Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old Yesterday, 06:42 PM   #1
juliusxxrock
Poseur
 
juliusxxrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Is there a way to shorten the delay when foot switching?

Hello

I have a footswitch for my Peavey Valveking 100w head, and as expected there is a short quiet period after I push the button.
This "short" period of time is rather long though, and it's pretty annoying at the moment since I need to switch between dirty and clean without delay.

I understand this delay is intentional and exists to "cover up" a click or something that occurs when you switch channels, but it's just so damn long

I could solve this by getting my distortion from pedals, but I'd much rather use the dirty channel that sounds a lot better than dist in a box.

So is there a way to shorten this delay or do I just have to get used to it?
juliusxxrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:46 PM   #2
311ZOSOVHJH
G G & A - B A B Y
 
311ZOSOVHJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Offline
Ask the guys in here...I think there is a mod for this issue. Are you using a VK FS?

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/foru...ad.php?t=969296
311ZOSOVHJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:27 PM   #3
juliusxxrock
Poseur
 
juliusxxrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by 311ZOSOVHJH
Ask the guys in here...I think there is a mod for this issue. Are you using a VK FS?

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/foru...ad.php?t=969296

I'm using a peavey switch I got form my buddy. He used it for his Peavey Bandit 112.
juliusxxrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:32 PM   #4
311ZOSOVHJH
G G & A - B A B Y
 
311ZOSOVHJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Offline
You may need a different FS. I hear the Boss FS-5 or whatever does not have that delay. It is mentioned I think in that massive OP for that thread and also the associated Wiki pages referenced in that thread. Good luck mang.

Last edited by 311ZOSOVHJH : Yesterday at 10:04 PM.
311ZOSOVHJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:45 PM   #5
the_bi99man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Hmm. Strange. I use a Vox Valvetronix, with the VS12 footswitch, and there is zero delay or silence between switching channels/presets. Or if there is, it's a matter of milliseconds and I've never noticed it. Same with other all-tube amps I've used. I can't imagine why any company would build an amp and intentionally give it a delay (especially one long enough to notice) when changing channels. As far as I'm concerned, that would defeat the purpose of having a footswitch. If my sound output is going to cut out when I change channels, I'd just stop playing and hit the button on the amp face, rather than waste stage space on a footswitch.
the_bi99man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:04 PM   #6
311ZOSOVHJH
G G & A - B A B Y
 
311ZOSOVHJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Offline
Quote:
Originally Posted by 311ZOSOVHJH
You may need a different FS. I hear the Boss FS-5 or whatever does not have that delay. It is mentioned I think in that massive OP for that thread and also the associated Wiki pages referenced in that thread. Good luck mang.



http://ultimate-guitar-valveking.wi...tch+Information
311ZOSOVHJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:51 AM   #7
NakedInTheRain
Registered Muser
 
NakedInTheRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Straya
Quote:
Originally Posted by juliusxxrock
Hello

I have a footswitch for my Peavey Valveking 100w head, and as expected there is a short quiet period after I push the button.
This "short" period of time is rather long though, and it's pretty annoying at the moment since I need to switch between dirty and clean without delay.

I understand this delay is intentional and exists to "cover up" a click or something that occurs when you switch channels, but it's just so damn long

I could solve this by getting my distortion from pedals, but I'd much rather use the dirty channel that sounds a lot better than dist in a box.

So is there a way to shorten this delay or do I just have to get used to it?

that's not right, dude. never have i heard of an amp with that 'feature'. sounds more like a defect.
NakedInTheRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:19 AM   #8
311ZOSOVHJH
G G & A - B A B Y
 
311ZOSOVHJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Offline
The original Valvekings had this issue that was resolved with a capacitor change on subsequent newer models but we are talking a long time ago, and yeah it NOT a feature.
311ZOSOVHJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:15 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.