Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Gear Building & Customizing
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 02-03-2013, 01:28 PM   #1
air1jsj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Ground wire broke off

As I was putting the bridge screw holder nut thing in my new guitar build, the ground wire sheered off from behind it. Taking the nut thing out will be impossible so I was wondering if it would be ok to just run a ground wire to a screw in the wood. Thoughts?
air1jsj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:30 PM   #2
poppameth
Lord of Freaky Dingos
 
poppameth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Staunton, VA USA
I'm not sure what a bridge screw holder nut thing is but I'm going to guess no. The ground has to attach to a metal part of the bridge to do you any good.
__________________
Fender American Standard Strat
Ibanez RG270DX
Ibanez RG530 Roadstar II
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall 6100LM Head with Slash Signature 4x12 half stack.
http://gideond.wordpress.com
http://darkling.poppameth.com
poppameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 01:35 PM   #3
whoomit
 
whoomit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
What.
__________________
whoomit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:01 PM   #4
air1jsj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fixed bridge. Has a bridge, a bolt the bridge sits on and the nut the bolt screws into. When I was pounding the nut into the body it sheered the ground wire off from behind it. Can I just attach the ground wire to a screw in the body?
air1jsj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:08 PM   #5
whoomit
 
whoomit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Tuneomatic bridge?



The ground wire needs to connect to the bridge stud. You just have to take it back out and redo it.
__________________
whoomit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:13 PM   #6
air1jsj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Yes
air1jsj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:14 PM   #7
whoomit
 
whoomit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Well the best way to remove the stud is to drop something like a ball bearing or two (or some screws, just make sure you don't need them) and screw the post into it. It'll pull the stud back out and you can sort out the wire again.
__________________
whoomit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 03:18 PM   #8
LeviMan_2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Also keep in mind that wire needs to be bare where it sticks out.
__________________
Danelectro Longhorn guitar build: http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/foru...d.php?t=1564392
LeviMan_2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 05:08 PM   #9
Explorerbuilder
Registered User
 
Explorerbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Corrales, NM
just strip the wire to where there is about 1/2" of bare wire showing. Then put the stud in over it.
__________________
Most of my newer guitars *photobucket, click the tab "libraries" *

http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Gu...142725369133117
Explorerbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:21 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.