Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  

Closed Thread
Old 12-11-2012, 01:01 PM   #1
Join Date: Dec 2012
http://www.electricguitardiscount.com - any ideas?


Does anyone know anything about this? This looks like one of those 'too good to be true' sites. The goods are sold under the big names with clear headstock pics.

I got there through an ad/banner/ link on Facebook

The prices are much lower than you'd expect to see (BIG alarm bell rings!) but then again they're not ridiculously low like on some of the rip-off sites.

It's not clear exactly what the site is - is it like EBay, DHGate etc, just the shop window that sellers trade through, or is the site the seller's homepage? There doesn't seem to be any 'about' info or contact details (BIG alarm bell rings!)

The ads look more convincing than some of the amateurish tat you see on the scam sites; fuller product details, better English. Still the photos of the goods look like stock pics, rather than real-life guitars.

I'm reluctant to believe it's genuine at these prices, but then seems a cut above the obvious scam/fake stuff you see on the net, and looks like it actually knows what it's doing and means business. Any ideas / experiences?
Verzila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 01:16 PM   #2
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2007
On top of the sketchy stuff you pointed out, they don't include any of the actual guitar brand names(Gibs instead of Gibson, Fen instead of Fender). I'd say it's pretty obvious this isn't legit, you just aren't gonna get those guitars at those prices.
zl1288 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 01:21 PM   #3
Ronda Rousey Fanboy
Charvel1995's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London, ON
I call shenanigans, total scam.
Main Rig:

Epiphone MKH Les Paul Custom 7 - Ronda
Ibanez RG8 "Scarlet" - AKA The Rambanez
Fender Strat "Danielle"/"Dani"
Line 6 POD HD Pro
Randall XL 4x12

Come join us... [/SIZE]

Purchase list: Jim Root Tele, Jim Root Jazzmaster, MTM20
Charvel1995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 01:38 PM   #4
Officially Knighted
jj1565's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NewYork ............................... Hot Chick guitahh playah ~~teh sexay
i clicked just one "Fen" and they only show the back of the headstock. and those arent fender tuners....

Originally Posted by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.

Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A/GB&C WTLT Lists 2011
jj1565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 01:41 PM   #5
Last of a Dyin' Breed
GaryBillington's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2001
The Gretsch's I looked at did show the logo on the headstock, so that could just be dependent on the guitar.

Also, there is a contact page - apparently they're available "7/24". Lots of other similar grammar errors, and a choice of currency so there's potential for it to be a genuine eastern site....

....but the prices just make me not believe it. A full-on Gretsch for less than the price of an Electromatic? Not a chance in hell.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H

My SoundCloud

Last edited by GaryBillington : 12-11-2012 at 01:42 PM.
GaryBillington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:06 PM   #6
Showiddlydiddly's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: England
Apparently they all weigh '5g', too.

I call bullshit.
Showiddlydiddly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:14 PM   #7
Roc8995's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
These are definitely counterfeits. Let's not give them any free advertising, please?

Try something new

Roc8995 is offline   Reply With Quote
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:05 AM.

Forum Archives / About / TOS / Advertise with us / Customer Support / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2016
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.