Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 01-22-2013, 12:03 AM   #1
DiveRightIn63
Registered User
 
DiveRightIn63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Two amp heads + ABY => Cab

So I have two amp heads. One for clean, one for distortion. I have an ABY that let's be pick which head I output to. Now, if both of these heads go into the same cab, is that safe since only one head will be pushing (substantial) power to the cab?
__________________
ADELOS
POP PUNK
for fans of...

Motion City Soundtrack, Get Up Kids, Jimmy Eat World, Transit, Brand New, Dashboard Confessional, Early November, Fall Out Boy, Jawbreaker, Polar Bear Club, The Story So Far, the Wonder Years, Something Corporate.
DiveRightIn63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:05 AM   #2
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
No never hook 2 amps to 1 cab unless that cab has a stereo inputs. If it is mono inputs it will not work and will possibly ruin both amps.
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:09 AM   #3
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
What he said.

Wire up your cab in stereo if it isn't already. Left for one amp, right for t'other.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 12:12 AM   #4
chip46
Do wasps make honey?
 
chip46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Home of the Blues
Yep, the stereo cab option would probably be your best bet. If not, Radial makes a head switcher for this type of setup, but it's only an A/B if memory serves.
chip46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:18 AM   #5
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals
 
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: deep south
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
What he said.

Wire up your cab in stereo if it isn't already. Left for one amp, right for t'other.


also watch watage, you would be cutting the wattage in half, ecah side would have to be able to handle one amp. so two speakers per amp.


two amps in stereo is fun though. ping-pong delays are orgasmic.
__________________
FRYETTE SIG-X
SPLAWN KT88 NITRO
SPLAWN KT88 PROMOD
MESA TREM-O-VERB
MESA MKIV...

Ibanez Prestiges
Gibsons
and Wolfgangs

WTLT
trashedlostfdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.