Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > UG Community > The Pit
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 08-10-2009, 04:18 PM   #81
joshua029
Yeshua's soldier...
 
joshua029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mountain Village, East District 439
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/prod...uct_id=11038075

will this be good enough for graphic design? i want a desktop and something that will last a few years...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duff_McGee
Everyone knows that the day the Metallica ends, the world ends.
joshua029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 04:21 PM   #82
LordBishek
ಠ_ಠ
 
LordBishek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: A stranger in a stranger land
Looks good to me.
__________________
Oh my love, though our bodies may be parted,
Though our skin may not touch skin
Look for me with the sun-bright swallow,
I will come on the breath of the wind


JOHN BUTLER TRIO||KAKI KING||IRON & WINE||ELLIOTT SMITH


I'M UNCONDITIONALLY HERS
LordBishek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 04:32 PM   #83
puffycow
fetus?
 
puffycow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Philadelphia
Looks good. It will be fine for all of your Adobe needs (assuming you use Adobe, that's all my roommate used to use).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckellingc
puffycow, you rock


Quote:
Originally Posted by Krieg Commando
Puffycow, you've got mojo


touch me
puffycow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 04:45 PM   #84
DZCunuck
Stabbin' Hobo
 
DZCunuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Dragons be here (Canada)
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua029
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/prod...uct_id=11038075

will this be good enough for graphic design? i want a desktop and something that will last a few years...


Its alright. The shared video memory is probably that models biggest drawback. Also, the Phenom X4 is a pretty good cpu. If your not gonna be gaming on it, it should last you a few years.
__________________
Gear:
Jackson Dinky DK2L
Epiphone LP Standard
Yamaha Acoustic
Bugera 1990 w/ Peavey 2x12 cab
DZCunuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 04:49 PM   #85
tsk84eva
noobzilla
 
tsk84eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Augusta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshua029
http://www.walmart.com/catalog/prod...uct_id=11038075

will this be good enough for graphic design? i want a desktop and something that will last a few years...


2 out of the 3 hp desktops ive had were in that "a" series (older models, mind you), and one i still use today.
i think you'll be alright with that one there.
just try and stay away from the hp slimlines, as they tend to overheat and just shutdown; at least my parents' always did.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leviathan
+1, that post was made of win.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmolteratx
By the way, tsk84eva, you win. I haven't laughed this hard in months.


I was there - Night of the Pear II - 8/7/09

Last edited by tsk84eva : 08-10-2009 at 04:51 PM.
tsk84eva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 04:58 PM   #86
SlinkyBlue
Suit up!
 
SlinkyBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007




Got a GTS 250 for the video card to try to keep up but to be honest it flat out wont unless I spend 400+ on a card., 8gb of ram, it's really overkill, that's for sure. My dad works for a microsoft-licensed company and got hooked up with two quad-core 2.8ghz due to some product licensing issue.

It's also got Windows 7 evaluation on it. Only problem is that my recording/studio programs don't work very well I'll have to wait for recording more songs until some hosts come out that support W7
__________________
"The future's uncertain, and The End is always near."
-Jim Morrison

Last edited by SlinkyBlue : 08-10-2009 at 05:02 PM.
SlinkyBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 04:59 PM   #87
Stormx
Registered User
 
Stormx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlinkyBlue




Got a GTS 250 for the video card to try to keep up but to be honest it flat out wont unless I spend 400+ on a card., 8gb of ram, it's really overkill, that's for sure. My dad works for microsoft and got hooked up with two quad-core 2.8ghz.

It's also got Windows 7 evaluation on it. Only problem is that my recording/studio programs don't work very well I'll have to wait for recording more songs until some hosts come out that support W7


All that power and you're not even running Compiz.
Stormx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 05:03 PM   #88
SlinkyBlue
Suit up!
 
SlinkyBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Explain?
__________________
"The future's uncertain, and The End is always near."
-Jim Morrison
SlinkyBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 05:15 PM   #89
Tempoe
. . . ∆ . . .
 
Tempoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: On an Island
Just took apart my imac to put a new HD (you need a special torx wrench that was hell to find here) but it won't find the new drive to format from the install CD disk utility. Might be a broken HD but I doubt it. I am seriously puzzled.

sorry if its a double post, my internet keeps going on and off,
Tempoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 05:30 PM   #90
Stormx
Registered User
 
Stormx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlinkyBlue
Explain?


Just look up Compiz Fusion on youtube and see for yourself
Stormx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 05:33 PM   #91
Simsimius
Peace. Love. Solidarity.
 
Simsimius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Thurrock, England. Colchester, England.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dark&broken
Why not?


Well, Vista used around 1 - 2 GB of RAM. Memory I could better use on gaming.
XP used around 500 - 700MB [depending on usage]. Much more efficient IMO.
__________________
Sunn O))):
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doppelgänger
You could always just sleep beside your refrigerator.

