Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-22-2012, 04:36 AM   #41
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
You'll get away with the power tubes for a while. You can run just about anything in a Marshall power amp. It's the preamp tubes that you need to bin (keep the best ones as spares).
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 09:31 AM   #42
Arby911
Finding the Pattern
 
Arby911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by NordicThrasher
How would I go about running the amp at half impedance? Just click it down to 4 ohms?
Anyway that seems like good advice, considering I've heard tube watts are actually louder.

EDIT: JJ's?


You heard wrong. A watt is a watt, doesn't matter where it comes from.

Whoever told you that, ignore them for future technical 'advice'.
__________________
The man who holds to a belief because of tradition, or hides it because he fears he may be shown to be wrong, does not love the truth but manifests a coward’s faithfulness to his prejudices.
Arby911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 03:31 PM   #43
NordicThrasher
Something Wild
 
NordicThrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lake Bodom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arby911
You heard wrong. A watt is a watt, doesn't matter where it comes from.

Whoever told you that, ignore them for future technical 'advice'.

I possibly misheard him or or got the information mixed up, because this guy is actually very smart when it comes to technical stuff. He's pretty much a guru of this stuff so I must have misheard him.
NordicThrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 03:36 PM   #44
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Well he is sort of right. They rate amps differently. Tube amps tend to be underated and SS amps tend to be overated. What's written on the amp is often a complete fantasy.
A 100W SS amp is as loud as a 100W tube amp - if both were rated the same way but they never are.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 04:17 PM   #45
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by gumbilicious
yeah, i was gonna say something about that, i got a shot from a website of the back of what looked like the new DSL. even marshall's site doesn't have a pic of the back.


yeah i couldn't find a pic either, that's why i had to download the manual

Quote:
Originally Posted by NordicThrasher
Yeah, it probably wouldn't even provide the full tonal quality and potential of the head (the cab), but it will do for now. Anywho, the back says "150 watts (each side)" with "8 ohms left and 8 ohms right" for Stereo, and the Mono is 4 ohms.


thanks

plug in to the mono jack on the cab and plug in to the 4 ohm jack on the amp. assuming it's an older one which has the 4 ohm speaker out jack.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Blackstar can blow me; dodgey ****ers.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 05:13 PM   #46
anguskilminster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
The old DSL100 has three speaker jacks. One is 16ohm only, the other 2 are parallel and switchable between 4 & 8 ohms, so you can use 2 cabs at 16 or 8 ohms, or one cab at 4, 8 or 16 ohms. I got this from the online handbook on their site.
__________________
My Gear:- A guitar, a guitar lead, a guitar amplifier. Or sometimes just an acoustic guitar!
anguskilminster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 07:27 PM   #47
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by NordicThrasher
I possibly misheard him or or got the information mixed up, because this guy is actually very smart when it comes to technical stuff. He's pretty much a guru of this stuff so I must have misheard him.


it is actually a very commonly held belief, and there is some observational 'evidence' to support the belief. but unfortunately, the definition of a 'watt' with the THD ratings of an amp don't really allow for a difference in 'tube watts' or 'solid state' watts. at least with nominal ratings anyway.

speaker sensitivity ratings can end up making much more of a difference anyway
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 11:35 PM   #48
NordicThrasher
Something Wild
 
NordicThrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lake Bodom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Mc
plug into the mono jack on the cab and plug in to the 4 ohm jack on the amp. assuming it's an older one which has the 4 ohm speaker out jack.

Yeah, it's gonna end up being the older one (JCM 2000), since the DSL100H doesn't have the impedance switch. Does the back of the JCM 2000 have a pentode/triode switch?
(I probably could be looking all of this up myself but oh well! That's what I have my gearhead UG buddies for )

Last edited by NordicThrasher : 10-23-2012 at 12:17 AM.
NordicThrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 11:43 PM   #49
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by NordicThrasher
Yeah, it's gonna end up being the older one (JCM 2000), since the DSL100H doesn't have the impedance switch. Does the back of the JCM 2000 have a pentode/triode switch.
(I probably could be looking all of this up myself but oh well! That's what I have my gearhead UG buddies for )


Thats probably a better choice. New production amps in new factories- first run always needs bugs worked out.

Not sure on the pentode/triode switch as I have DSL401. One of the others will chime in if they haven't already ninja'd me. Free bump. (doesn't look like it on google images)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.

