Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 04-02-2013, 04:15 PM   #1
Isakale
Registered User
 
Isakale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
How to get this recording effect...?

Hello! I know very little about pickups and stuff, but I had a question... How do I get the effect he gets at 2:20 in this video.

I have this same guitar with 2 pickups... I want to record like this... Would a 2 channel USB interface work to record like this?
Like the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2.
Would this one work? Is this, indeed, 2 channels? Do I need 2 channels to do this...?

Forgive my ignorance, I have never played with electric acoustics before I bought this guitar just the other day.

But, it is a super cool effect and would love to use it in recording some of my music!
Isakale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:24 PM   #2
Odirunn
Hi, I'm Adam
 
Odirunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
A 2 channel interface like that would indeed suffice for this if you want to have two individual tracks from each pickup. If I understand what he was saying right, you can get the same effect by blending on the guitar with a single output.

All he did was pan out each pick up hard left and right which widens the stereo image.
__________________
Let's party.
Odirunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 05:20 PM   #3
Isakale
Registered User
 
Isakale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Ah, I think I understand now! Thanks you very much.

I assumed the panning was done on the interface. So the panning can be set on the preamp and then all put into one track by blending it, is that right, or something like that? :]

This electronic stuff is a whole new element for me!
Isakale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 05:39 PM   #4
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
 
Sid McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
What you'll do is create two audio tracks in your recording software(some software can have a stereo track, but it's easier to do separate two mono tracks), then you'll set the input of the first track to be input 1, and the second track to be input 2.

Then once you've recorded the two mono tracks, you grab the pan knob on each track in the software, and turn it as far left or right as you'd like to get that stereo separation.

Personally, I don't pan hard, I usually only pan part of the way in each direction so there's some common ground in the center of the song. Of course that's all up to your taste, try everything and see what your ears like best!

Does that make sense? I can try to be clearer if you'd like!
__________________
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Sid McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 05:57 PM   #5
Isakale
Registered User
 
Isakale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Nope, that is excellent!

Would I be able use the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 to record the 2 tracks at the same time, then go into my Garageband and manually pan each track?

(I agree, it would be kinda funny to fully pan both to each of their sides... I could only imagine someone listening with one earbud in, going, "Wahh...??? O_O ")

Isakale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:43 PM   #6
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
 
Sid McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isakale
Nope, that is excellent!

Would I be able use the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 to record the 2 tracks at the same time, then go into my Garageband and manually pan each track?

(I agree, it would be kinda funny to fully pan both to each of their sides... I could only imagine someone listening with one earbud in, going, "Wahh...??? O_O ")


Yep, that will work just fine going into garageband.

Lots of people do pan hard left and right, and it does work pretty well depending on the context. Go listen to some of the first stereo Beatles recordings, I think you'll find those pretty interesting
__________________
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Sid McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:48 PM   #7
Isakale
Registered User
 
Isakale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Haha, awesome! Thanks so much!!!
Isakale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:59 AM   #8
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
AVOID THE 2i2!!!!

The 2i2 has no pad, and is well known to clip badly when you run DI (plugging directly into the interface). The 2i4 is what you need (or other 2 channel interface with a pad).
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 05:37 PM   #9
Isakale
Registered User
 
Isakale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Forgive my ignorance, I really know extreme little about this stuff...
I canceled my order, so luckily I did not pay for it. Phew!

What is a pad? What does it do and how will it effect my recording? Thanks so much for warning me!!!
Isakale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 05:39 PM   #10
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
It allows hotter signals to be recorded without clipping (distorting)
__________________
One comes, the rain will always be... And things I am are things that should not be

Music/Soundcloud/8Tracks


Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:14 PM   #11
Isakale
Registered User
 
Isakale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
WOW, that sounds important!
I guess if I am already paying $100, I may as well make it $200 for something that will not clip... :P
Isakale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:15 PM   #12
Isakale
Registered User
 
Isakale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Someone was telling me I need a direct box. What is that and do I need one?
Isakale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:15 PM   #13
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
You don't...
__________________
One comes, the rain will always be... And things I am are things that should not be

Music/Soundcloud/8Tracks


Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:38 PM   #14
Isakale
Registered User
 
Isakale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Kay, thanks again!
Isakale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:40 PM   #15
roaraudio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Every studio needs a DI.
It changes the current and voltage of, in your case, guitar signal.
It also increases the distance the signal can travel.
roaraudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:52 PM   #16
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
If you're recording at home, with a Scarlet 2i4, please explain when and why a new hobby recording engineer would need a DI box?
__________________
One comes, the rain will always be... And things I am are things that should not be

Music/Soundcloud/8Tracks


Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:09 PM   #17
Isakale
Registered User
 
Isakale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Yep, just a little home recording project for now. Thanks so much guys!
Isakale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 04:05 PM   #18
xxdarrenxx
UG Fanatic
 
xxdarrenxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isakale
Nope, that is excellent!

Would I be able use the Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 to record the 2 tracks at the same time, then go into my Garageband and manually pan each track?

(I agree, it would be kinda funny to fully pan both to each of their sides... I could only imagine someone listening with one earbud in, going, "Wahh...??? O_O ")



The sound will be exactly the same, unless you record different mics/amps. Record the same part twice then pan.

As to what you wrote in parenthesis..have you ever listened to music from the 70's and previous decades?
__________________

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[FONT=Palatino Linotype
[COLOR=DarkRed]Who's Andy Timmons??
[/SIZE][/B]
xxdarrenxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 09:17 PM   #19
theone64
Registered User
 
theone64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
How can i record my guitar on my laptop when i only have a line out port in my laptop?
theone64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 09:52 PM   #20
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by theone64
How can i record my guitar on my laptop when i only have a line out port in my laptop?


You don't.

You buy an interface of some description. Check the sticky.
__________________
One comes, the rain will always be... And things I am are things that should not be

Music/Soundcloud/8Tracks


Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:31 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.