Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > UG Community > The Pit
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 01-30-2013, 08:46 PM   #1
Barricade_28
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Need help with my internet/router settings

So i bought a new wireless PC printer a few months ago. When I install the printer drivers on my 2 laptops, the printer works fine for a week or so, then all of a sudden the printer will stop working until I reinstall the drivers again. Done this a dozen times. The IT support guy at the printer manufacturer says that my printer is losing wireless connection to my laptops because my wireless router is set to Dyanamic IP therefore my IP address changes every so often, meaning the IP addresses on my laptops and the printer no longer match the way they were initially set up. The IT guy said I need to change my router to Static IP setting so my IP addresses no longer change. IT guy said this brand of printer is not supported for Dynamic IP. My internet provider said they set my connection to Static IP so its my router thats on Dynamic IP.

Question a) how do I change my wireless router (a Linksys) settings from Dyanmic IP to Static IP? And b) since imy IP addresses won't be changing at all with Static IP is this safe for my 2 laptops, ie: hackers and cookies/data-mining being easier to track my PC?

Last edited by Barricade_28 : 01-30-2013 at 08:47 PM.
Barricade_28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:52 PM   #2
CALL_OF_TABLE
Banned
 
CALL_OF_TABLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
first you go to controll panel and then internet settings. once you find this grab the nearest hammer and hit the monitor as hard as you can. that should do the trick.
CALL_OF_TABLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:56 PM   #3
jthm_guitarist
"funny" but "unmemorable"
 
jthm_guitarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West Coast USA
Download and install Mozilla Firefox
Click the links in my signature, rate comment and subscribe
enter www google com into the address bar
type "how to router static ip" into the box and press the search button
follow the steps on the next page
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrashtastic15
when you sense an attack slap the sack

show
jthm_guitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:09 PM   #4
Barricade_28
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Does anyone have anything actually intelligent and useful to say?
Barricade_28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:13 PM   #5
Bob_Sacamano
macabre_sacamano
 
Bob_Sacamano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: spooksville
Huh? I was under the impression routers always had static IPs that you can't change.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by MusicLord16
BOB 1. ur 20 and two u like evil things and idk if u worship the devil


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrcsgtpeppers
And this is why feminists will never win, because they would rather live in their moment than actually deal with reality. jrcsgtpeppers 1 Hogwarts Witchcraft and Wizardry 0
Bob_Sacamano is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:17 PM   #6
Gyroscope
UG Senior Member
 
Gyroscope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SLUT
"Linksys" router is too vague, but I'll give you general instructions on how I would do it with my router.

1. Go here http://192.168.1.1
2. Log in. Usually username is "admin" and password is your wireless key.
3. You should see a button on the first page it takes you to that says "DHCP reservation".
4. Determine which client in the list is the printer and click "add clients".


By the way, it is recommended to keep the IP address provided by your ISP to dynamic.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________
Last edited by Gyroscope : Tomorrow at 01:00 PM.

Last edited by Gyroscope : 01-30-2013 at 09:18 PM.
Gyroscope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 09:20 PM   #7
WCPhils
Banned
 
WCPhils's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob_Sacamano
Huh? I was under the impression routers always had static IPs that you can't change.

I think it depends on your provider

Verizon has static IPs whereas if you have Comcast you can change in whenever you want by turning off your modem
WCPhils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:48 AM   #8
Barricade_28
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gyroscope
"Linksys" router is too vague, but I'll give you general instructions on how I would do it with my router.

1. Go here http://192.168.1.1
2. Log in. Usually username is "admin" and password is your wireless key.
3. You should see a button on the first page it takes you to that says "DHCP reservation".
4. Determine which client in the list is the printer and click "add clients".


By the way, it is recommended to keep the IP address provided by your ISP to dynamic.


Hmm ok, but my ISP says that they keep my IP address static, it is the router that is making it dynamic
Barricade_28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:59 AM   #9
Horsedick.MPEG
Dot MPEG
 
Horsedick.MPEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Buck Hill
Quote:
Originally Posted by jthm_guitarist
Download and install Mozilla Firefox
Click the links in my signature, rate comment and subscribe
enter www google com into the address bar
type "how to router static ip" into the box and press the search button
follow the steps on the next page


>Firefox
>Not using IE
__________________
2013 #5 Uger
2012 #7 Uger

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetfuel495
Jesus, Horsedick, you are my hero

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayT44
don't worry guys his girlfriend is black, she said it was okay for him to say that.



Stalk Me

Shitty Covers

Original Music

Lastfm
Horsedick.MPEG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 11:22 AM   #10
Ometh
nobody
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
google it u cunt
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by slapsymcdougal
I'm cockblocked regularly by my appearance and personality.
Ometh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:48 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.