Last edited by R45VT : 10-22-2012 at 11:45 PM.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 12:19 AM   #50
NordicThrasher
Something Wild
 
NordicThrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lake Bodom
Quote:
Originally Posted by R45VT
Thats probably a better choice. New production amps in new factories- first run always needs bugs worked out.

Not sure on the pentode/triode switch as I have DSL401. One of the others will chime in if they haven't already ninja'd me. Free bump. (doesn't look like it on google images)

Good point. I forgot all about the bugs and glitches part of it.
I'm suspecting it doesn't have that switch for the triode, though, because I couldn't find it either on Images. That sucks. Oh well!

EDIT: To chime in on the factories part, the new DSL is being made in Vietnam, instead of the UK, so I'm good on that... Thanks anyway, Marshall.

Last edited by NordicThrasher : 10-23-2012 at 12:23 AM.
NordicThrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 01:00 AM   #51
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Oh no, the DSL doesn't have the triode/pentode switch. I thought it did. That's sad. That was a good feature. So 50W is as low as you can get it - that's with two tubes pulled.

http://www.drtube.com/schematics/ma...al%20(2004).pdf
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 01:29 AM   #52
NordicThrasher
Something Wild
 
NordicThrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lake Bodom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Oh no, the DSL doesn't have the triode/pentode switch. I thought it did. That's sad. That was a good feature. So 50W is as low as you can get it - that's with two tubes pulled.

http://www.drtube.com/schematics/ma...al%20(2004).pdf

Ah, okay! Well, still, 50 watts is considerably less than 100 watts
NordicThrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:11 AM   #53
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by NordicThrasher
Ah, okay! Well, still, 50 watts is considerably less than 100 watts


at nominal output, 50 watts might only be .5 the power of a 100 watt amp, but it is still .81 the volume/loudness output.

to get half the volume output from a 100 watt amp, you'd need to knock it down to 10 watts.

any little bit helps though.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:24 AM   #54
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Yeah but you get more distortion at the same volume - that's the main deal. It only makes a real difference once you start getting up to drummer levels.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 02:32 AM   #55
NordicThrasher
Something Wild
 
NordicThrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lake Bodom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Yeah but you get more distortion at the same volume - that's the main deal. It only makes a real difference once you start getting up to drummer levels.

I may or may not be jamming with a drummer soon so it would be good to have that 100 watts, for that, anyway.
NordicThrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:35 AM   #56
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
50W is still plenty loud to play with a drummer. The only difference is that if you crank a 50W into power amp distortion it doesn't drown him out. It all depends on what you are playing. If you are playing blues and classic rock run it at 50W; if playing metal or totally clean stuff, run it at 100W.
You just have to decide what you want to achieve and what's more important.
I gigged with a 60W tube amp for many years and was never wanting more volume. You'll work it out, jut try it both ways and see for yourself.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:13 PM   #57
Kevin Saale
Talks to empty chairs
 
Kevin Saale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In a desert, next to a chair
Wow, sounds like Marshall is really skimping on the new DSL. Thats pretty sad, the DSL was probably the best value Marshall they were making. Are they still made in England?
__________________
I don't give a shit if you listen to me or not.

Quote:
Get three coffins ready.

My mistake, four coffins.
Kevin Saale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 03:19 PM   #58
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
i thought i heard they weren't, but (and it's only hearsay)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Blackstar can blow me; dodgey ****ers.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 04:08 PM   #59
NordicThrasher
Something Wild
 
NordicThrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lake Bodom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Saale
Wow, sounds like Marshall is really skimping on the new DSL. Thats pretty sad, the DSL was probably the best value Marshall they were making. Are they still made in England?

Well, apparently the new DSL is made in Vietnam and not the UK, but I have heard that that is only for the DSL40C, the 40 watt combo in the new series.
NordicThrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 04:10 PM   #60
NordicThrasher
Something Wild
 
NordicThrasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lake Bodom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
50W is still plenty loud to play with a drummer. The only difference is that if you crank a 50W into power amp distortion it doesn't drown him out. It all depends on what you are playing. If you are playing blues and classic rock run it at 50W; if playing metal or totally clean stuff, run it at 100W.
You just have to decide what you want to achieve and what's more important.
I gigged with a 60W tube amp for many years and was never wanting more volume. You'll work it out, jut try it both ways and see for yourself.

Yeah, that sounds about right. It's all about experimentation!
NordicThrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:00 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.