Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings > Tabs & Chords
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 08-08-2011, 12:51 PM   #1
corrda00
Unregistered User

Question Experiment with new tuning (Prog Metal) [Gp5] C4C

I sarted writing a riff and then kept tuning the low string till i could find the note I wanted. Tell me whatcha think of the result.

Im a bassist so any help with drums or ideas for guitar leads would be great. (especailly in the chours)

Edit:
Do you think keyboard parts would work for this song? My band has a keys player but Im not sure if they would work in this song.
Attached Files
File Type: gp5 Drop B.gp5 (55.6 KB, 254 views)

My Compositions:
Roots (Prog Metal)
New Tuning (Prog Metal)
Sexy Riff (Pop Rock)

Last edited by corrda00 : 08-08-2011 at 08:13 PM.
corrda00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 07:51 PM   #2
guitar_jew

First off, thanks for the crit, I appreciate that.

I'm gonna try to be objective, but those b5s reeeeeeeaaaally aren't doing it for me. Maybe every once in a while it'd be nice, but to make that sound the focus of the piece just wasn't a wise choice, in my opinion.

Once it speeds up it becomes a little less harsh, and the drums really help.

The verse is kinda neat if you're going for an intentionally harsh noise-core kind of sound. 92-93 was great, would've liked to see a bit more of that sort of thing. Following the first chorus, everything's nice, although the jazz bit came waaay out of left field. It's good and all, but it's totally out of place here.

It's alright, but I'm really not fond of the b5 in the main riff. That's really what kills it for me.
guitar_jew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 09:31 AM   #3
AngrySockMonkey
Straight Outta Compton

Could you post a GP4 as well?
Old 08-10-2011, 09:25 PM   #4
Life Is Brutal
Master of Modulation

Why didn't you just make the guitar a 7 string? You just tuned the low E6 down into the B7.