Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > UG Community > The Pit
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 08-10-2009, 12:17 PM   #61
LordBishek
ಠ_ಠ
 
LordBishek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: A stranger in a stranger land
Hmmm. Tigerdirect is it? I hear good things about that. But I'm in the UK, so most companies I know are over here, sorry.
__________________
Oh my love, though our bodies may be parted,
Though our skin may not touch skin
Look for me with the sun-bright swallow,
I will come on the breath of the wind


JOHN BUTLER TRIO||KAKI KING||IRON & WINE||ELLIOTT SMITH


I'M UNCONDITIONALLY HERS
LordBishek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:20 PM   #62
zombies
quack
 
zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Tigerdirect doesn't have PCs that are good for gaming =\. i think that site is more for parts than desktops.
zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:22 PM   #63
LordBishek
ಠ_ಠ
 
LordBishek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: A stranger in a stranger land
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombies
Tigerdirect doesn't have PCs that are good for gaming =\. i think that site is more for parts than desktops.


Ohhhh, sorry, I thought parts were what you were after. D'oh.

Sorry bro, can't help you, I guess. Why not ask some of the d00dz in the gaming thread where they got their PCs? Although most gamers I know tend to homebuild, it's relatively inexpensive nowadays.
__________________
Oh my love, though our bodies may be parted,
Though our skin may not touch skin
Look for me with the sun-bright swallow,
I will come on the breath of the wind


JOHN BUTLER TRIO||KAKI KING||IRON & WINE||ELLIOTT SMITH


I'M UNCONDITIONALLY HERS
LordBishek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:23 PM   #64
paintITblack39
triangle offense expert
 
paintITblack39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: dc
Quote:
Originally Posted by sadistic_monkey
Hey. I got a macbook the other day, everything's running fine but I can't get any IM program to work. MSN just said I wasn't connected to the internet, when obviously I am and I can't get any of the others to connect

What am I missing?

did you try ichat?

i use adium, which serves as one client for different IM services, such as AIM, MSN, facebook chat, and others. the only thing i wish it had was IRC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordBishek
I'm using a 700W PSU in my desktop machine - when I turn the computer off, should I turn the PSU off to reduce fatigue, or does it not make a massive amount of difference?

not really. actually when your computer is running, it's not even using 700W. 700W is just the maximum power it can use. your computer is actually running around 60-100W. the same thing goes for laptops, except they don't require as much power due to the low power consuming parts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kurt/armstrong
Whenever I try to go somewhere in firefox, I keep getting this error.

http://i29.tinypic.com/zhcj.jpg

It only started happening after I fixed this "fast browser search" malware that my sister got off of facebook.
I had to edit the about:config stuff...
Im not sure what happened, though.

I would appreciate any form of help

if you got malware, there's a good chance firefox took a permanent **** even if you already removed the malware. also, did you edit anything else in "about:config"?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChucklesMginty
My Dell Inspiron broke.. It was under warranty but getting a refund has been taking a long time. Luckily it was paid for by credit card so they should hopefully be dealing with it.

Has anyone here ever managed to get a penny back off Dell? I'm so angry that a company as big as Dell can't provide a refund on a faulty product.

you'll never get a refund for a laptop even if it's under warranty unless your laptop was bought within the past 30 days. if anything, they'll consistently service your laptop while it is under warranty.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombies
hey guys im getting a new computer soon, but i was wondering where i should buy one. i want a gaming pc, but i cant build a new desktop. i was wondering if this was a good site to buy one considering that it's VERY cheap compared to buying from bestbuy or dell

http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/

it depends on what your budget is. cyber power is good, but you'll experience customer service and build quality issues. or at least that's what i've heard from many reviews.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xiaoxi
Computer Thread 10.6 eh?

Someone is anxious for Snow Leopard

i'm glad someone got it .
__________________
Sent from my iPad.
paintITblack39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:23 PM   #65
metaldud536
Similar to a pony
 
metaldud536's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Florida, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordBishek
Ohhhh, sorry, I thought parts were what you were after. D'oh.

Sorry bro, can't help you, I guess. Why not ask some of the d00dz in the gaming thread where they got their PCs? Although most gamers I know tend to homebuild, it's relatively inexpensive nowadays.

I built mines. Got all my parts from Newegg.com
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by The hamburgler
Metaldud will be it's middle name. You my good sir are officially the godfather of a hansome young donkey.

