Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 05-03-2013, 08:56 AM   #21
ElliottJeffries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
I just got Pro Tools for the first time and found most of it's processing is through the cpu. In fact, I was having audio issues until I could find which processes were interfering with my Pro Tools audio performance. This meant optimizing my computer performance settings and disabling everything I wasn't using.
ElliottJeffries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 09:50 AM   #22
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
^That's why most DAW's recomend you use a dedicated audio machine... especially for something like ProTools
__________________
ABSENT SKIES
FFO Counter Parts, Misery Signals


The Site I Write For / My Soundcloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangMan311
Proving yet again that you consistently have the worst taste on this forum.
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 01:38 PM   #23
T4D
20 guitars and counting..
 
T4D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Aussie in the UAE
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElliottJeffries
I just got Pro Tools for the first time and found most of it's processing is through the cpu. In fact, I was having audio issues until I could find which processes were interfering with my Pro Tools audio performance. This meant optimizing my computer performance settings and disabling everything I wasn't using.


hmm.. you must have a older type Computer I have a i7 and I don't think I've seen PT10 working over 40% usage . the only time I have seen it over 40% is when i have a plugin error ( most of the time it's amp farm) but I only work with about 30 or 40 tracks on a song and I don't have many virtual instruments only 3 or 4 max so maybe if your working with alot more then that, it may get to higher ??

Ram issues are another thing, I have 16 gigs but since PT 10 is only 32 bit it's limited is 3.5 gigs before Mem messages start coming up.. come on version 11 !!
__________________
Newest Tune
Last Album Album here too
I'm a 3D Artist still making tunes Joy4D Video Joy4D Site

I got Protools, Eleven Rack & lots of other stuff.

Last edited by T4D : 05-03-2013 at 03:41 PM.
T4D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 09:26 PM   #24
Arch1119
UG's Wii
 
Arch1119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Texas
DSP


Learn about it...


'nuff said
__________________
ESP Eclipse Standard Series W/ PRS Santana II Pickups
PRS SE Soapbar II
Peavey 5150 120w Head
Avatar 412 Traditional Cab(v30's+G12H30's)
Malekko, Rocktron, T-Rex and MXR/Dunlop pedals
Arch1119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 10:17 PM   #25
ElliottJeffries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch1119
DSP


Learn about it...


'nuff said

Quite a useless comment. It sounds like you're trying to prove something without making any real effort to engage. All you're doing is pointing out limitations in your communication skills.
ElliottJeffries is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 10:18 PM   #26
Arch1119
UG's Wii
 
Arch1119's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElliottJeffries
Quite a useless comment. It sounds like you're trying to prove something without making any real effort to engage. All you're doing is pointing out limitations in your communication skills.


an obvious troll is obvious...
__________________
ESP Eclipse Standard Series W/ PRS Santana II Pickups
PRS SE Soapbar II
Peavey 5150 120w Head
Avatar 412 Traditional Cab(v30's+G12H30's)
Malekko, Rocktron, T-Rex and MXR/Dunlop pedals
Arch1119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 11:49 PM   #27
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arch1119
an obvious troll is obvious...

Why yes you are. You haven't provided any useful additions to the thread (which should really be dead by now anyway, I don't know why it keeps coming back up).
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2013, 11:24 AM   #28
ElliottJeffries
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
OK, if this thread is dead, thanks for reminding us. Now go away.

DSP digital signal processing. I'm assuming the poster who said "nuff said" is talking about adding sound cards with plugins to your computer. I've never done this (yet) but right away I'm thinking "how much is this going to cost?" Well, I saw one on Sweetwater for $299 to $1899 on the low end, then Avid's cards start at $6999.

I'm wondering how the plugins compare to Pro Tools on the Universal Audio UAD-2, the least expensive. Otherwise it may be better to upgrade the processor. If your motherboard can handle it. Or make the best of what you have.
ElliottJeffries is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:59 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.