Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 08-05-2009, 03:14 PM   #1
TechnicolorType
<33333333334567
 
TechnicolorType's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Skype/ MSN/ AIM/ NINJAM/ etc. - With Guitar Rig 3, Amplitube, or Revalver

Okay.
So to start this out, Guitar Rig, Amplitube, and Revalver are like the virtual amp modelling programs.. where you plug your guitar straight into your computer and those create the distortion and effects and stuff.
Yep. Just your average digital crap like any multi-effects pedal.. just on your computer instead.

Anyways, getting to the point..
If one were to go on a program in which you can go into a mic call or send voice clips or record and the like.. and they did, it'd send their dry guitar signal - if hooked into their computer.
Now, those three virtual amp programs all convert that dry signal into whatever.. but I'm not sure if there's a way to then send that signal back out..

There a ways for using some audio interfaces to use the virtual amp sounds as effects to add into your guitar signal after.. but I don't want to do that. I want to be able to play on something and have my sound already like that without having to record it down.. like the way I hear it on the programs.

Like, I want it to be the normal sound on the computer for recording.. like if I were to go on MSN or Skype and go into a call.. if I play I want them to hear the signal after it's gone through Guitar Rig or whatever it is I'm using.. but they'll only hear the dry guitar sound, while I'll be hearing the one with distortion.. (since the program is up and running)

I'm sorry if this sounds confusing, kind of tricky to explain.

Basically, I want to be able to play on NINJAM with one of these programs.. which is the only reason I have these programs.. but I can't find a way to.

But anyways.. yeah.. please help me out here =]
thanks in advance.
TechnicolorType is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:16 PM   #2
stephen_rettie
UG's Non-anonymous
 
stephen_rettie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
tl;dr
but i use guitar rig 3 to record, i think it sounds pretty good.


Edit: ok i got my head around this now you took a while to get to the point. as the guy below said skype picks up sound via a mic, so you could use a line out to speakers i guess. Guitar -> guitar rig -> speakers.
__________________
Growlithe uses Leer: "Say goodbye to your defence, bitch."

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antis0cial
Wisest man I have seen in the Pit since a long time


Check out ma chunes! C4C!

http://soundcloud.com/stephen_rettie

http://profile.ultimate-guitar.com/stephen_rettie/

Last edited by stephen_rettie : 08-05-2009 at 03:21 PM.
stephen_rettie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:17 PM   #3
Kevy Absolution
Going to Neverender in KC
 
Kevy Absolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Because skype uses built in or external mics, it doesn't pick up the line-in signal, so no, that won't happen.
__________________
breaking hearts
&
breaking guitars
Kevy Absolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:31 PM   #4
Dream Floyd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Brussels, Belgium
You could try to do something with the soundchip... sh*t I can't remember what it's called... but yeah it's in settings if you got vista... I know there's a way...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by theogonia777
and then there's free jazz, which isn't even for musicians.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born A Fool
As my old guitar teacher once said: Metal really comes from classical music. The only difference is pinch harmonics, double bass, and lyrics about killing goats.
Dream Floyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 03:52 PM   #5
AntiG3
Hit me, you can't hurt me
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Meguro City, Japan
Buy a splitter. Plug into speaker out. Connect your speakers in, and use a male to male cable to connect the other out into your mic.

Oops. Read it all
__________________
I have a ponytail fetish.
..And a labcoat fetish. SCIENCE!

Last edited by AntiG3 : 08-05-2009 at 03:54 PM.
AntiG3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 04:28 PM   #6
TechnicolorType
<33333333334567
 
TechnicolorType's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevy Absolution
Because skype uses built in or external mics, it doesn't pick up the line-in signal, so no, that won't happen.


Actually, it does pick up the line-in signal.
If you have a normal non-usb mic it plugs into the little RED HOLE on the back. -.-
to your soundcard, and if you have a 1/4 to 1/8 jack for guitar, then you plug it in there meaning it works the exact same way.
I can get Skype to pick up my line-in signal easily.
Any method of recording is the same as using a normal cheap mic.. except for differences on what they go through and whatnot.
Picking up my line-in signal through something (like Skype) is not what the problem is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stephen_rettie
tl;dr
but i use guitar rig 3 to record, i think it sounds pretty good.


Edit: ok i got my head around this now you took a while to get to the point. as the guy below said skype picks up sound via a mic, so you could use a line out to speakers i guess. Guitar -> guitar rig -> speakers.


Yeah, I know.
But if I were going to mic it I wouldn't bother with this digital crap and I'd mic my actual amp.. =\
I just want to be able to do this so I can play online without having to bother with micing up my amp.. for some reasons.

Last edited by TechnicolorType : 08-05-2009 at 04:31 PM.
TechnicolorType is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 06:44 PM   #7
gfpete
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
have you found a way to do it ? i want to do the exact same thing -_-
gfpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 06:46 PM   #8
stratman_13
fyrestarter
 
stratman_13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 6, 1, 5, Oh, I forget.
Wow. Massive necrobump.
__________________
--

I can stumble drunk over hope and love, or I could just keep drinking until I sober up.

--
stratman_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 05:02 PM   #9
arthurkhairulli
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I found the way!

http://composense.blogspot.com/2012...r-to-skype.html

Here is my article about it! I'm using virtual software cables.
arthurkhairulli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 05:06 PM   #10
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
double massive necro bump.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 05:56 PM   #11
Raijouta
Actually called Dylan
 
Raijouta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
For anybody still interested, you could do something like this very easily with Virtual Audio Cable.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
Raijouta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:04 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.