Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings > Tabs & Chords
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 11-21-2008, 10:12 PM   #1
gonzaw
UG's Secret Agent

By Torghatten (melodic) [GP5,GP4,MIDI]

Yeah, I know, random title (which is why half of my songs end in -ium, I lack creativity for names )

Anyways, I started the acoustic part some days ago (capo on 1st fret, but you don't need it that much), and then I tried finishing the song even with vocals.

Well, the vocals can be better (I am not very good at making vocal melodies), and I guess the variations I threw around (so it didn't get too repetitive) could be done better too, or the singer can decide them in the moment or whatever (the vocals are a rough approx of what I want them to be)...

Well, I spent all of today with the solo, and I am happy with it, but I think I could improve the phrasing a little more (and also improve the backing track, but I also suck with drums and strucked chords)...

It is in a similar fashion to other melodic songs I post, so don't expect it to be long or anything (very short, intro-verse-chorus-verse-chorus-verse-solo and that's it).

Enjoy...
Attached Files
File Type: zip By Torghatten.zip (20.6 KB, 162 views)

Last edited by gonzaw : 11-24-2008 at 11:21 PM.
gonzaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 12:58 AM   #2
ExplorerFreak
Baphomet's Horn

I'm typing this as my udon noodles are getting cold so excuse the short nature of this post.

Great piece and very catchy. I actually think the verse is more infectious than the chorus, which probably shouldn't be the case?

About your lead playing... I think you need to try to take a more conservative touch towards the bar 9-19 "fill guitar" playing, specifically at the bend at 13. I wanted so badly for that bend to be as huge and emotional/powerful as it has potential to be. The same sort of desire resounds through your solo, though it is very good.

I'm nit-picking here!

Very good work. 8.5/10.