Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Gear Building & Customizing
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 05-29-2014, 11:54 AM   #3841
-MintSauce-
Time Lord
 
-MintSauce-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by 457undead
Is wood expensive for making anything in general?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Preacher403
Sometimes. Yes. No.

Want to get a little more specific? I'm not surprised nobody answered this question in the quick questions thread.


You need to be more specific and more patient. This thread isn't quick in the respect that anwers are given promptly, but that the questions are too small to justify a dedicated thread.

Tonewood is usually expensive because of the type of cut and figuring. The cuts that give stability have a lower yield from a log, and good figure is obviously rare. Add that to any voodoo about tone and you get lots of money.
-MintSauce- is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 03:49 PM   #3842
doubtfulsalmon
______________
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I'm looking to replace the input and output jacks on my korg monotron delay because they're a bit dodgy and I'm rehousing it for further mods, I've got a schematic but I'm just checking I'm interpreting it correctly (I'm fairly new to this kind of thing)

http://www.korg-datastorage.jp/Manu...20DELAY_sch.pdf

Am I correct in thinking only the ring connections are switched on the jacks? Also would it be ok to replace both input and output with mono jacks? (no need for stereo in the application I use it). Thanks.
__________________
words words words
doubtfulsalmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 07:27 PM   #3843
Invader Jim
Jim'll fix it.
 
Invader Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Chamber of Understanding
Pic of the jacks? I can't tell from the diagram what type they are supposed to be. Never seen them with 4 contacts before (except in smartphones and an mp3 player once)...
__________________
The Wiring Thread

Another forced hiatus...
Invader Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 03:49 AM   #3844
doubtfulsalmon
______________
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Here's what they look like http://www.avalon-zone.be/blog/wp-c...ron_unboxed.jpg

I know I thought it was weird too. The other thing that I found weird is that the instruction manual explicitly states to only use a stereo jack in the sockets but as far as I can tell there isn't any need to.
__________________
words words words
doubtfulsalmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 04:45 PM   #3845
Invader Jim
Jim'll fix it.
 
Invader Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Chamber of Understanding
Yeah those are the same jacks I thought they'd be. Honestly I'd use the same type if possible. Buuut... if you cut the traces to the ring contact on both of them you may be able to use normal 1/4" mono jacks, since you are using this for something non-stereo.

The jacks have 4 connections: frame (idk what else to call it), sleeve, ring, and tip, in that order starting from the front of the jack. For normal mono and stereo plugs, the frame and sleeve will always be connected when the plug is inserted, so idk why they made it so that Q10 and the junction of R84/R85 are floating when no plug is inserted, as inserting a plug will always ground them.

As it sits, with no mods, using a mono plug in these jacks would be less than desirable. For the headphone jack, it would essentially ground the output of one of the amps in the power amp IC. You'd probably need a new power amp chip if this one has no short-circuit protection. For the line in jack, it would end up shorting across R56, causing the junction of R41/R42/C15 to be grounded, changing the gain and frequency response of the stage around IC4D (or possibly making it go crazy or just become inoperable).

At least that's how I read it. I could be wrong.
__________________
The Wiring Thread

Another forced hiatus...
Invader Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 05:03 PM   #3846
doubtfulsalmon
______________
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Cool, thanks for your help. I'll try and track down some sockets with the right number of connections.
__________________
words words words
doubtfulsalmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2014, 07:04 PM   #3847
Helicopters!
You need a new amp.
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Texas
Where can I get a rattle can that's as close as possible in hue to Fender's Lake Placid Blue that also has a bit of glitter to it? I'm refinishing a strat right now and I'm obsessed with the color but I would go bananas if I could get it to sparkle too.
Helicopters! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 04:03 PM   #3848
Verbal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Noob setup question:

Is it a good idea to let guitar/bass rest between string changes when going from low tuned high gauge strings to standard tuned light gauge strings?

I'm doing both guitar and bass
Verbal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2014, 07:44 PM   #3849
CameronRose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Hi guys, building up a PRS style copy over the next few months. I have a question regarding the bridge: there are no pre drilled holes for a bridge on the body I have, should I drill the holes for the bridge and set the neck before or after I clear coat the body and back of the neck?
CameronRose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 04:01 PM   #3850
Invader Jim
Jim'll fix it.
 
Invader Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Chamber of Understanding
Helicopters: you'll probably have to look at car paint suppliers. I don't have any experience in that area though.

Verbal: It's not a bad idea. The neck will settle eventually no matter what, though.

CameronRose: Do all the drilling and tooling before you paint the guitar. Then, if needed, you can clean out any paint in the body holes. This way you can do all your layout markings on the bare wood and erase them when you are done and not have to worry about messing up the finish.
__________________
The Wiring Thread

Another forced hiatus...
Invader Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 04:32 AM   #3851
CameronRose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Invader Jim - thankyou for your reply, in that case I assume that it would be a wise move to set the neck first of all and then tape it off when I paint the guitar?
CameronRose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 07:44 PM   #3852
Invader Jim
Jim'll fix it.
 
Invader Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Chamber of Understanding
If the neck is to be glued in (not a bolt-on) then yes, you glue it up and then paint the guitar. That way the finish will cover the neck joint and it will look like one piece of wood. If you paint the two separately then you'll have a very visible seam where theywere and it won't look right.
__________________
The Wiring Thread

Another forced hiatus...
Invader Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 12:25 AM   #3853
CameronRose
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Thankyou, seems obvious now!
CameronRose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 06:42 PM   #3854
1funnyguy99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Hi! I'm building a bass. Out of OSB. Dont ask why, or how mentally stable I am. The piece I have isn't thick enough for a body, but DOUBLED, it is. Is it wrong to attach (Screw? Glue?) two of the same body shapes together? Like a two-layered cake? I'm not too worried about tone, but I need enough room to slap some pickups on there as well.
1funnyguy99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 09:25 PM   #3855
Invader Jim
Jim'll fix it.
 
Invader Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Chamber of Understanding
Since you're making it from OSB you might as well do whatever you have to...
__________________
The Wiring Thread

Another forced hiatus...
Invader Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 10:46 AM   #3856
BjarnedeGraaf
UG's Fatty McFat
 
BjarnedeGraaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Foodland
I want to try and give my bass guitar (a black fender rip off) the kind of stripes that Mikey Way's bass has (not exactly the same but the same style)

Mikey Way's bass:


I want to accomplish this by simply using white tape, and then cut it.
Can I do this without having to worry about damaging it if I ever want to take the tape off again?

My bass:
show
__________________
My Soundcloud

My beginner rig:

Epiphone Goth G-400
Line 6 Spider IV (Don't judge me, I was young and stupid)
Stagg SW203N
BjarnedeGraaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 11:44 AM   #3857
B13th
Registered User
 
B13th's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Hy guys,

I need a 3way toggle switch made out of brass and i don't mean the tip of the switch.
I have a project going on where i replace all parts of my guitar with selfmade brass parts.
The headplate, headbriede, pick up frames and the knobs are already finished the trem is in process. So the switch is the last part to replace
B13th is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:44 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.