael
..kupo?
 
forsaknazrael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by User_Name336
like i mentioned in the original post, its vintage gear. ones from the early 60s, ones from the late 70s/early 80s. the newer of the two can go 4 or 8 ohm, the other is strictly 8 ohm. my cab is only rated at 16 ohm. thats why i was asking


I wanted to know the brand and model, obviously....

a 16 ohm 4x12 can be rewired as 4 ohm btw. I'd do that.
forsaknazrael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:02 PM   #13
311ZOSOVHJH
G G & A - B A B Y
 
311ZOSOVHJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by User_Name336
412

is there anything i can do that i can use these heads with this cab?

Are you wanting the ability to switch back and forth between heads?

What gumbi said is what I was thinking. Wire 2 of speakers in parallel for 8 ohms and then wire the other 2 speakers in parallel for your other 8 ohms. Bam! fixed

You can get a mono/stereo jack plate similar to most Marshall cabs.
__________________
311ZOSOVHJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:09 PM   #14
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by 311ZOSOVHJH
Are you wanting the ability to switch back and forth between heads?

What gumbi said is what I was thinking. Wire 2 of speakers in parallel for 8 ohms and then wire the other 2 speakers in parallel for your other 8 ohms. Bam! fixed

You can get a mono/stereo jack plate similar to most Marshall cabs.


that jack plate even allows for a series and parallel wiring, then you'd have just about every option available too.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 06:14 PM   #15
Ippon
Amped
 
Ippon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Left Coast
From another thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ippon
Slow day.

Amp techs: I know speakons are ideal if you have a 500W and up Bass head driving a 500W and up cab, and to use 12 gauge wire for the speakers.

Do I need speakons if the head is 200W and below but driving 800W and up?
__________________
Who To Listen To EG/GG&A and GB&C .. 7/ERG Field Marshall .. e-peen
Ippon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 08:08 PM   #16
User_Name336
I have e coli (see below)
 
User_Name336's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: At home I believe... Wait... THIS ISN'T HOME! AHHHHHH!
thanks for all the help. i've looked over the links and thats exactly the sort of thing i was looking for. i want to be able to wire it so i can use multiple different amps i may acquire over time.

as for exactly which amps i was referring to, they are a fender bandmaster reverb, a marshall artist 3203, and then a few more modern amps that i can actually use without issue. these two were my problem though. but the issue lies in that i trade a lot of gear trying to find exactly whats right for me, so i would like to have a cab that can actually work with just about anything i get. i feel like a rewiring to 4/8/16 ohms all in one jack plate will probably get it done

once again, thanks for the help
__________________


My Youtube channel for covers: http://www.youtube.com/user/ThroughFallenEyes
User_Name336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:35 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.