Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-23-2012, 04:45 PM   #1
rokashi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
The reason for 2 heads into 1 cab?

I've seen it all over the place, and I really want to know what the reason/benefit/risks of using 2 heads for 1 cabinet is.
rokashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 04:48 PM   #2
seljer
UG Resident
 
seljer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Slovenija
You need to wire the cab up so each head gets it own speaker(s) and that the power rating of the speaker(s) is high enough for the head.

Benefit: its probably lighter to carry than two seperate cabs



Also, many times when you see two heads on a stage, one is a backup
seljer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 05:00 PM   #3
chronowarp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
I'm going to guess it's more likely they're A/Bing the amps. One for cleans, one for dirties or something along those lines.
__________________
Check out my band Socrates and the Lava Gods
chronowarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 07:34 PM   #4
rokashi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
So just to be clear, no one plays through 2 heads at the same time?
rokashi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 07:55 PM   #5
AlanHB
Godin's Resident Groupie
 
AlanHB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by rokashi
So just to be clear, no one plays through 2 heads at the same time?


I guess theoretically you could, but you would loose the tone/character of each individual head if they were combined.

I personally couldn't really be bothered, I have two amps I use for gigging, a Mesa-Boogie Mark V and a Fender Superchamp X2, both are great amps in their own way. If I was super picky it would be great to have the clean channel of the Fender on call when using the Mesa, but really there's not that much need. If I'm playing mostly clean, I take the Fender.
__________________
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud
AlanHB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 08:47 PM   #6
Hail
kill both bass players
 
Hail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas
Quote:
Originally Posted by rokashi
So just to be clear, no one plays through 2 heads at the same time?


not through a single cab, though it's incredibly valid for multiple cabs as well as for DI-ing into the PA. before the axe-FX got popular a lot of 7+ string players (tosin being the most obvious) had to bi-amp so they could have the best of the lows and highs, especially in a solo setting
Hail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:08 PM   #7
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
I know some people that prefer two heads into one cab split, so that way you mic two speakers and FOH is done with. He's a blues player and is looking for a wider sound, so theoretically it is doable.

If I am not mistaken Radial also made a gizmo that will keep the load on so the amp won't fry and let you use the whole 4x12 per amp if you use their switch, so in essence an A/B switcher.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CodeMonk
Trading an MG + $100 for a Spider is like trading dogshit for catshit and paying for the privilege.
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:34 PM   #8
Hail
kill both bass players
 
Hail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas
Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolical
I know some people that prefer two heads into one cab split, so that way you mic two speakers and FOH is done with. He's a blues player and is looking for a wider sound, so theoretically it is doable.

If I am not mistaken Radial also made a gizmo that will keep the load on so the amp won't fry and let you use the whole 4x12 per amp if you use their switch, so in essence an A/B switcher.


i want to say zilla has a similar feature, but it's more used to A/B two different types of speakers.
Hail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:36 PM   #9
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
I personally wouldn't do it on good tube amps that I want to keep around, you just never know when that stuff will fail and you'll blow the heads.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CodeMonk
Trading an MG + $100 for a Spider is like trading dogshit for catshit and paying for the privilege.
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:53 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.