Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 04-09-2013, 11:56 AM   #121
H4T3BR33D3R
UG's Poison Mist
 
H4T3BR33D3R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: The laaaaaaand of the rising sun
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarrodthebobo
Jeese. Only on UG can a simple comment about something can be twisted and turned into a huge flaming argument of pure mental ******ation




It's not only on UG
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by eGraham
I'm not artsy at all. At least not in the visual sense.

But, I did just eat some pizza so I am quite fartsy




Quote:
Originally Posted by Axelfox
Dude i like rap and stuff. Im a furry and I also have a wolf plush with a hole that i use at times.


Only at times, though.
H4T3BR33D3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 11:59 AM   #122
Dimarzio45
So Sad
 
Dimarzio45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rochester, NY - USA
Ahem.....Well Then!

I was thinking about hooking up my solid state head and using that as somewhat of a MultiFX unit and bringing that into a tube head. I wanted to "tube-up" the sound. Any thoughts on this? Will this actually help or should it be wired up the opposite way?
Dimarzio45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:01 PM   #123
Jarrodthebobo
Youth Gone Wild
 
Jarrodthebobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by H4T3BR33D3R
It's not only on UG


Good point

Shoulda thought that through a bit better.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcraddict81592
If you need to kill a man with a 9v adapter? I say strangulate. Or swing the heavy end around and aim for the temple, all depends on your style.


FrankenBee Build
Jarrodthebobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:10 PM   #124
Arby911
Finding the Pattern
 
Arby911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimarzio45
Ahem.....Well Then!

I was thinking about hooking up my solid state head and using that as somewhat of a MultiFX unit and bringing that into a tube head. I wanted to "tube-up" the sound. Any thoughts on this? Will this actually help or should it be wired up the opposite way?




If they both have effects loops, it's simplicity itself. If not it's still possible, but more problematic.

What amps do you have?
__________________
The man who holds to a belief because of tradition, or hides it because he fears he may be shown to be wrong, does not love the truth but manifests a coward’s faithfulness to his prejudices.
Arby911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:20 PM   #125
Dimarzio45
So Sad
 
Dimarzio45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rochester, NY - USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arby911
If they both have effects loops, it's simplicity itself. If not it's still possible, but more problematic.

What amps do you have?

The Solid State is a Vetta II and the tube head is a 1969 Fanon Masco. The problem is that the Fanon Masco doesn't have an FX loop. Eventually I'm going to add to the Tube amp collection....Maybe a Carvin head....or combo.

Edit: The Vetta II is a Line 6 - One of the only good amps that company has ever cranked out...
Dimarzio45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:32 PM   #126
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimarzio45
The Solid State is a Vetta II and the tube head is a 1969 Fanon Masco. The problem is that the Fanon Masco doesn't have an FX loop. Eventually I'm going to add to the Tube amp collection....Maybe a Carvin head....or combo.

Edit: The Vetta II is a Line 6 - One of the only good amps that company has ever cranked out...


well, i can't really tell you how good it will sound, but if you wanna hook the Masco to the Vetta II then you can get an attenuator with a line out on it (i think weber, among others, makes one). this will provide a dummy load for the Masco (to protect) and then convert the signal to something you can send to the Vetta II.

i have heard a lot of good things about the Vetta series, so don't get your hopes up too high for a better 'tube sound'

another option (if you wanna use the vetta as a power amp) is to get a tube preamp (Hughes and Ketner make floor ones, you can also get rackmount ones from like ENGL, Mesa or Marshall)
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:42 PM   #127
Dimarzio45
So Sad
 
Dimarzio45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rochester, NY - USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by gumbilicious
well, i can't really tell you how good it will sound, but if you wanna hook the Masco to the Vetta II then you can get an attenuator with a line out on it (i think weber, among others, makes one). this will provide a dummy load for the Masco (to protect) and then convert the signal to something you can send to the Vetta II.

i have heard a lot of good things about the Vetta series, so don't get your hopes up too high for a better 'tube sound'

another option (if you wanna use the vetta as a power amp) is to get a tube preamp (Hughes and Ketner make floor ones, you can also get rackmount ones from like ENGL, Mesa or Marshall)

Yeah. I'm more in favor of the tube preamp instead just because it's a bit simpler. What I have been doing, and getting decent results, is plugging the headphone output into the input of the tube head. I know, it's crappy to use the headphone output because if I'm going wrong anywhere in the setup, that is definitely the place to start...

