Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Gear Building & Customizing
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 03-16-2010, 05:33 PM   #41
james4
Registered User
 
james4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
^more resistance!


and syk, i can just trow together a little box that goes
input -> killswitch kind of switch -> variable resistance -> output

and test out that series resistance idea
__________________
Wiring your guitar?

Member of the official GB&C "Who to Listen to" list
james4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 05:37 PM   #42
SomeoneYouKnew
UG God
 
SomeoneYouKnew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
^ great idea.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GODhimself37
Well the 2.4k resistor just sucked alot of tone and volume, the popping wasn't changed at all.

And SYK, if you saw the guts of my les paul, you wouldn't wanna do that haha its so crowded full of wires that trying to do anything that drastic could take hours. If was enough to move things aside and install the killswitch.

Is there any simple way to fix it? Like i different type of switch wired to something else? (something easy)
I totally get that. I pretty much expected that would be your reaction.

2k4 in parallel would suck more than a lot of tone. Basically all of it.

I can't think of anything easy to try.
__________________
Meadows
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal58
I release my inner liberal every morning when I take a shit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SK8RDUDE411
I wont be like those jerks who dedicate their beliefs to logic and reaosn.
SomeoneYouKnew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 05:44 PM   #43
GODhimself37
UG's Protested Hero
 
GODhimself37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hell
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeoneYouKnew
^ great idea.

I totally get that. I pretty much expected that would be your reaction.

2k4 in parallel would suck more than a lot of tone. Basically all of it.

I can't think of anything easy to try.



Is it possible to just use a DPDT switch instead of a button? Would it help?
__________________
If a mortal stands before us
Strike him down with sleight of hand.
And if heaven rides against us
Then God himself must be damned.


Computer Science major! Apple enthusiast!
I wear Vibrams and type with Dvorak!
GODhimself37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 06:17 PM   #44
SomeoneYouKnew
UG God
 
SomeoneYouKnew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by GODhimself37
Is it possible to just use a DPDT switch instead of a button? Would it help?
Dunno. Maybe? If so, probably connect just one side of it, as if it was a SPDT.

You could try connecting the
hot from the pickup selector to one of the throws
and ground* to the other throw.
The pole connects to the output jack.

*or maybe instead of directly to ground, use a 5k (or so) resistor to ground.
__________________
Meadows
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal58
I release my inner liberal every morning when I take a shit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SK8RDUDE411
I wont be like those jerks who dedicate their beliefs to logic and reaosn.
SomeoneYouKnew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 06:21 PM   #45
GODhimself37
UG's Protested Hero
 
GODhimself37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hell
Quote:
Originally Posted by SomeoneYouKnew
Dunno. Maybe? If so, probably connect just one side of it, as if it was a SPDT.

You could try connecting the
hot from the pickup selector to one of the throws
and ground* to the other throw.
The pole connects to the output jack.

*or maybe instead of directly to ground, use a 5k (or so) resistor to ground.



Btw, all i have right now is the hot and ground running to the jack. Would that contribute to the popping?
__________________
If a mortal stands before us
Strike him down with sleight of hand.
And if heaven rides against us
Then God himself must be damned.


Computer Science major! Apple enthusiast!
I wear Vibrams and type with Dvorak!
GODhimself37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 06:22 PM   #46
The4thHorsemen
Which way's she spinning?
 
The4thHorsemen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Louisiana
I'm gonna try the resistor thing, I've got two 1M resistors, so first I'll try a 1M to see if that's high enough, and if it's not I'll just put em in series to get 2M ohms. it'll be at least a day or two though. I need to get a new switch (I had to take mine out temporarily while messing with my wiring and because when I installed it a wrapped the wire around the leg multiple times it was really hard to get off. by the time it was off the plastic around the lug was melted lol. it was one of the first electrical mods I did and I didn't want it coming off)


but yea, I'll let ya'll know if the 1M is high enough.
__________________
The4thHorsemen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 12:12 AM   #47
Mandeep
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by The4thHorsemen
I'm gonna try the resistor thing, I've got two 1M resistors, so first I'll try a 1M to see if that's high enough, and if it's not I'll just put em in series to get 2M ohms. it'll be at least a day or two though. I need to get a new switch (I had to take mine out temporarily while messing with my wiring and because when I installed it a wrapped the wire around the leg multiple times it was really hard to get off. by the time it was off the plastic around the lug was melted lol. it was one of the first electrical mods I did and I didn't want it coming off)


but yea, I'll let ya'll know if the 1M is high enough.


i'm really not sure where this resistor across the lugs idea came up cause i've never seen it work. on my old killswitch i had a 2M resistor across the lugs and when that didn't stop the popping i just gave up and rewired my guitar differently.
Mandeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 12:09 AM   #48
the_perdestrian
UG's insomiac
 
the_perdestrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: probably wandering aimlessly about town.
Hey I want to put a killswitch in the guitar im customizing/restoring, but I am kinda confused as to where to put it. The TS was kinda unclear to me. I realize that I need to make the ground conect to the output (or at least I think, but All these electronics really confuse me since I can't find any really good explanations of anything for absolute beginners.

bassically my guitar will be like this http://www.seymourduncan.com/suppor...1hum_1vol_1tone

1 humbucker 1 vol 1 tone. pretty straight forward, and a killswitch.