#2
My Deviant Art Page
Manchester United
metaldud536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:23 PM   #66
zombies
quack
 
zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
i wish i knew how to build a pc =\ and it's also very time consuming i heard
zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:25 PM   #67
LordBishek
ಠ_ಠ
 
LordBishek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: A stranger in a stranger land
Quote:
Originally Posted by metaldud536
I built mines. Got all my parts from Newegg.com


Yeah, I hear good things about them too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombies
i wish i knew how to build a pc =\ and it's also very time consuming i heard


Not at all mate. If you can do Meccano, you can build a PC in a few hours. Helps if you have someone who's done it before to just give you a helping hand though. You know anyone that homebuilds?

I should point out that my PC is the first one i've built and apart from a HDD failure (which wasn't my fault) it's worked beautifully.
__________________
Oh my love, though our bodies may be parted,
Though our skin may not touch skin
Look for me with the sun-bright swallow,
I will come on the breath of the wind


JOHN BUTLER TRIO||KAKI KING||IRON & WINE||ELLIOTT SMITH


I'M UNCONDITIONALLY HERS
LordBishek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:30 PM   #68
paintITblack39
triangle offense expert
 
paintITblack39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: dc
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombies
i wish i knew how to build a pc =\ and it's also very time consuming i heard

it's not really time consuming. it take about a couple hours to put together a PC.
if you're looking for parts, check out some ebay products, as well. every 6 months or so, intel has retail employees from a variety of different stores participate in their purchase program where they get a processor, motherboard, and operating system for under $300. right now they're doing an intel core i7, a compatible motherboard, and vista ultimate (with a free voucher to windows 7) for under $300. granted, you'll pay a little bit more when you actually search ebay, but you still may end up saving money.

and newegg is better for parts than tigerdirect. but it doesn't hurt to check both.
__________________
Sent from my iPad.
paintITblack39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:31 PM   #69
LordBishek
ಠ_ಠ
 
LordBishek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: A stranger in a stranger land
^ That sounds awesome. I wish they did deals like that in the UK
__________________
Oh my love, though our bodies may be parted,
Though our skin may not touch skin
Look for me with the sun-bright swallow,
I will come on the breath of the wind


JOHN BUTLER TRIO||KAKI KING||IRON & WINE||ELLIOTT SMITH


I'M UNCONDITIONALLY HERS
LordBishek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:37 PM   #70
zombies
quack
 
zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
this might seem like a noob question, but can i install my windows home on my new computer? or can it only run with one computer.
zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:38 PM   #71
cokronk
Afear me!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Shepherdsturd, WV
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombies
hey guys im getting a new computer soon, but i was wondering where i should buy one. i want a gaming pc, but i cant build a new desktop. i was wondering if this was a good site to buy one considering that it's VERY cheap compared to buying from bestbuy or dell

http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/


What's your budget?

I just built a good gaming rig for about $1700.
__________________
I play guitar like a pirate with two hooks....so...uh...just call me Meathook! Yar!
cokronk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:39 PM   #72
LordBishek
ಠ_ಠ
 
LordBishek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: A stranger in a stranger land
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombies
this might seem like a noob question, but can i install my windows home on my new computer? or can it only run with one computer.


I think you will need to buy a new copy of windows, especially if you bought an OEM edition or you got a disc with your old machine.
__________________
Oh my love, though our bodies may be parted,
Though our skin may not touch skin
Look for me with the sun-bright swallow,
I will come on the breath of the wind


JOHN BUTLER TRIO||KAKI KING||IRON & WINE||ELLIOTT SMITH


I'M UNCONDITIONALLY HERS
LordBishek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 12:42 PM   #73
cokronk
Afear me!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Shepherdsturd, WV
Anyone here have home servers? I have an HP Media Smart with Windows Home Server.

WHS has to be one of the easiest servers I've ever used/configured.
__________________
I play guitar like a pirate with two hooks....so...uh...just call me Meathook! Yar!
cokronk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 02:38 PM   #74
zombies
quack
 
zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cokronk
What's your budget?

I just built a good gaming rig for about $1700.

im looking to spend about 600-800 dollars on computer thats most preferred for gaming
zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 02:49 PM   #75
tsk84eva
noobzilla
 
tsk84eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Augusta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombies
im looking to spend about 600-800 dollars on computer thats most preferred for gaming


if you dont mind a laptop, this one's pretty good.
ive had it for about 3 weeks now and i have no problems.
the hard drive's not as big as i'd like, but it can play pretty much any game out there.
i havent tried crysis yet but im sure it would run fine.

EDIT: and u get a free upgrade to windows 7 when it comes out
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leviathan
+1, that post was made of win.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmolteratx
By the way, tsk84eva, you win. I haven't laughed this hard in months.


