Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-15-2013, 04:35 AM   #1
RyanMW2010
Registered User
 
RyanMW2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Eleven rack & my mac

Hi,
I'm interested in purchasing an eleven rack..but my macbook pro from 2006 is my only computer and only has 2gb ram. I use logic and would probably still use logic along with eleven rack, but might use pro tools that comes with it. website says requires 4gb though. So my mac isn't good enough? can i upgrade ram efficiently and cheaply somehow? Do i just not get the eleven rack?

I'm running an m-audio fast track pro into amplitube/guitar rig and into logic pro 9. there's a ton of disgusting latency and the tonality is pretty bad also. I was hoping elevenrack would cure this for me and i really dig it's "real amp response" feature. help!
RyanMW2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 10:20 AM   #2
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
 
Sid McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
You can absolutely upgrade your ram cheaply and easily. It just pops in and out, takes about 30 seconds for someone who has done is before, but even with you taking your time to do it carefully, you'll be done in under 5 minutes. Look up which type of ram is for your computer, and then go buy two 2gb cards for it (your computer can't use more than 4 I don't think, check into that though - in 2006 you miiiiight be maxed out at 2gb). It'll cost you ~$40 or so, maybe even less now since that's on the low end of ram nowadays.

Good luck!
__________________
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Sid McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 12:17 PM   #3
RyanMW2010
Registered User
 
RyanMW2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
What if my model is maxed out at 2gb and i can't add more? Shit out of luck?
RyanMW2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 01:33 PM   #4
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
 
Sid McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanMW2010
What if my model is maxed out at 2gb and i can't add more? Shit out of luck?

Yep. In fact, I'm rather shocked that an 06 macbook pro is still functioning as a recording machine. My 07 macbook died on me 2 years ago. They're great machines, but unless you plan on never updating software and using modern interfaces, then you're gonna need to upgrade eventually. You've made it 7 years, that's better than anything I've seen from the 06-08 period.

Frankly, if you have the budget for an eleven rack, you might be better off funneling that money into a brand new mac of some sort, and you'll find that with 4-8gb of ram and a i5-7 processor, you'll reduce latency to near-zero and you'll have more processing power for Amplitube to harness it's higher-quality options.

Edit: I looked it up, looks like you're limited to 2gb of RAM. Sorry dude
__________________
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite

Last edited by Sid McCall : 10-15-2013 at 01:34 PM.
Sid McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 03:38 PM   #5
xxdarrenxx
UG Fanatic
 
xxdarrenxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Get a new macbook if you wanna use logic, else buy a new non apple laptop.

You could try to find a 2nd hand macbook, and make sure it's at least a core 2 duo, which can take 4Gigs of ram, and are perfectly capable for medium recording.

These would be at least late 2008 macbook pro's, although I'd advice against it unless you get a killer deal.

Notebooks type computers are really hit or miss in lifespan. Couldn't tell you if this is the case with new i7 based notebooks, obviously time will tell in 2-3 years.
__________________

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[FONT=Palatino Linotype
[COLOR=DarkRed]Who's Andy Timmons??
[/SIZE][/B]
xxdarrenxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 04:09 PM   #6
RyanMW2010
Registered User
 
RyanMW2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid McCall
Yep. In fact, I'm rather shocked that an 06 macbook pro is still functioning as a recording machine. My 07 macbook died on me 2 years ago. They're great machines, but unless you plan on never updating software and using modern interfaces, then you're gonna need to upgrade eventually. You've made it 7 years, that's better than anything I've seen from the 06-08 period.

Frankly, if you have the budget for an eleven rack, you might be better off funneling that money into a brand new mac of some sort, and you'll find that with 4-8gb of ram and a i5-7 processor, you'll reduce latency to near-zero and you'll have more processing power for Amplitube to harness it's higher-quality options.

Edit: I looked it up, looks like you're limited to 2gb of RAM. Sorry dude


oh no, my life sucks again! haha. Maybe I'll buy an imac. macbooks are too expensive for me to afford a new one right now. I would rather put that $ directly into my strat. I'll look for a cheap 2nd hand imac or something with good specs?
RyanMW2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 05:12 PM   #7
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
 
Sid McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanMW2010
oh no, my life sucks again! haha. Maybe I'll buy an imac. macbooks are too expensive for me to afford a new one right now. I would rather put that $ directly into my strat. I'll look for a cheap 2nd hand imac or something with good specs?

Absolutely. If you have a monitor already, a Mac Mini could be perfect for you as well, at a much lower price point. The Apple keyboard and mouse are fairly cheap to add on if you don't have your own.

If your laptop is good enough for regular non-studio use, then don't buy another laptop. They're horribly overpriced if you don't need portability.
__________________
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Sid McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 06:08 PM   #8
xxdarrenxx
UG Fanatic
 
xxdarrenxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
^^ agreed.

Make sure though that you get the latest OS for Apple if you want to use a newer keyboard.

My keyboard broke, and my new one didn't fully function with older OSX, very shite on their part and totally unnecessary, but w/e.