I have a SPST switch exactly like the one pictured in the OP. can you tell me exactly where I should put it?
the_perdestrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 01:14 AM   #49
james4
Registered User
 
james4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
^you're correct when you say you need to connect the ground and the output

one lug of your SPST switch should be soldered to the middle lug of your volume pot. that's directly connected to the hot output

the other lug gets connected to a ground point. in this case, you can just solder it to the back of the volume pot (which is already grounded)
__________________
Wiring your guitar?

Member of the official GB&C "Who to Listen to" list
james4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 01:29 AM   #50
Pac_man0123
<3 Ibanez (and Musicman)
 
Pac_man0123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
This may sound stupid, but how would one go about wiring a 3-way toggle switch as a killswitch so that the positions are on-kill-on?
Pac_man0123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 04:12 AM   #51
the_perdestrian
UG's insomiac
 
the_perdestrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: probably wandering aimlessly about town.
Quote:
Originally Posted by james4
^you're correct when you say you need to connect the ground and the output

one lug of your SPST switch should be soldered to the middle lug of your volume pot. that's directly connected to the hot output

the other lug gets connected to a ground point. in this case, you can just solder it to the back of the volume pot (which is already grounded)


alright cool thanks, that seems easy enough.

and to the dude above me, I don't know if thats even possible but if it is you can't do it with a normal gibson style switch
the_perdestrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 12:46 PM   #52
james4
Registered User
 
james4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
no problem

and pac man: what kind of 3-way do you have?
__________________
Wiring your guitar?

Member of the official GB&C "Who to Listen to" list
james4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 01:00 PM   #53
TapGuru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
wow this thread is so helpful thanks so much for this post.
__________________
Parker Fly Guitar Reviews http://www.parkerfly.org
TapGuru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 02:57 AM   #54
Pac_man0123
<3 Ibanez (and Musicman)
 
Pac_man0123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by james4

and pac man: what kind of 3-way do you have?

Well it'd just be a normal 3-way toggle so the specific type doesn't matter. I'm only planning it right now so I know what I need to do when I get around to it. Whichever one is easiest to do this with, I suppose. I don't know a lot about the different types.
Pac_man0123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 09:28 PM   #55
FenderMayer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Question

my crappy p-bass, with a momentary mini toggle:


Hey man! How does the toggle switch work out for you? Does it come loose, or is it strong? Sorry, I'm a n00b in the world of guitar mods, so I want to know .
FenderMayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 09:35 PM   #56
james4
Registered User
 
james4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
it's worked just fine for me so far..I've had it in for quite a few years, but keep in mind that I don't play bass as often as I play guitar, and I'm usually not doing morrello-style stuff with it, anyway

it's held up fairly well so far, though if you want to do fast on/off stuff, I'd suggest getting a push button style switch rather than a toggle
__________________
Wiring your guitar?

Member of the official GB&C "Who to Listen to" list
james4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 12:00 PM   #57
minnis
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by james4
First of all, get your hands on a very high resistance resistor. Usually, you can find a 2M2 (2.2Meg, or 2200000 ohms) resistor fairly easily, at almost anywhere that sells electronic components.
in a little while, I (or anyone else, if you want to volunteer) can play around with different resistor values to see how low (resistance-wise) you can go, but ..if the value you use is too low, you'll experience some treble and volume loss, which is never nice.

What happens if the resistor is too high? I can get 10M ohms, is this too high? Or is it a case of the higher the better?
Here they are, are these suitable?
minnis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 05:50 AM   #58
zYx Monster xYz
I like Nachos
 
zYx Monster xYz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Under your Bed
Question

I've seen a lot of pictures around of different wiring diagrams. But some have it wired to the Jack and some are wired to the master volume.

But does it matter which one you wire it to?
__________________
Down they come
The swarm of locusts
Skies above
Converge to choke us
Feast of souls
Consume the harvest
Young and old
Suffer unto the locust
zYx Monster xYz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 08:24 AM   #59
SomeoneYouKnew
UG God
 
SomeoneYouKnew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by zYx Monster xYz
Question

I've seen a lot of pictures around of different wiring diagrams. But some have it wired to the Jack and some are wired to the master volume.

But does it matter which one you wire it to?
nope. whichever is most convenient.
__________________
Meadows
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal58
I release my inner liberal every morning when I take a shit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SK8RDUDE411
I wont be like those jerks who dedicate their beliefs to logic and reaosn.
SomeoneYouKnew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 06:57 PM   #60
Ashton_Huey
Xbox Freak
 
Ashton_Huey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
So I bought this switch http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/pr...roducts_id=9336 but I don't quite understand the process...how would I mount it to the guitar? drill a hole? and are there any good videos describing this procedure?
__________________
Ibanez RG420
Epiphone Les Paul Prophecy GX
Ovation Celebrity 28CC
Marshall JCM 2000 TSL
B-52 AT112
Ashton_Huey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:51 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.