Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  

Old 01-22-2013, 12:03 AM   #1
Registered User
DiveRightIn63's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Two amp heads + ABY => Cab

So I have two amp heads. One for clean, one for distortion. I have an ABY that let's be pick which head I output to. Now, if both of these heads go into the same cab, is that safe since only one head will be pushing (substantial) power to the cab?
for fans of...

Motion City Soundtrack, Get Up Kids, Jimmy Eat World, Transit, Brand New, Dashboard Confessional, Early November, Fall Out Boy, Jawbreaker, Polar Bear Club, The Story So Far, the Wonder Years, Something Corporate.
DiveRightIn63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:05 AM   #2
Registered User
Robbgnarly's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
No never hook 2 amps to 1 cab unless that cab has a stereo inputs. If it is mono inputs it will not work and will possibly ruin both amps.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:09 AM   #3
Grumpy Old Tech
Cathbard's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
What he said.

Wire up your cab in stereo if it isn't already. Left for one amp, right for t'other.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Randall RM100 & RM20
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:12 AM   #4
Do wasps make honey?
chip46's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Home of the Blues
Yep, the stereo cab option would probably be your best bet. If not, Radial makes a head switcher for this type of setup, but it's only an A/B if memory serves.
chip46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:18 AM   #5
likes hamuckers.
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Originally Posted by Cathbard
What he said.

Wire up your cab in stereo if it isn't already. Left for one amp, right for t'other.

also watch watage, you would be cutting the wattage in half, ecah side would have to be able to handle one amp. so two speakers per amp.

two amps in stereo is fun though. ping-pong delays are orgasmic.
WTLT 2014 GG&A

If you think illegal drugs have never done any good, burn your record collection.
-Bill Hicks

Originally Posted by andersondb7
alright "king of the guitar forum"

Originally Posted by trashedlostfdup
nope i am "GOD of the guitar forum" i think that fits me better.

Originally Posted by andersondb7
youre just being a jerk man.
trashedlostfdup is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 PM.

Forum Archives / About / TOS / Advertise with us / Customer Support / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2015
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.