Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-10-2012, 09:08 PM   #1
Deek_13
Back at last
 
Deek_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dundee, Scotland
My guitar won't make any noise.

Okay, let's think about how to put this, i'm terrible at explaining things...

When i plug my guitar into any amp i can't get any sound to come through at all. The amp works perfect for other guitars and the leads work perfectly for other guitars. The strange thing about it is that when i plug into my tuner, the tuner picks it up no problem its a boss tu-2 which i believe has no mic so it can't be picking up the un-amplified strings if that makes any sense. Any idea how i can start making noise again guys?

Edit: I had a look around the guts of the thing and there doesn't seem to be any loose connections or anything, all looks as it should.
__________________
Bass Player

Last edited by Deek_13 : 11-10-2012 at 09:09 PM.
Deek_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 11:36 PM   #2
Huge Guy
My muscles sure are mean!
 
Huge Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Could be the input jack. Do you hear any sort of static or anything like that when you plug it into an amp?
Huge Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:27 AM   #3
Deek_13
Back at last
 
Deek_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Yeah, it makes all the usual sounds plugging in and then nothing...
__________________
Bass Player
Deek_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 11:59 AM   #4
Huge Guy
My muscles sure are mean!
 
Huge Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Should be an easy fix then.
Huge Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 01:23 PM   #5
jj1565
Officially Knighted
 
jj1565's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NewYork ............................... Hot Chick guitahh playah ~~teh sexay


take the jack out, look to see if both wires still connected.
then post back.
__________________
Jenneh

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.


Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A/GB&C WTLT Lists 2011
jj1565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 08:52 PM   #6
Deek_13
Back at last
 
Deek_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Yeah, they're both connected! All the wires look fine.
__________________
Bass Player
Deek_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:06 PM   #7
jj1565
Officially Knighted
 
jj1565's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NewYork ............................... Hot Chick guitahh playah ~~teh sexay
with the jack still out, insert the cable and see if it connects.
here.


also, make sure that your cable is a good one.
try other guitar cables, other guitars, other amps.
__________________
Jenneh

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.


Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A/GB&C WTLT Lists 2011

Last edited by jj1565 : 11-11-2012 at 09:08 PM.
jj1565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:41 PM   #8
DarkHorseJ27
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
That happened to me once. I didn't plug in the amp.
DarkHorseJ27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:44 PM   #9
Huge Guy
My muscles sure are mean!
 
Huge Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkHorseJ27
That happened to me once. I didn't plug in the amp.


Ha ha, I've connected the guitar to the headphone input!
Huge Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 09:56 PM   #10
JAHellraiser
Registered User
 
JAHellraiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
well what kind of guitar is it? does it have active pickups?
JAHellraiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 11:24 AM   #11
Deek_13
Back at last
 
Deek_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dundee, Scotland
I've tried different guitars, amps and cables its the guitar that's playing up for sure! It's just a cheap schecter Blackhawk with passive pups. It's for messing about on that's why I'm a bit reluctant to spend some cash getting it fixed.
__________________
Bass Player
Deek_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:09 PM   #12
Dick Foster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Does the tuner work with either pickup and or both?

Have you tried connecting the tuner to the amp and using the stomp bypass switch in the tuner? You didn't say so I thought I'd ask. At least that would eliminate jacks and what not.

Seems to me if the tuner is working then it should feed the amp. However maybe you just have a very low signal level from a bad volume pot or pickup switch and the buffer amp in the tuner can pick it up but it's insufficient to drive an amp.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Deek_13
I've tried different guitars, amps and cables its the guitar that's playing up for sure! It's just a cheap schecter Blackhawk with passive pups. It's for messing about on that's why I'm a bit reluctant to spend some cash getting it fixed.
Dick Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 01:50 PM   #13
jeleopard
Jackson Fanboy!
 
