Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 03-16-2011, 09:41 AM   #1
Jehannum
Registered Abuser

Suggest a good 8 track recorder

I'm a bedroom guitarist who writes songs and instrumental music for my own pleasure (and, some would say, other people's annoyance). I use an old 4 track cassette multi-track recorder. As I'm progressing I find I don't like the limitation of 4 tracks, and I don't like the tape hiss.

I want to upgrade to a digital 8 track recorder.

A few criteria:

- I prefer knobs and faders to menu systems

- Bass, midrange and treble adjustment required

- I'd like TRUE 8 track independence

- It doesn't need to provide drum sounds, only to record the sounds I feed into it faithfully

- Preferably USB 2 connectivity

- Budget range: 250 - 500 (UK pounds)

Is this the right kind of kit for me - or is there a better way of doing this? I won't consider software solutions because of the delay on my soundcard. And I want a piece of physical kit!

I'd appreciate any recommendations on what to go for or what to avoid.
Jehannum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 09:47 AM   #2
Sparky-MMA
UG's Ginger

where are you. i have a boss br200 that i'm looking to get shot of, i'll take 60 quid for it
Old 03-16-2011, 09:48 AM   #3
TechnicolorType
<33333333334567

erm why do you want a recorder?

you can do much better.
get an interface.
unlimited tracks that can be manipulated and edited right in front of your face with next to endless possibilities and flexibility and more than possible professional results.

an interface comes with its own soundcard and your PC soundcard won't even interact with it so you don't have to worry about a delay.

Focusrite, M Audio, Presonus are some companies that make great interfaces for well under your budget and all throughout your budget.