Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Gear Building & Customizing
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 12-25-2010, 08:04 AM   #1
Jaredmkl
UG's That one guy
 
Jaredmkl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nevada
Speaker out mod?

Can it be done to a peavey vypyr? I have this mesa and no head, just a vypyr ss 100w 2x12. Im really tired of seeing this do nothing but sit in corner :[
Jaredmkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 09:22 AM   #2
Invader Jim
Registered User
 
Invader Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
it can be done with any amp.



with no plug in the jack, everything works like normal (the signal goes to the amp's internal speakers). plugging in a speaker cable re-routes the signal to whatever is on the other end of the cable, switching off the internal speakers.
__________________
The Wiring Thread
Invader Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 03:53 PM   #4
Invader Jim
Registered User
 
Invader Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
SS amps are ok with operating under no load.

tube amps will show their contempt for you by frying the output transformer though.
__________________
The Wiring Thread
Invader Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 04:59 PM   #5
oneblackened
Future Breed Machine
 
oneblackened's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Asgaard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Invader Jim
SS amps are ok with operating under no load.

tube amps will show their contempt for you by frying the output transformer though.

Exactly. SS amps are a lot more forgiving than tube amps are.
__________________
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 (SD Distortion/59)
Ibanez S970 (Dimarzio Evos)
Charvel San Dimas Style 1 (MIJ) (JB/59)
Peavey 5150 II head (JJ tubes)
oneblackened is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 06:33 PM   #6
Jaredmkl
UG's That one guy
 
Jaredmkl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nevada
So what do I use as the plug to send the signal to the cab? (be sides the obvious speaker cable) since there is no speaker out port.
Jaredmkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 02:31 AM   #7
Invader Jim
Registered User
 
Invader Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
use the same jack as in the pic i posted.

or if you are talking about the actual plug/cable, you need a special cable made for connecting speaker cabs. the plug bdy is bigger and the cable is thicker.

i hate how people use 'plug' and 'jack' interchangably/don't know the difference between the two..
__________________
The Wiring Thread
Invader Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 07:49 AM   #8
Jaredmkl
UG's That one guy
 
Jaredmkl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nevada
But i only have an input jack, so i need to wire that in correct?
Jaredmkl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 07:50 AM   #9
Invader Jim
Registered User
 
Invader Jim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
pic? im not sure what you mean
__________________
The Wiring Thread
Invader Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:55 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.