Guitar:
- Ibanez S670FM w/ JB
- Fender 'Lite Ash' Stratocaster
- Fender '72 Deluxe Telecaster
- Arbiter LP Jr. Doublecut
Amp:
- Laney VC15

'72 Tele Appreciation Group
RIP DIO
Simsimius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 06:02 PM   #92
SlinkyBlue
Suit up!
 
SlinkyBlue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stormx
Just look up Compiz Fusion on youtube and see for yourself


That is utterly useless. Why would I want that? Just because someone can doesn't mean you should. Function over fashion, always.

I'm happy with my dual flat screens.
__________________
"The future's uncertain, and The End is always near."
-Jim Morrison
SlinkyBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 06:06 PM   #93
fumb-duck
Is really rather special.
 
fumb-duck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kilkenny, Ireland.
Hey guys.
I've been running Ubuntu for a month or so, saving all my files to an external 164GB Hard drive, a couple of days ago my computer froze while playing a video I had stored on it, I simply turned off the computer and rebooted but now I get this error message:



(I'm running on a live CD because I installed a different distro and that went balls up so it's live CD for the time being)

Any thoughts?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by coryklok
My god.

Your username... it's amazing.



Yup.
fumb-duck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 06:35 PM   #94
666_Pounder
Big Diiiiiiiiicks
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Leicestershire, UK.
I don't use Linux but thats something to do with the HDDs, I take it you've done what it suggested?
__________________
Last.fm
Steam
666_Pounder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 06:45 PM   #95
Guitarfreak777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
My mom is offering to buy me a laptop for college. Since she works in real-estate business isn't exactly a booming. So she said 500-600 bucks she could spare so I could get me a decent laptop.

Now I know a lil about comps when it comes to towers, but how different are laptops?

What sort of brands should I avoid and are some things I should always look for in a laptop.

Any help is much appreciated

Last edited by Guitarfreak777 : 08-10-2009 at 06:49 PM.
Guitarfreak777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 09:46 PM   #96
joshua029
Yeshua's soldier...
 
joshua029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mountain Village, East District 439
thanks for the replies guys. few more quick questions...

keep the vista or install xp pro? i have the installation disc for pro and prefer pro, would there be any drawbacks from doing this?

i'm not sure, and even more uncertain if the comp didn't come with the vista disc. my hp laptop came with a xp home so wouldn't that come with its os installer?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duff_McGee
Everyone knows that the day the Metallica ends, the world ends.
joshua029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 09:53 PM   #97
paintITblack39
triangle offense expert
 
paintITblack39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: dc
hardware incompatibility may be one drawback.

plus, there's no reason to going to XP, especially since microsoft is releasing windows 7 which is turning out to be an amazing operating system based on the release candidates and betas.

@guitarfreak777: where do you live? there aren't any brands to avoid, although laptop magazine named HP, dell, and acer to have the worst customer service.
__________________
Sent from my iPad.
paintITblack39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 09:57 PM   #98
thefoldarsoldar
UG Fanatic
 
thefoldarsoldar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveHouse
Should we assume all your connections and power cables stayed connected, and that you didn't do anything with the file while moving it?

SHEdit: This is a brief overview of all the OS X error codes.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1618


That link says it applies to OS 9 and earlier...

Quote:
Originally Posted by paintITblack39
what file are you transferring?
what kind of external hard drive are you using? i want brand, connection type, and size (2.5 inches or 3.5 inches)
do you know what format your hard drive is in?
can you transfer out of your hard drive?


Yesterday, it didn't matter what file I tried to transfer, I got the same error. It's a Maxtor OneTouch 4 Plus. Size = 500 GB. I use the firewire 400 connection. I've looked all over the box and the setup pamphlet that came with it and I don't know what the size is. I don't know what format my hard drive is in, and I don't know if I can transfer files out of it because as of today, it doesn't even show up in Finder anymore when I plug it in. I opened Disk Utility where it recognized it and I ran both verify disk and repair disk and both say that the volume needs repair.

The damn thing's not even 4 months old!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
Thin necks make you play faster because guitars with thin necks sound thin and bad, and you play fast to distract people from the bad tone.

Last edited by thefoldarsoldar : 08-10-2009 at 09:59 PM.
thefoldarsoldar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 10:01 PM   #99
paintITblack39
triangle offense expert
 
paintITblack39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: dc
there's either an issue with the hard drive inside the enclosure or it may be OS X. try running it in a linux live CD or a virtual machine and see what comes up. if it comes up in those different operating systems, it could be an issue with OS X.
__________________
Sent from my iPad.
paintITblack39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 10:03 PM   #100
thefoldarsoldar
UG Fanatic
 
thefoldarsoldar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by paintITblack39
there's either an issue with the hard drive inside the enclosure or it may be OS X. try running it in a linux live CD or a virtual machine and see what comes up. if it comes up in those different operating systems, it could be an issue with OS X.


Could you please elaborate on how to do this?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
Thin necks make you play faster because guitars with thin necks sound thin and bad, and you play fast to distract people from the bad tone.
thefoldarsoldar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:34 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.