You can always check compatible OSX version on the side of the keyboard package.

Dunno how it is with their mice.
__________________

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[FONT=Palatino Linotype
[COLOR=DarkRed]Who's Andy Timmons??
[/SIZE][/B]
xxdarrenxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 08:45 PM   #9
RyanMW2010
Registered User
 
RyanMW2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxdarrenxx
^^ agreed.

Make sure though that you get the latest OS for Apple if you want to use a newer keyboard.

My keyboard broke, and my new one didn't fully function with older OSX, very shite on their part and totally unnecessary, but w/e.

You can always check compatible OSX version on the side of the keyboard package.

Dunno how it is with their mice.


ugh, that's scummy of apple. my dad is a computer tech, so we have a ton of keyboards and mouses/mice? laying around. none of them will be compatible. Yeah, my laptop works fine for non recording stuff--which is basically just browsing this forum, reddit, strat-talk, <cough> porn. I have a nice big 22' monitor sitting in my basement ready to go..so i guess i'm getting an i mac. thanks guys.

One last question. How much of an advantage is there to using pro tools with eleven rack? I use logic and i'm so used to it.
RyanMW2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 12:52 AM   #10
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
 
Sid McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
I wouldn't switch to PT unless you're going all the way to HD with outboard processing, Logic will be just as good as any lower level PT rig with the added bonus that you're already familiar.

Ps. iMac is the all-in-one monitor, Mac mini is the cheaper option that you'd use your own monitor with
__________________
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Sid McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 04:13 AM   #11
RyanMW2010
Registered User
 
RyanMW2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
mini mac is the one! haha i was just looking at them actually. The 4gb ram models are like $500 :/. That + Elevenrack + shipping is almost $1k. I really want to upgrade my strat I wish all of these wonderful toys weren't so expensive
RyanMW2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 10:22 AM   #12
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
 
Sid McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanMW2010
mini mac is the one! haha i was just looking at them actually. The 4gb ram models are like $500 :/. That + Elevenrack + shipping is almost $1k. I really want to upgrade my strat I wish all of these wonderful toys weren't so expensive

I would buy the Mac, and spend some time using what you already have on there before you buy the Eleven Rack. You might find having a more powerful computer will solve a lot of the problems that you want to fix with the rack!

Also, try to upgrade the ram in the computer to 8gb, see if you can do it after you buy it. Some macs lately are all soldered together and you can't upgrade ram (unless you do it through apple at the point of purchase, this just happened with my girlfriend's macbook air), but I think the mac mini can be upgraded after purchase.
__________________
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Sid McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 12:08 PM   #13
xxdarrenxx
UG Fanatic
 
xxdarrenxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanMW2010
ugh, that's scummy of apple. my dad is a computer tech, so we have a ton of keyboards and mouses/mice? laying around. none of them will be compatible. Yeah, my laptop works fine for non recording stuff--which is basically just browsing this forum, reddit, strat-talk, <cough> porn. I have a nice big 22' monitor sitting in my basement ready to go..so i guess i'm getting an i mac. thanks guys.

One last question. How much of an advantage is there to using pro tools with eleven rack? I use logic and i'm so used to it.



Well they might be compatible.

The actual keyboard stuff most likely will work, but all they special keys won't like volume controls, spaces, brightness and the like.

Mouse same thing; left right button will work with some non apple mice, but how the apple mouse is programmed with it's side buttons and scrolling in the OS and software most likely won't.

I tried remapping which vaguely sound possible through 3rd party software, but I didn't get it to work.

Also what Sid stayed, stay with logic, it's powerful, good sound engine and of all the DAWS (debatable) the most user friendly.

Can't be beat for the price, and with so much music being "accepted" without a problem with under par-production, and in non "official" studio's I would stay with it.
__________________

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[FONT=Palatino Linotype
[COLOR=DarkRed]Who's Andy Timmons??
[/SIZE][/B]

Last edited by xxdarrenxx : 10-16-2013 at 12:14 PM.
xxdarrenxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 05:15 PM   #14
RyanMW2010
Registered User
 
RyanMW2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by xxdarrenxx
Well they might be compatible.

The actual keyboard stuff most likely will work, but all they special keys won't like volume controls, spaces, brightness and the like.

Mouse same thing; left right button will work with some non apple mice, but how the apple mouse is programmed with it's side buttons and scrolling in the OS and software most likely won't.

I tried remapping which vaguely sound possible through 3rd party software, but I didn't get it to work.

Also what Sid stayed, stay with logic, it's powerful, good sound engine and of all the DAWS (debatable) the most user friendly.

Can't be beat for the price, and with so much music being "accepted" without a problem with under par-production, and in non "official" studio's I would stay with it.


Interesting you point that last bit out. I love the newish album "days are gone" by the band Haim, and have been listening to it a ton. The production quality, especially on the programmed drums, is pretty low, but you barely notice if you aren't looking for it. I really wonder what they made it on.
RyanMW2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.