jeleopard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
If the volume pot turned up >.> I forget about it sometimes XD
__________________
Legion!
Original 1969 Fender Jazzmaster
Ibanez RG8
Jackson JS32R Dinky "Curry"
Schecter KM7
83 Gibson Explorer "Kimmy"
MiM Fender Jazz Bass "Pancho"
Ibanez SR485
Peavey 6505+ 112
Line 6 POD HD500
jeleopard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 02:08 PM   #14
FenrirFangs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeleopard
If the volume pot turned up >.> I forget about it sometimes XD


Check this haha. I can't tell you how many times I've done this. Freaked out, checked the entire guitar, amp, cords, all of it, only to realize I had the volume knob down.
FenrirFangs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 02:19 PM   #15
jeleopard
Jackson Fanboy!
 
jeleopard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by FenrirFangs
Check this haha. I can't tell you how many times I've done this. Freaked out, checked the entire guitar, amp, cords, all of it, only to realize I had the volume knob down.


I also sometimes freak out cause the wrong pickup is toggled and my tone is wrong and I'm like "WTF IS WRONG AAAGGGGHHHH.... Oh......"
__________________
Legion!
Original 1969 Fender Jazzmaster
Ibanez RG8
Jackson JS32R Dinky "Curry"
Schecter KM7
83 Gibson Explorer "Kimmy"
MiM Fender Jazz Bass "Pancho"
Ibanez SR485
Peavey 6505+ 112
Line 6 POD HD500
jeleopard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 09:09 PM   #16
jj1565
Officially Knighted
 
jj1565's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NewYork ............................... Hot Chick guitahh playah ~~teh sexay
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deek_13
I've tried different guitars, amps and cables its the guitar that's playing up for sure! It's just a cheap schecter Blackhawk with passive pups. It's for messing about on that's why I'm a bit reluctant to spend some cash getting it fixed.



make sure you are bypassing any other tuners or pedals, go directly into the working amp.

blow can compressed air into the switch while flicking.
see if dirt in there, cutting off signal.

if not you're going to need to find the detatched wires.
possibly from the output jack to the pot.
__________________
Jenneh

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.


Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A/GB&C WTLT Lists 2011
jj1565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 11:03 AM   #17
Deek_13
Back at last
 
Deek_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Its deffo not something stupid like volume turned down or anything like that, i've made sure of that! the only thing i've not tried is plugging into the amp through the tuner so i'll go try that in just a second. The one other thing is compressed air thing, seems quite likely that it could be clogged up with dirt. The guitar has been sitting on the shelf for months and was dusty as hell when i took it down.
__________________
Bass Player
Deek_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 02:01 PM   #18
Dick Foster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Work all the switches and pots back and forth several times. Jiggle them while playing to see if you can isolate the offending part. If a contact is oxidized sometimes that will clean it up enough to operate. I think I saw that that guitar had push pulls so exercise those too.

If you not into electronics maybe get a friend who is to go over and clean up all the controls with some electrical contact cleaner.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Deek_13
Its deffo not something stupid like volume turned down or anything like that, i've made sure of that! the only thing i've not tried is plugging into the amp through the tuner so i'll go try that in just a second. The one other thing is compressed air thing, seems quite likely that it could be clogged up with dirt. The guitar has been sitting on the shelf for months and was dusty as hell when i took it down.
Dick Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 02:08 AM   #19
bigtrv_93
Registered User
 
bigtrv_93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deek_13
I've tried different guitars, amps and cables its the guitar that's playing up for sure! It's just a cheap schecter Blackhawk with passive pups. It's for messing about on that's why I'm a bit reluctant to spend some cash getting it fixed.

Hey, I don't know whether this problem has been solved or not, but I've done some reading on the Blackhawk, and apparently the Volume pot is quite often a faulty issue. Replacing one is fairly simple, and usually only costs a few dollars. Hope this helps
bigtrv_93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 10:08 AM   #20
Axe Murderer
Registered User
 
Axe Murderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
You have to STRUM it for it to make noise!
Axe Murderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:00 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.