I was there - Night of the Pear II - 8/7/09

Last edited by tsk84eva : 08-10-2009 at 02:51 PM.
tsk84eva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 02:58 PM   #76
cokronk
Afear me!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Shepherdsturd, WV
Quote:
Originally Posted by zombies
im looking to spend about 600-800 dollars on computer thats most preferred for gaming


There's not a huge difference in gaming speeds with an i7 vs. a c2d.

Biggest thing would be a graphics card. Something like a 275 GTX would work nicely for most things at regular resolutions.
__________________
I play guitar like a pirate with two hooks....so...uh...just call me Meathook! Yar!
cokronk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 03:00 PM   #77
dark&broken
UG Newbie
 
dark&broken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simsimius
I would buy a new one but I don't want Vista on my gaming computer.

Why not?

Anyways, my specs :

Desktop :
Vista Home 32-bit
AMD Phenom X4 Quad-core (2.2Ghz I think..)
4GB RAM
512MB GeForce 8600GS
I think a 250GB HDD
22" Widescreen LCD
This is basically the family computer that we got after our old one's PSU died, which I've since fixed.

OLD Desktop :
XP home 32-bit
AMD Athlon XP 2000+ (~1.7Ghz)
512MB RAM
256MB ATI Radeon 9200
Some ****ty 13" CRT I jacked from my school's old **** equipment (teacher said I could) after the 17" CRT died.
Old as sin.. got it in 2001 and hte only upgrade ever done was doubling the RAM to where it is now, and getting a new mobo off my uncle so that we could have AGP8x to use the Radeon 9200 This bitch can run UT2004 maxed out!

Laptop :
Vista home premium 64-bit
AMD TurionX2 64 2Ghz
3GB RAM
512MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD3650
320GB HDD
15.4" Screen (up to 1280x800 resolution)
This is my baby, runs UT3, Gears 1, really any unreal engine 3 based game at max settings (for my resolution anyways..) and runs any other recent stuff at least at medium. Tough little ****er this one.
__________________
The Internet for the Nobel Peace Prize!!

The above is not a scam. The internet IS serious business. Seriously.
dark&broken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 03:05 PM   #78
SteveHouse
trys hard, loves the game
 
SteveHouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Recreational Meth Vehicle
Quote:
Originally Posted by paintITblack39
did you try ichat?

i use adium, which serves as one client for different IM services, such as AIM, MSN, facebook chat, and others. the only thing i wish it had was IRC.

I love Adium, does everything I'd need.

I'll ask you guys this while it's on my mind.

A few months ago (I've been too busy/lazy to get it figured) I put a new wireless card into my desktop (a 4- or 5-year old HP running XP and Ubuntu). Just some regular old Linksys job, I think. When I plugged it back in, the power button's backlight was flashing irregularly, and the button itself didn't do anything. So did I fux0r my power supply, or is this something a bit more dire?
__________________

[IN PHIL WE TRUST]

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trowzaa
I only play bots. Bots never abandon me. (・ω・`)
SteveHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 03:22 PM   #79
Steeze
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
My new laptop

June 2009 edition Macbook Pro 15inch (led backlit screen)
Intel Core2Duo 2.53 ghz with a 1066mhz frontside bus
4gb ddr3 RAM @ 1066mhz
Nvidia GeForce 9600m. GPU
250gb 5400rpm HDD


Meh i think its a decent setup
Steeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 04:02 PM   #80
cokronk
Afear me!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Shepherdsturd, WV
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeze
My new laptop

June 2009 edition Macbook Pro 15inch (led backlit screen)
Intel Core2Duo 2.53 ghz with a 1066mhz frontside bus
4gb ddr3 RAM @ 1066mhz
Nvidia GeForce 9600m. GPU
250gb 5400rpm HDD


Meh i think its a decent setup


I just hate how they support daul link DVI out and will run a 30" monitor, but due to a likely crappy job of thermal paste being applied at the factory, it nearly over heats just sitting there and not running apps.

Mine runs at about 145F at idle and about 160F +/- at minimal load. I get around 155-157 when photoshooping. I'll get around to cracking it open and reapplying thermal paste once the warranty is closer to up.

If it wasn't for liking the Adobe interface on OS X better than windows, I'd be editing photos on the game machine. A quad core processor with 6 GB of ram is infinitely better than a laptop any day of the week for what I'm doing. Not to mention, iirc CS4 is optimized for Vista 64.
__________________
I play guitar like a pirate with two hooks....so...uh...just call me Meathook! Yar!
cokronk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:20 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.