Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-18-2012, 09:28 PM   #1
mattpikeisboss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Can I play a guitar synthesizer through a tube amp?

I've been looking into the Roland GR-55 guitar synthesizer and decided that I want one, but I was wondering if I need to buy some kind of PA system to go with it or if I can just use it like I would use an effects pedal?
mattpikeisboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 09:41 PM   #2
Quintex
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
GR-55s are not really guitar amp friendly, in fact they do not recommend using one. Most people plug the synth portion into a keyboard amp or a PA type of rig.
__________________
If I miss one day of practice, I notice it.
If I miss two days, the critics notice it.
If I miss three days, the audience notices it.

Ingacy Jan Paderewski (1860 - 1941)
Quintex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 09:42 PM   #3
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattpikeisboss
I've been looking into the Roland GR-55 guitar synthesizer and decided that I want one, but I was wondering if I need to buy some kind of PA system to go with it or if I can just use it like I would use an effects pedal?

you could probably use it with a guitar amp, but you can get much more creative with it.

it seems to have a direct guitar out, which i would plug into a guitar amp. but the synth outs i'd probably plug into a keyboard amp or a power stage monitor, so i have the full range response for the keyboard, synth and bass tones.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 09:54 PM   #4
Reincaster
Call me Rein.
 
Reincaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
You can use it strictly for guitar tones by removing the cab sims and such, but you'd be severely limiting the versatility of the GR55. Use it in a full range or straight to FOH type system and enjoy!
__________________
Peavey 5150
Mesa Mark IV
Mesa Single Rectifier (Series 1)
Fender Custom Shop Tonemaster
Roland Microcube

-Whitebox OS 1x12
-Port City OS 1x12

Digidesign Eleven RackAxe Fx Ultra
Reincaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:46 PM   #5
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Normally you'd run the synh section through the PA but good things can happen for certain applications. Deep Purple's keyboards sound is a Hammond running through a cranked plexi.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:48 PM   #6
mattpikeisboss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Well I wouldn't wanna lose those synth tones it's one of the top reasons I want it. I've never really heard of PA systems before are they expensive? Also would I still be able to use it in a band setting?
mattpikeisboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:54 PM   #7
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
The cheapest way for you would be a powered PA bin. You don't really need a full PA, just the power amp and speaker which is what a powered bin is.
My keyboards rig is actually a rack line mixer, a 1000W per channel PA amp and a couple of 15" Laney bins loaded with humingous JBL drivers. You don't need anything like that, a decent powered bin is all you really need.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 10:59 PM   #8
mattpikeisboss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I'll definitely look into those, but I'm starting to think that at this price I'd be better off buying several different effects so now I'm a little torn!
mattpikeisboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:05 PM   #9
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
I came close to going the guitar synth path myself but instead I decided to learn how to play a keyboard instead.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:13 PM   #10
mattpikeisboss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I'd do that but my main focus is guitar if I'm dropping a decent sum of money it's gotta be toward that
mattpikeisboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 11:20 PM   #11
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
You can often pick up used PA gear stoopid cheap. When guys retire from gigging it's the first thing they sell off. Watch the used market for a while and see what pops up. Try to get something in the 200W range and preferably with a 15" driver.

Even if you don't go the guitar synth route it is always a good idea to own some PA gear, even if it's just a decent powered wedge.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification

Last edited by Cathbard : 11-18-2012 at 11:24 PM.
Cathbard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 06:18 PM   #12
mattpikeisboss
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Thanks for the tip man.
mattpikeisboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 03:04 AM   #13
Clay-man
Say no to saying no
 
Clay-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
I came close to going the guitar synth path myself but instead I decided to learn how to play a keyboard instead.


Same, though I might get one if I ever have money to throw around easily.


Does an acoustic amp have a flattish response or is it designed to make acoustics resonate the best they can? I imagine they have a better response than a guitar amp for a guitar synth, not cutting off the highs so much.
Clay-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.