Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-27-2015, 06:45 PM   #1
Foldageren
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
2 Amps connected to one speaker with an A/B pedal?

I have a setup where I would like to be able to switch between amps without having to physically remove the speaker cable. Could I plug a speaker cable into each amp, into an A/B pedal, and then into the cab? I would imagine I would have to turn off the other amp when doing it to not short-circuit something - but other than that, would it work?
Foldageren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 06:57 PM   #2
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
no that will not work, you'll fry an amp
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 07:07 PM   #3
Deliriumbassist
UG's only DB
 
Deliriumbassist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Presidential Palace
There is a product called the Radial Headbone. There are three versions, depending on if both amps are solid state, valve, or one of each.

http://www.tonebone.com/headbone.php
__________________
YES! YES! YES!

Deliriumbassist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 07:25 PM   #4
Foldageren
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbgnarly
no that will not work, you'll fry an amp


Even if I only have 1 amp on at a time?
Foldageren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 07:35 PM   #5
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foldageren
Even if I only have 1 amp on at a time?

if you use one amp at a time then yes you will be fine, but don't use an A/B box. Just unplug or pug in each amp as needed.
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 07:42 PM   #6
Foldageren
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbgnarly
if you use one amp at a time then yes you will be fine, but don't use an A/B box. Just unplug or pug in each amp as needed.


But I dont want to physically unplug every time. Would an A/B box not work?
Foldageren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 07:49 PM   #7
jpnyc
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foldageren
Even if I only have 1 amp on at a time?


No. Using an instrument A/B box with the load of a guitar amp will damage the amp, destroy A/B box, or both. And it might start a fire in the process. You have to buy the Headbone switch to do it. At $260 for the switch you might as well just buy a used 2x12.
jpnyc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2015, 07:50 PM   #8
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foldageren
But I dont want to physically unplug every time. Would an A/B box not work?

No, don't be a lazy ass
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 PM.

Forum Archives / About / TOS / Advertise with us / Customer Support / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2016
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.