Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 12-05-2012, 03:30 PM   #1
AtaBorMan
UG's reclusive wanker
 
AtaBorMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: A bookshop just off Russel Square
Multi effects unit

Well, the time has come for me to make yet another thread asking for advice.

I'm a bit tired of everything about my gear, so I'm replacing most of it by the start of 2013.

Now, I know what amp I want, a Laney VC50. It's cheap, it's versatile, it sounds great. Also gonna get me a leslie cab.

To the next bit then. I want some sort of multi effects unit, preferrably compatible with some sort of foot controller that also allows me to control the amp.

I want something with delay, chorus, phaser and reverb. But I'd like as many fun effects to experiment with as possible. Though I prefer quality over quantity.

Budget: About 250 excluding the controller thingy.

Used: Yes please.

Gigging: Hopefully.

Closest city: Gothenburg, Sweden.
__________________
Call me Max.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Hart
Shooting your friends with a real gun is a definite faux pas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mystical_1
Professor Plum in the Studio with a new Amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by snipelfritz
If only I were the only one at home right now. I don't need my parents asking who Mr. Wiggles is.

Last edited by AtaBorMan : 12-05-2012 at 03:50 PM.
AtaBorMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 02:57 AM   #2
crabstampede
Slowest Metal Guitarist
 
crabstampede's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lethbridge, AB
I dunno, maybe Line 6 M13. I'm off multi fx altogether. Nothing beats the real thing.
__________________
:: Peavey JSX | XXX ::
:: LTD V | Viper | AX [EMG85] ::
:: Vader 2x12 | Krankenstein 4x12 ::
:: G50 | DecimatorG-String | 95Q ::
:: Polytune | Ditto | CarbonCopy ::
crabstampede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 05:10 AM   #3
AtaBorMan
UG's reclusive wanker
 
AtaBorMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: A bookshop just off Russel Square
Yeah, thanks. I was thinking more rack mounted though. Then again, I don't kow anything about this shit.
__________________
Call me Max.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Hart
Shooting your friends with a real gun is a definite faux pas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mystical_1
Professor Plum in the Studio with a new Amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by snipelfritz
If only I were the only one at home right now. I don't need my parents asking who Mr. Wiggles is.
AtaBorMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 05:37 AM   #4
Tremolo Bum
Addicted to FR
 
Tremolo Bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I've been looking into this as well. Unfortunately, unless your amp uses midi, this can get pretty expensive. To start I would looking into the TC electronic g major 2 for effects.

To control your amp you will most likely need a switcher that can plug into your foot controller via midi.

To put this in perspective, rack gear adds up quick. You will pretty much need a rack case, effects processor, amp switcher, and foot controller.
Tremolo Bum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 05:50 AM   #5
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Grab an Alesis Quadraverb off ebay. It's got all that and more.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Roland GP-8
Quadraverb
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:02 AM   #6
Offworld92
One among the fence.
 
Offworld92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California, USA
Does that amp have a standard 1/4" channel switch jack, or something more complex? Cause that's going to determine whether or not it's going to be a royal pain in the ass to control with an MFX or not.

The only cheapish units I'm aware of that have actual amp control jacks on them are the Boss GT units. 8, 10 & 100 for sure do, not sure on the older ones. One of the main reasons I got a GT-10 was for that feature.

I believe the TC Electronic MFX units also do, but really not sure about that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crabstampede
I dunno, maybe Line 6 M13. I'm off multi fx altogether. Nothing beats the real thing.


TC Electronic and Fractal would like a word with you.
__________________
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

Epiphone Firebird VII
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Peavey USA Predator
Ibanez RG520QS
Line 6 POD HD
VHT Special 6 Ultra
Pedulz
Offworld92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 04:39 PM   #7
AtaBorMan
UG's reclusive wanker
 
AtaBorMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: A bookshop just off Russel Square
on me. For some reason I thought the VC50 used standard 1/4'' plugs for the footswitch. How wrong I was. It uses a 5 pin din contact. Though being a bit tech savy I think I'd be able to fix that. I'd lose some features, of course, but I don't really care about all those effects loop controls.

I've found the Behringer FCB1010. It actually seems to be rather decent even though it's made by Behringer.

I might be completely wrong though.
__________________
Call me Max.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Hart
Shooting your friends with a real gun is a definite faux pas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mystical_1
Professor Plum in the Studio with a new Amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by snipelfritz
If only I were the only one at home right now. I don't need my parents asking who Mr. Wiggles is.
AtaBorMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 11:39 AM   #8
AtaBorMan
UG's reclusive wanker
 
AtaBorMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: A bookshop just off Russel Square
Double post, but oh well.

Assuming I modify the channel switcher cable to have the DIN-connector on one end, and two 1/4'' connectors on the other side. One to switch channels, and one to turn boost on and off (boosting either both channels or neither of them. I will not be able to controll the fx loop or reverb), is it possible to program the controller board presets not only to include effects, but also amp channel and boost on/off? Because that's essentially my goal. If this is impossible, what is needed to make it possible.
__________________
Call me Max.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Hart
Shooting your friends with a real gun is a definite faux pas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mystical_1
Professor Plum in the Studio with a new Amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by snipelfritz
If only I were the only one at home right now. I don't need my parents asking who Mr. Wiggles is.
AtaBorMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 12:13 PM   #9
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
The condition of the relay outputs you are using for channel switching are set on a patch by patch basis. Select a program number and the relays switch according to how you programmed that patch.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Roland GP-8
Quadraverb
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 12:21 PM   #10
AtaBorMan
UG's reclusive wanker
 
AtaBorMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: A bookshop just off Russel Square
Ah, well then. Thanks.
__________________
Call me Max.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Hart
Shooting your friends with a real gun is a definite faux pas.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mystical_1
Professor Plum in the Studio with a new Amp

Quote:
Originally Posted by snipelfritz
If only I were the only one at home right now. I don't need my parents asking who Mr. Wiggles is.
AtaBorMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.