Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 12:42 PM   #1
ambler3
yes b0ss?
 
ambler3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: England
Powering pedals

Soon I'm probably going to create my own pedalboard as I'm soon going to have a fair few pedals. When my two new ones arrive I will have these:
1) Korg Pitchblack tuner
2) Digitech Bad Monkey
3) Boss NS-2
4) peavey VK footswitch
(possibly get an EQ pedal in the future)

My question is, how to power them.
At the moment, I have two 9V power cables, and that is fine for the moment, but with my new pedals, how should I power them?

I was thinking I could get a daisy chain, and connect them using one 9V power cable, then chain the power to other pedals. Would this be possible/would it damage my equipment?
I know I could get a brick, but well, they're expensive and funds are limited.
__________________
Ibanez ART 100DX
Schecter Omen Extreme 6
Yamaha F310 acoustic
Yamaha RBX270

Peavey 6505+ 112
POD HD500x

Read my blog! http://writingwithoutsubstance.blogspot.co.uk/

Listen to my music!https://soundcloud.com/rufus-ambler

Last edited by ambler3 : 10-11-2013 at 12:44 PM.
ambler3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 01:18 PM   #2
Spambot_2
Name's Luca
 
Spambot_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Italy
Something like this?

If that's the case, you're fine until your pedals' required current doesn't exceed the maximum power output of your supply.
In that case I don't really know if the pedals would just have less headroom or if you would cook the power supply.
__________________
worthwhile quotes, because quote tags occupy too much space
Spambot_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 01:28 PM   #3
DroptuneD
Muff Diver
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
One Spot power supply with a 5 daisy chain.
__________________
Ibanez RGR421EXFM >> Maxon OD808 >> BOSS NS-2 >> Peavey 5150 212
DroptuneD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 01:43 PM   #4
flexiblemile
Registered User
 
flexiblemile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
the korg tuner has a 200ma out, doesn't it?
flexiblemile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 01:52 PM   #5
ambler3
yes b0ss?
 
ambler3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: England
yeah it does, I could probably stick that at the end of the chain then
__________________
Ibanez ART 100DX
Schecter Omen Extreme 6
Yamaha F310 acoustic
Yamaha RBX270

Peavey 6505+ 112
POD HD500x

Read my blog! http://writingwithoutsubstance.blogspot.co.uk/

Listen to my music!https://soundcloud.com/rufus-ambler
ambler3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 02:45 PM   #6
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
if you already have the ns2 you might as well try it and see if you're getting any noise. if not, sorted.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Blackstar can blow me; dodgey ****ers.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 02:46 PM   #7
gay4slipknot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Get something like a power brick, just will hum less, or if you're a bit more serious, voodoo labs pedal power 2 (Y)
__________________
>Gibson & Schecter Guitars
>Orange Amps
>And some neighbours to piss off
gay4slipknot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 02:49 PM   #8
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
isn't a power brick a glorified daisy chain? I mean if he already has an NS2 it's a daisy chain...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Blackstar can blow me; dodgey ****ers.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 03:06 PM   #9
ambler3
yes b0ss?
 
ambler3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: England
Cheers for the answers, i'll probably just kick my tuner pedal out for the moment, and replace it with the bad monkey for the moment while I decide what to do, as I could just grab a cheap power brick for 30-40

Saying that, just found a HB powerplant on gumtree for 15, so might grab that next weekend.
__________________
Ibanez ART 100DX
Schecter Omen Extreme 6
Yamaha F310 acoustic
Yamaha RBX270

Peavey 6505+ 112
POD HD500x

Read my blog! http://writingwithoutsubstance.blogspot.co.uk/

Listen to my music!https://soundcloud.com/rufus-ambler
ambler3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 05:34 PM   #10
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
you don't need to, the ns2 will power your pedals with a daisy chain lead.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Blackstar can blow me; dodgey ****ers.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:18 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.