Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-25-2012, 06:49 PM   #1
Caaarrl94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: England
Vox VT20+ owners - I need you.

I'm looking at buying a new amp, and was originally planning on getting a small tube amp with a multi effects unit.
i wasn't going to get a modelling amp because of the whole modelling being modelled. haha
But i've heard that the vox can be put into a manual mode?
meaning all effects and presets/amp models would be bypassed, and only the raw sound of the amp is left.

Is this true?

Also if this is true, would it mean it would more the happily accept a multi effects pedal?
__________________
"I think the most important thing about music is the sense of escape." - Thom Yorke

Last edited by Caaarrl94 : 10-25-2012 at 06:51 PM.
Caaarrl94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:05 PM   #2
lucky1978
Blues Kazooist
 
lucky1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Just buy one. You can scrutinize any amp to death but in the end, you're talking about a $150 amp...just buy it
lucky1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:55 PM   #3
katalyzt13
Registered User
 
katalyzt13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
don't buy the VT20+ if you don't want a modeling amp. If you don't want a modeling amp, then the VT20+ isn't a bad choice.
katalyzt13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:03 PM   #4
Caaarrl94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: England
i'd like a modelling amp because of how great they are for practicing, no need for pedals and stuff.
but i'd like to bypass all the modelling if i choose to use pedals with it
__________________
"I think the most important thing about music is the sense of escape." - Thom Yorke
Caaarrl94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:08 PM   #5
Sampy
Registered User
 
Sampy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Essex
Manual mode just means that you aren't using a saved preset. As far as I am aware there is no way to bypass the modelling.

Also, most pedals should sound fine with the modelling on.
__________________
"Music snobbery is the worst kind of snobbery. 'Oh, you like those noises? Those sounds in your ear? Do you like them? They're the wrong sounds. You should like these sounds in your ear.'"
- Dara O'Briain
Sampy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:13 PM   #6
Caaarrl94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sampy
Manual mode just means that you aren't using a saved preset. As far as I am aware there is no way to bypass the modelling.

Also, most pedals should sound fine with the modelling on.


I think i just heard manual mode and presumed that's what it was.
would it act as a normal amp if i just chose the cleanest model with no effects?
__________________
"I think the most important thing about music is the sense of escape." - Thom Yorke
Caaarrl94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:48 PM   #7
Unholy.Daemon
Call Me Jamie.
 
Unholy.Daemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Essex, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caaarrl94
I think i just heard manual mode and presumed that's what it was.
would it act as a normal amp if i just chose the cleanest model with no effects?


yeah that'd be fine, i used to do it when i was using my friend's VT20, sounded exactly like my pedal always does
__________________
I offer mixing and mastering services, PM me for more info

Current Gear;
Jackson RR3
Fender MIM Tele
Randall RH50T
Marshall 1960AV (Celestion V30's)
Unholy.Daemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 03:20 AM   #8
kolenik
bithcez love pedalz
 
kolenik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Slovenia
Pedals work quite good with VT30, so I see no reason why they wouldn't work with VT20.
kolenik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 03:32 AM   #9
GaryBillington
Grumpier than normal.
 
GaryBillington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Trow Vegas
One of the clean modes in the VT series is just that - clean, with no modelling applied. That one will take pedals OK.

Be wary about using pedals with the modeled channels though - depending on the pedal/model, the modelling can override the pedal and make some fairly awful sounds.

If you're selective you can be OK, but modelling amps are mostly designed to work with their in-built effects rather than pedals, as the in-built effects would be placed at the appropriate point in the chain, whereas pedals have to be placed before the amp.
__________________
.
Gibson LP Studio x2 (Worn Brown Satin & Swamp Ash)
MXR M132 Super Comp > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30 210 + GS112VE cab
Jet City JCA22H
GaryBillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:16 AM   #10
kyle62
Need a dispenser here!
 
kyle62's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW England
You're making a big fuss about nothing. The amp models are designed to respond like an actual amp - and that includes pedals.
They're not as dynamic and responsive as a good tube amp, normally, but if you turn off the extra effects (and cabinet emulation) they still very much feel like a real amp

I tend to turn off cab modelling on the Line6s I've owned, it definitely makes it feel more realistic.
__________________
"I don't care about the things I leave at home, cause things can't really keep you company when you're alone"
Mark Sandman


Head honcho at Stubborn Sound!
https://soundcloud.com/stubbornsound
kyle62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:38 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.