Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  

Old 11-14-2012, 06:35 PM   #1
Lighting Designer
conor-figgy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Ground-Lift for Laptop


I'm currently a technical manager in a theatre and I was advised that I buy a ground lift for one of the stereo inputs on our desk which is generally fed from a laptop with cuing software as a slight buzz can be heard when a laptop is charging.

I did a slight bit of research and all I could find was people saying that there's no way a laptop would require a ground lift whilst others argued otherwise; none actually suggested an item.

Anyhow, any ideas?

Last edited by conor-figgy : 11-14-2012 at 06:40 PM.
conor-figgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:42 PM   #2
gumbilicious's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
i have never heard of a ground lift being needed for computer either. are you getting unwanted noise*? is all the equipment being plugged into the same outlet?

edit: i see you're getting noise when the laptop charges... dunno if a ground lift is gonna help ya. i was worried more about the other equipment. most people won't notice 'a little noise'
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."

Last edited by gumbilicious : 11-14-2012 at 06:45 PM.
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 06:45 PM   #3
Lighting Designer
conor-figgy's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
No it's not all plugged into the same outlet. One other thing that was mentioned was our induction loop, I can't remember what was said about it though...
conor-figgy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:13 AM   #4
The Name's Devon! ;)
Blktiger0's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Marrietta, Ohio, USA
What you most likely need is this:

Does it make extra noise when you move the mouse and such? I had issues with noise on my laptop, as did another UGer a whie back, and this solved the issue. I have no clue why, as I'm no electrician, but it works.
Blktiger0 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:39 PM.

Forum Archives / About / TOS / Advertise with us / Customer Support / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2015
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.