Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 07-14-2015, 06:29 PM   #1
andrerist
schecterguy
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: boston
scarlett 2i2, too much input gain?

I just got a used scarlett 2i2 as well as a brand new epiphone les paul florentine. When playing hard on the higher strings with a lot of attack, I cannot keep the halo from turning red even when it is turned down all the way. Anything I can do about this? Does it matter?
andrerist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 07:15 PM   #2
Spambot_2
UG's rum aficionado
 
Spambot_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Italy
The input gain is pretty low actually, but the headroom is even lower so that causes problems.

If you can't avoid clipping the input (that's what happens when the level meter turns red) then you're better off buying a new interface if ya ask me.
__________________
Name's Luca.
worthwhile quotes, because quote boxes occupy too much space
Spambot_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 07:32 PM   #3
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
You can try an fx pedal in between as a step down. It is a manufacturer's defect that is well known, they run the preamps real hot and it clips on most guitars.
If you want to record direct with it and don't want to buy a new one you need a DI box or some kind of pedal in front to use to convert your signal to line level...or mic the guitar up.
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 09:21 PM   #4
andrerist
schecterguy
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by diabolical
You can try an fx pedal in between as a step down. It is a manufacturer's defect that is well known, they run the preamps real hot and it clips on most guitars.
If you want to record direct with it and don't want to buy a new one you need a DI box or some kind of pedal in front to use to convert your signal to line level...or mic the guitar up.


I don't currently have an amp, or atlas not one that I use. I run everything through amplitube. I don't record but I want to start getting my own stuff put together so I'd like to have everything done as correctly as I can.

Recommendation on a DI box or something else that you'd suggest?
andrerist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 10:36 PM   #5
Gab_Azz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
you can solder a resistor to your guitar cable jack. There are tutorials how to do this!
__________________
Fender Standard Stratocaster HSS 2009 > Korg Pitchblack Polytune > MXR Dyna comp > EHX Small Stone > Ibanez TS9 > TC Electronic Corona Chorus > Boss DD-3 Digital Delay > Fender Hot Rod Deluxe
Gab_Azz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2015, 10:43 PM   #6
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Maybve try a Boss pedal in front and see if it'll bring down the level or maybe a guitar tuner, you can always use one. I've tracked direct with some mild compression and/or overdrive and have gotten great results, especially with DDyna Thin man, which is kinda weird as it acts as limiter andmikd overdrive. TryMXR compressor maybe, the one with the two knobs.
Alternately, you could add guitar active volume pedal or small mixer which should lower the volume going in.
DI boxes - I like Radial but they're expensive.
Whirlwind are good value, and you can try Samson on budget and Behry if you're scraping rock bottom:
http://www.sweetwater.com/c957--Direct_Boxes

The first top 2 would be my choice or maybe this because it has signal pad in case you need it:
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/EDB1

Last edited by diabolical : 07-14-2015 at 10:48 PM.
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2015, 03:56 AM   #7
vocoderboy
sometimes.
 
vocoderboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
use the pad button on your interface?
__________________
www.soundcloud.com/vocoderboy
vocoderboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2015, 05:33 AM   #8
Spambot_2
UG's rum aficionado
 
Spambot_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Italy
The 2i2 doesn't have any pad.
__________________
Name's Luca.
worthwhile quotes, because quote boxes occupy too much space
Spambot_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2015, 01:05 PM   #9
romeozdistress
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
i always keep my input like a quarter of the way up, you dont need much.
__________________
Ibanez VBT700
Ibanez RG3EXFM1
Squier Vintage Modified 1970s Stratocaster
Peavey Vypyr 30
Snark SN1

Squier Matt Freeman Precision Bass
Kustom KBA100
romeozdistress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2015, 07:07 PM   #10
AceLockeIII
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Agree on the boss pedal idea. I have a 2i2 and an iTrack solo and a few pedals hooked up keeps me in the green. Have a tuner, eq, and a holy grail in the chain.
AceLockeIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 09:53 AM   #11
'DC fan
how did I get here
 
'DC fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
DI box should solve that issue
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazysam23_Atax
Dressing my steak with cum is just adding more protein to my steak.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
The Hello Kitty Strat is the most metal guitar known to man.
'DC fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2015, 02:30 PM   #12
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
there are plenty of pad options out there, direct boxes and other small/cheap devices to put between your guitar and your input device to decrease the signal level. chances are you have some kinda od, eq, or boost pedal sitting around that can already do it, but in case you don't here is a $30 solution

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-...tt=pad&index=13
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:35 AM.

Forum Archives / About / TOS / Advertise with us / Customer Support / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2015
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.