Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-04-2012, 04:30 AM   #1
kaymm2

Bruised finger tips

I'm new at playing and after a few days of playing with my acoustic, my finger tips are kinda black. Looks kinda bruised. It hurts a bit but not painful. Should I stop and rest until it goes away or should I keep on practicing? I'm kinda in a groove and don't want to stop.

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/foru...id=103445&stc=1
Attached Images

kaymm2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 04:37 AM   #2
supersac

ws you rhands and take a break for a day...i had this and it sucked it should clear up soon though

if its just black from the strings and not actally bruised you might need different strins

edit on closer inspetion it looks like its just string dirtyness on your finger it shudl wash of for the most part you ca keep playing without any reprocussions...but still wash your hands and clean your strings with a cloth

Quote:
Originally Posted by whoomit
You sound like an amazing friend
i sound like one...im secretly a huge dick

my bands soundcloud
http://soundcloud.com/thenativetongues

Last edited by supersac : 01-04-2012 at 04:42 AM.
supersac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 04:40 AM   #3
Bad Kharmel

wait till the blackness goes away, that's not normal, you need to take your guitar to a shop and see if its set up well (it may need a truss-rod adjustment) and probably get some smaller gauge strings, because even with the nastiness on the fingers that is a steel-string guitar it shouldn't be that hard on your fingers
Bad Kharmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 04:41 AM   #4
kaymm2

It's definitely bruised and doesn't wash off. lol. I dont' really care if it's bruised & black, I just don't want it to be harmful. And if it's safe to do so, I would like to continue.