Could you, or someone, explain what an attenuator is and how that could possibly help my setup?...
Dimarzio45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:49 PM   #128
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimarzio45
Yeah. I'm more in favor of the tube preamp instead just because it's a bit simpler. What I have been doing, and getting decent results, is plugging the headphone output into the input of the tube head. I know, it's crappy to use the headphone output because if I'm going wrong anywhere in the setup, that is definitely the place to start...

Could you, or someone, explain what an attenuator is and how that could possibly help my setup?...


man, i got what you were trying to do backward. i thought you were trying to plug the tube amp into the Solid State one. this means an attenuator won't do anything for what you wanna do.

the vetta has an effects loop right (you mentioned it did earlier)?

send the 'effects loop out' to the tube amp's input. the signal may be a little hot and the impedance might not be optimal, but it should work.

you can also send the headphone out, but that is a little sketchy. i am sure you are keeping the volume low on the headphone out, but are you also converting the TRS signal to a TS? and i am also sure there is an impedance mismatch... but w/e. if it sounds good and nothing sounds like it is straining then it is far from ideal but shouldn't hurt anything.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:50 PM   #129
Arby911
Finding the Pattern
 
Arby911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimarzio45
The Solid State is a Vetta II and the tube head is a 1969 Fanon Masco. The problem is that the Fanon Masco doesn't have an FX loop. Eventually I'm going to add to the Tube amp collection....Maybe a Carvin head....or combo.

Edit: The Vetta II is a Line 6 - One of the only good amps that company has ever cranked out...


I THINK the following will work, but follow these instructions at your own risk!!

On the Vetta you'll need to set up the OUTPUT to direct (turns off the speakers), which allows your master volume knob to control the 1/4 DIRECT out level, then patch from the 1/4 wet direct out on the Vetta to the input on your Fanon Masco with the Master volume on the Vetta OFF, then ever so slowly raise it until you get the 'right' signal.

Should work, but YMMV. No guarantees, expressed or implied!
__________________
The man who holds to a belief because of tradition, or hides it because he fears he may be shown to be wrong, does not love the truth but manifests a coward’s faithfulness to his prejudices.
Arby911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 01:04 PM   #130
Dimarzio45
So Sad
 
Dimarzio45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rochester, NY - USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arby911
I THINK the following will work, but follow these instructions at your own risk!!

On the Vetta you'll need to set up the OUTPUT to direct (turns off the speakers), which allows your master volume knob to control the 1/4 DIRECT out level, then patch from the 1/4 wet direct out on the Vetta to the input on your Fanon Masco with the Master volume on the Vetta OFF, then ever so slowly raise it until you get the 'right' signal.

Should work, but YMMV. No guarantees, expressed or implied!

Oh okay. haha sounds risky. But, Gumbilicious brought up a good point; I could use the FX loop OUT on the Vetta and plug that into the input of the head. Seems like it should work better than the Headphone out, for sure. However, I'm stupid when it comes to FX loops considering that I've never really used them at all....So the FX loop OUT could work for sending the signal to the tube head? If so, that'd be great!
Dimarzio45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 01:11 PM   #131
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimarzio45
Oh okay. haha sounds risky. But, Gumbilicious brought up a good point; I could use the FX loop OUT on the Vetta and plug that into the input of the head. Seems like it should work better than the Headphone out, for sure. However, I'm stupid when it comes to FX loops considering that I've never really used them at all....So the FX loop OUT could work for sending the signal to the tube head? If so, that'd be great!


both can do it, both aren't 100% optimal.

i just pulled up a pic of the back of the amp, arby saw that the vetta has 'Direct Outputs' though. this is the output you wanna use over the effects loop or headphone outs. use the 1/4" unbalanced outputs.

arby's advice is more solid in this situation.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 01:21 PM   #132
Dimarzio45
So Sad
 
Dimarzio45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rochester, NY - USA
ahhhh okay. I confused myself with the Direct Outs and a Headphone Out. My Spider head has a headphone out, not the Vetta. I've been using the Direct Outs to the tube head....I'll still have to try out the FX loop just for kicks to see what the difference may be...

I appreciate the help, guys! Thanks!
Dimarzio45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:18 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.