Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 01-06-2014, 12:38 PM   #1
shredderrrrrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Korg Pitchblack vs. Boss TU3

Other than the different displays, is there any reason to buy one of these tuners over the other?
shredderrrrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 01:08 PM   #2
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
They both work well but the pitchblack has a better display - and it's cheaper. I've got the pitchblack.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 01:23 PM   #3
johnturner9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Not really.


Both tuners have an excellent accuracy of 1 cent (1/100th of a semitone), the BOSS tuner has a bit of a longer range, extended to C0(16 something Hz), while the Korg goes to E0(20 something Hz). The BOSS tuner is a bit more feature complete, but honestly you'd be fine with the Korg.

Last edited by johnturner9 : 01-06-2014 at 01:25 PM.
johnturner9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 02:06 PM   #4
gurg06
Gurg
 
gurg06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ireland
I've heard the display on the boss is a bit brighter. I own the pitchblack, and at an outdoor gig in sunlight its pretty hard to make out. I'd say they're both pretty similar though!
gurg06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2014, 09:58 PM   #5
Offworld92
One among the fence.
 
Offworld92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern California, USA
Boss. It's important to have a good buffer somewhere in your chain, and with the true bypass fad/hype, it can be easy to build an entire chain with no buffers in it. The TU-3 takes that thought out of the equation, because it's just there.
__________________
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

Epiphone Firebird VII
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Peavey Predator USA
Ibanez RG520
Line 6 Pod HD500X
VHT Special 6 Ultra
Pedulz
Offworld92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 01:03 AM   #6
Jaredmkl
UG's That one guy
 
Jaredmkl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nevada
I really like my Korg Pitchblack. Way easier to see then tu3's.
__________________
GEAR
PRS:SE Singlecut w/ Crunchlab/Airnorton
ESP:Eclipse Standard
LTD:SCT607B
Fender:MIM Silverburst Tele
Line6:Pod HD500X
Ovation:EliteT1778
Jaredmkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 01:12 AM   #7
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals
 
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: deep south
something with a strobe effect. the korg does on one setting that i liked. i also would consider a strobe tuner (can't remember what brand) they are really easy to see and more accurate. i had a pitchblack and it was great. until it got stolen. the sad thing was is that i was with people i knew to some degree and trusted enough to not take anything from me.

but i would recommend a strobe tuner or pitchblack to do it over.
__________________
WTLT 2014 GG&A

gas list:
Strymon Mobius
Diamond Compressor
Musket Fuzz
and a few guitars
trashedlostfdup is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 02:20 AM   #8
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
I haven't tried it in sunlight yet but the Korg's display on an indoor stage is great. I often tune between standard and drop D between songs and the speed with which the Korg tracks coupled with the big display makes it insanely quick to do. I've literally done it in the time it took for the drummer to count in the next song (when he forgets that I have to retune).
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification

Last edited by Cathbard : 01-07-2014 at 02:21 AM.
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 02:25 AM   #9
757ian123
Registered User
 
757ian123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
I have the Pitchblack and don't have any complaints with it. Its cheaper than the Boss so that's reason enough to buy it lol
757ian123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 02:33 AM   #10
shredderrrrrr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Offworld92
Boss. It's important to have a good buffer somewhere in your chain, and with the true bypass fad/hype, it can be easy to build an entire chain with no buffers in it. The TU-3 takes that thought out of the equation, because it's just there.


Sorry for the dumb question, but can you explain what you mean? I'm pretty new to gear and was just always under the impression that true bypass = better (without even knowing what "true bypass" really meant).
shredderrrrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 03:54 AM   #11
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals
 
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: deep south
Quote:
Originally Posted by shredderrrrrr
Sorry for the dumb question, but can you explain what you mean? I'm pretty new to gear and was just always under the impression that true bypass = better (without even knowing what "true bypass" really meant).


iwill leave the technical explanations who will be on here soon, but basically think of it as a little boost for your signal from the guitar or previous effects (NOT audible type of signal, keeps thing more true.

honestly if you are running 60' of cables and several effects, then i don't think that it really is necessary, but if you are running 10 pedals and all were true bypass you would lose some signal integrity, and would want to use a buffer earlier and potentially a second.

the reason that think buffered bypass are low quality and rob tone.
__________________
WTLT 2014 GG&A

gas list:
Strymon Mobius
Diamond Compressor
Musket Fuzz
and a few guitars
trashedlostfdup is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 07:26 AM   #12
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Basically, no switch, jack, plug or cable is perfect (ie zero impedance). If you have a lot of these, it all adds up and signal degradation occurs. A buffer overcomes these losses. So the trick is to get a buffer somewhere early in the chain to drive through all those footswitches and jacks. Of course if you don't have many then it is moot.
A more detailed explanation would require maths and shit and a lesson in impedance and amplifier circuits. Hopefully my layman's explanation will suffice.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2014, 03:51 PM   #13
757ian123
Registered User
 
757ian123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Also note that if you have a pedal which stays on all the time, it will act as a buffer even if it is true bypass
757ian123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.