Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 03-18-2013, 07:42 PM   #1
AWACS
I want all of the things
 
AWACS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The frozen wasteland that is, central canada.
Rattling and recording to computer

Couple questions:

Whenever I put my amp head onto my cabinet (like most people do) and turn it up loud enough (like 4 or 5, not that loud,) there is something in my amp that vibrates due to the loud volume being put out. Is there some way to fix this other than taking the amp off of the head? I have yet to go inside and make sure everything is secured, so that could be the problem.

2nd question: My amp has a power soak feature where when there is no power going to the cabinet, you are able to record directly to a computer, etc. Am I able to route my signal to my computer with a mono cable, specifically the rocksmith 1/4"-USB cable, or would it have to be stereo? or does it even matter?

Thanks.
__________________
Caution: This post may contain my opinion and/or inaccurate information.

Mesa Boogie Mark V PRS SE Cu24 Voltage S212 Pedals!
Dunlop CryBaby WayHuge Swollen Pickle CMATMods Signa Drive Digitech BadMonkey
Boss TU-3 TCE Corona Boss DD-6 HBE Mimic
AWACS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 09:42 PM   #2
I K0nijn I
Registered User
 
I K0nijn I's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Belgium
Don't know wether you know for sure, but usually, turning on a tube amp that is not connected to a load (i.e. a cabinet or loadbox) isn't a good idea. I blew something in my amp recently when I mistakenly disconnected the speakers when it was on standby for about 3 seconds.

Also, are you sure the rattling is your amplifier? I thought my previous amplifier was rattling, but it was my metal closet besides it that was rattling. :P
I K0nijn I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 10:26 PM   #3
AWACS
I want all of the things
 
AWACS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The frozen wasteland that is, central canada.
Yeah, unfortunately I'm 99% positive it's my amp.
__________________
Caution: This post may contain my opinion and/or inaccurate information.

Mesa Boogie Mark V PRS SE Cu24 Voltage S212 Pedals!
Dunlop CryBaby WayHuge Swollen Pickle CMATMods Signa Drive Digitech BadMonkey
Boss TU-3 TCE Corona Boss DD-6 HBE Mimic
AWACS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 02:40 PM   #4
fly135
Cheap Gear Enthusiast
 
fly135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by I K0nijn I
Don't know wether you know for sure, but usually, turning on a tube amp that is not connected to a load (i.e. a cabinet or loadbox) isn't a good idea. I blew something in my amp recently when I mistakenly disconnected the speakers when it was on standby for about 3 seconds.
That's surprising. When standby is on, the high voltage to the tubes is disconnected and only the tube heaters are running. You should be able to disconnect the speaker in that situation.
__________________
Tasty Licks - A collection of my music
fly135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:32 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.