Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Gear Building & Customizing
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 07-04-2013, 12:02 AM   #1
awesomebro88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Did I just **** up my trem?

I got a heavier gauge pack of strings today (.013 to .056) and when I tuned it up, I found that I couldn't adjust the action. I use an Ibanez s470. I finally could move the action, but after a while a heard a POP and now it won't budge. Any help?

Last edited by awesomebro88 : 07-04-2013 at 12:04 AM.
awesomebro88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 12:14 AM   #2
Swarm311
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
What tuning are you using?
Swarm311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 12:16 AM   #3
awesomebro88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swarm311
What tuning are you using?


Standard E
awesomebro88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 12:30 AM   #4
awesomebro88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Bumpity bump.
awesomebro88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 01:09 AM   #5
Shadowofravenwo
Recent tube convert
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Why that thick for E?

Did the wood around a peg crack?
__________________
Washburn MG-44(E)
Ibanez RG421 (Eb)
Art & Lutherie Electric Cutaway
Vox Valvetronix VT40
Vox AC4tv 1x10
Vox Original Wah-Wah Pedal V847-A
MXR '78 Custom Badass Distortion
Shadowofravenwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 01:10 AM   #6
Explorerbuilder
Registered User
 
Explorerbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Corrales, NM
What kind of a trem is it?
You cant just add heavier strings... You have to adjust the springs and maybe even add one.
__________________
Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/LEF-...142725369133117
Explorerbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 01:37 AM   #7
awesomebro88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
ZR tremolo. I used that heavy for the E because I do drop tunings sometimes, but right now I'm using standard E
awesomebro88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 01:41 AM   #8
awesomebro88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
But guys that's not the big deal here, the big deal is I pulled the action to tight and now I can't move it.
awesomebro88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 01:43 AM   #9
supersac
Registered User
 
supersac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
you cant sometimes do drop tuning on a floating bridge they are best kept to one tuning or else you have to re baance the trem

now pictures would be best to help and im not too knowledgable the zr as ive never had to set one up
but look for cracks in the guitar nack near the posts or tuning machines
__________________
a youtube link?
maybe you should click on it
http://www.youtube.com/user/supersac69


Quote:
Originally Posted by whoomit
You sound like an amazing friend
i sound like one...im secretly a huge dick

my bands soundcloud
http://soundcloud.com/thenativetongues
supersac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 02:09 AM   #10
ExDementia
UG Freak
 
ExDementia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
13s for E is pretty ridiculous. With a FR, you really can't switch between that vast of tunings like that without running into setup issues. For reference, I used 13s for B standard.

Its best to stick to one tuning with a FR -- and its also best to stick with a string gauge that provides the proper amount of tension.

What tunings do you play in?

Last edited by ExDementia : 07-04-2013 at 02:12 AM.
ExDementia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 03:02 AM   #11
Viban
UG's resident bum
 
Viban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
do yourself a favor, block the trem. I have my FR setup for E standard with a .10-.60 set.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by R45VT
Bastards.
Viban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 05:26 AM   #12
von Layzonfon
UG's Grammar Stickler
 
von Layzonfon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 22 Acacia Avenue
I'll just add my weight and agreement to pretty much everything everyone else is saying.

You can't just change gauge on a floating trem; you need to adjust the spring tension.

Generally you can't swap tunings just like that on a floating trem (again, you need to adjust the spring tension) but I have an S470 with the ZR and the ZR is stable enough (if set up correctly) that I can switch between E standard and dropped D on the fine tuner without issue. I wouldn't want to do much more than that though. (I use SuperSlinkies).

Now, to your problem. I don't know what you mean by "pulled the action to tight". Action is something you raise or lower, not tighten or loosen. Heavier strings may need a higher action but I think the best thing by far would be if you could get pictures posted of what you were adjusting.
__________________

Paddy von Layzonfon! Founder of The Spell it RELICKED Club
von Layzonfon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 07:12 AM   #13
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
were you adjusting the truss-rod when you heard a snap? If so, you may have broke the truss-rod in which case you need a new neck unless you want to pay to have your Fixed (which will cost more than a new used neck.

Like has also been said, the bridge post could be messed up, I have an Ibanez JS-100 that has a post that is loose (a little epoxy and it is fine)

Have you looked inside the trem cavity at all?

I would suggest you take it to a tech and have them look at it
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 12:25 PM   #14
awesomebro88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
First of all, thank you all for your help. I guess I should have stated it a bit clearer - I was lowering the action on the left side of the bridge. That knob became harder and harder to adjust, and then I heard a snap from the bridge. I could still adjust the action on the right side of the bridge, just not the left. And no, I never touched my truss rod.
awesomebro88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 01:05 PM   #15
ExDementia
UG Freak
 
ExDementia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Unstring it and see if you can adjust it. 13s are a lot of force when tuned E, you might have broken something by trying to adjust it under that pressure. Unstring it and see if anything is loose or out of place, then take pictures from the front and back.
ExDementia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 01:11 PM   #16
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by awesomebro88
First of all, thank you all for your help. I guess I should have stated it a bit clearer - I was lowering the action on the left side of the bridge. That knob became harder and harder to adjust, and then I heard a snap from the bridge. I could still adjust the action on the right side of the bridge, just not the left. And no, I never touched my truss rod.

Your talking about the posts correct?
If so then I think you snapped the post possibly.
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 01:21 PM   #17
awesomebro88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbgnarly
Your talking about the posts correct?
If so then I think you snapped the post possibly.


Crap, will I have to get a new trem or is that repairable
awesomebro88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 03:03 PM   #18
Lavatain
5150 III Enthusiast
 
Lavatain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: England
I think you can break a trem just by putting 13-56 on it for standard right? I don't think that'd balance with 5 springs screwed all the way in!
__________________
"Air created the greenness. And once you've got something, that leads to otherness." - Karl Pilkington.
Lavatain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 05:12 PM   #19
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by awesomebro88
Crap, will I have to get a new trem or is that repairable

Take it to a tech and have them give it a look. With out seeing it in person, I don't want to say that this is deff what is wrong. Have a pro look at it for you
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 06:02 PM   #20
EspTro
Registered User
 
EspTro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
just pray that u dont break something. 13's for standard .... that cant be healthy for any guitar.
buy thinner strings
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by kangaxxter
The only real answer to the SG vs Les Paul debate is to get a Flying V and laugh at all the suckers who don't have one.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Blompcube
if you embrace inaccurate intonation it can be quite arousing.


I <3 TWEED
EspTro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.